We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family really enjoyed staying at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, We were offered this holiday after we complained about the John Fowler park in Illfracombe. I must say we didn't know what to expect after last years experience however; we were certainly amazed that two parks can be very different and shouldn't be tarred with the same brush!

After a long drive and traffic delays we arrived at Sandaway to be greeted by the receptionist who was friendly and gave us everything we needed. We made our way to our caravan which was of a gold standard. We opened the door and couldn't believe how clean and tidy it was however, I am just going to mention something that is a little bit off putting which is to find cigarette ends underneath the caravan!!That is my only pet hate being a none smoking family and I do believe that now a days this is classed as litter?? However, the caravan was clean and tidy and we couldn't of asked for anything more. So Well done too the ladies and Gentlemen who clean the caravans you did a great job!!! :-)))

Room Tip: Maksure you get a sea view it is lovely to wake up to a beautiful sea view in a morning :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Hello once again Clair

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We do take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and our customer care. It’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on to the whole park team.

It is comforting to learn that we have been able to restore your confidence in John Fowler Holidays. We are a family business, having been in existence for 60 years and have always prided ourselves in our customer service.

Once again, thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 638 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just got back from a 4 day stay booked via the Sun. The site is in a brilliant position, very close to Combe Martin which is small but very charming, and a 10 min drive from Ilfracombe.

The views from our caravan were stunning, and the private beach was great fun- loved exploring the rock pools!

We didn't actually use any of the clubhouse facilities as we were far too busy! But the pool was lovely and clean, great temperature, and the lifeguard was friendly and professional.

Our caravan was slightly older (as advertised) but was amazingly spacious (especially bathroom) and very clean.

Best thing about this park is the location and size- everything is well within reach, but the area still feels peaceful. The park is fairly small, which is great as we didn't feel like we were sharing the site with half of Britain (which is sometimes the case at larger parks!).

We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mazzle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hello Mazzie

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Devon and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

On arriving at sandaway the first thing to admire is the view, fantastic. We were greeted warmly by the receptionist and were given directions to the caravan, clean, modern, beds made up, fresh smelling and we had a great sea view, so we were happy. On site shop selling basics bread milk etc but didn't seem to open for long. Restaurant on site served a variety of foods but again only opened in the evening and closed very early considering it was based within the club area, I'd keep it open later personally. Prices were reasonable. A private beach is a short walk down some steps, but remember you have to climb back up them, this was also a very nice area. Childrens play ground which was ok and a soft play area for little ones. Entertainment on every night which was good. Not much for teenage boys to do though, I'd like to see john fowler make more of an effort with the arcade areas for kids I'm sure they could. Other than that I'd happily return here it's a great place. Well done to the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dm1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hello DM

Yet another 5 star review for The Sandaway each Holiday Park, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon, - our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay, with wife and 3 kids. Stayed in a 2 bed (silver) caravan. Really clean, tidy and well kept. Reception staff pleasant and lady in the shop extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely views across the sea and cliffs. Can't comment on other facilities as we didn't make use of them but recommend for a family holiday

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank parkvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A nice small well kept site , The caravan was clean and tidy on arrival but cutlery was very dirty .
All the staff were great and always very helpful .
But the Entertainment was ok for a holiday camp except for one act ( if you can call it an act Mr Magician , it was so bad it wasnt even funny. An off night maybe )
But all in all it was Ok for the amount of money paid via Sun holidays

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Hello Phillip

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed 4 days on a Sun holiday voucher. It was quiet as the season has not quite started, this suited us as we just wanted a quiet few days away. We upgraded to a silver for an extra small amount. It was a 2 bedroom which was plenty for the 2 of us, it was good for a family with 2 children. The caravan was a fair few seasons old but that said it was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed, full sized cooker, large fridge, toaster and microwave. We had a lovely view and on the edge of the park it was a quiet spot (apart from the only other people who were next door and spent a lot of time screaming at their children!). The park itself is spotless and very well kept, the little swimming pool looked immaculate and would be a real magnet in warmer weather than we had. We didn't use the club so can't comment, the receptionists were very smiley. We reported a handle on a door had come off and the gas fire was difficult to light, both were fixed within hours. Combe Martin is small but perfectly formed. Barnstaple is a must especially the lovely Pannier market and Butchers Row.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ponty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Hello Ponty

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Devon and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The entertainment was not much for kids like they said there would be we also found loads of dog hairs in the van which was not nice at all this was a silver caravan, it would also be nk good for any body that actually went in the train as we ended up doing about 200 miles in the car in a week after doing 270 to get there

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twig2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Hello Twig

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Since the change in the regulations regarding taking children out of school during term time, I'm afraid there are times when the park will appear quieter than others. For many this is an advantage, but perhaps not for all.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
9.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
1.3 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Address: Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range: $20 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing