We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sandaway”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Firstly ,i would like to say this is situated in lovely location, wonderful sea views, nice little warm pool, great bar meals and a friendly reasonable shop on site. However, my family was very disappointed at the club entertainment .In one week we had a male duo and 4 male singers, only Gareth wore his John Fowler waist coat and was fun and actually seemed to connect with his audience. The Children's entertainment was pretty dreadful, lack of structure and organization, nothing seemed to flow, we had 2 other men with very little interaction with the children no party dances or games. Chocolate party in the morning was £1 per child even though at Wide ,mouth Bay this was free, face painting and tattoos in the evening charging from £3. In your brochure you advertise sparkling entertainment and a great range of free facilities, this was sadly lacking. Another point Foxy Club is a cabinet on the wall, which looks very uninspiring, there again this site didn't encourage children to have fun dancing with their flashing swords and light sabers. The Children's Ball pool was fun and free my 5 year old loved this, however, the amusement arcade was small a few 10p slot machines and they closed at 9pm so my teenagers weren't happy. The caravans were ok, clean but the beds were dreadful, i am only 5ft 5 inches and my feet hung over the bed edge giving me cramp.The walk down to the beach was steep and could benefit with solar lights very dangerous to go down at night. the handrail on the ramp was hanging off. Its not really a beach, no sand just a little rocky cove, but interesting to explore when the sea is out. The Teddy bears picnic area which is advertised in your brochure on page 27 as being new, is overgrown with nettles and sadly neglected which is a shame, because it could have looked lovely and again a few solar lights would have enhanced it in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alisonmon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
This review is so difficult to respond to because most of the things said are totally contrary to many other reviews for this park and I think it is only fair that I set the record straight. This park has been awarded the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013, something which cannot be bought, it is earned by feed back from our guests.

The entertainment is usually described as "excellent", "varied but kept us happy", and the Stripeys "have amazing talent and have great ability to entertain the crowd"

Not all beaches have sand as is the case with ours, however it is still a favourite haunt of so many of our reviewers as you can read.

Finally the picnic area has been described in the previous review as "fabulous picnic area" - while you say it is overgrown.

There must have been an underlying reason why you chose to write as you did, however, we are all entitled to our varied opinions and it is fair that you should be allowed to share it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    159
    70
    42
    48
See reviews for
348
121
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here in 2009 and had a superb 3 night break booked through the Sun holiday offer.We liked it so much we returned 4 months later for a week in the same caravan.
We've tried a few other sites since then and nothing came close to this site in terms of friendly service and the great facilities for everyone.
So we had no hesitation in booking another 4 night break here. I'm happy to report that nothing has changed(apart from the weather). We had the best holiday so far in July coupled with blazing sunshine,which is always a bonus.
We were lucky enough to secure the same caravan again - it's getting a little old and rough around the edges - but we love it - especially as the trees have been cleared away to provide a fabulous picnic area.We had breakfast overlooking the beach and cliffs every morning.
The clubhouse is great,with good entertainment,and the site is nice and quiet in the evening.
Our son is now 9, and wants to come back again next year - listen to your children and you won't go far wrong!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent a week at the site, Friday to Friday and loved every minute. The caravan, whilst not a new model, was fully equipped, clean and very spacious. I have 4 children under the age of 10 and the site was safe and clean with an easy layout. The communal areas such as the shop, play area, bar, restaurant and swimming pool are all located very close together, which makes a huge difference when you have several children wanting to take part in different activities. The food, as always, was excellent value for money and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Bar prices were also reasonable. The entertainment was a little different to that at other John Fowler Parks, I assume because it is a smaller site catering for a smaller crowd, however, it kept my children entertained, which allowed me to relax for a while. Sandaway Beach is ideally situated for easy walking access, without too much to carry, to Combe Martin Beach and village. Coombe Martin itself is a beautiful little village and even though we went during the school holidays, it was not overcrowded and the children were able to enjoy the beach and rock pools safely. Ilfracombe is a very short drive away and so is Tesco superstore, always useful to know. All in all my children and myself loved our holiday and will definitely be returning, we will even be asking for the same caravan as the parking and facilities were just right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Once again a 5 star review, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived on the 27th July and left on the 3rd of August. We are a family of 5 with a dog, and loved staying there! The caravan was clean and tidy and although we had a dog it wasn't a caravan of poor quality. The food and bar staff were very welcoming and a lot of fun! Entertainment varied but kept us happy! Gorgeous views and good walks to go on. Easy access to beaches and surrounding towns. I turned 16 whilst there and everyone made my birthday more fun! Had previously been here but was not able to for some years but would happily go back down there tomorrow! Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmaliaTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely 5 star review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the caravan.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We arrived on 22nd July 2013 for one week at around 3pm to be greeted by the Park Manager at reception. We had booked via Hoeseasons who made a huge mistake and did not even send our booking confirmation over to the site. The Manger sorted this out with them and was wonderful and very helpful with getting our family sorted fast with the Caravan we had booked. The site was clean, the staff were very helpful and the location was beyond perfect. Our two daughters aged 14 and 7 were over the moon with the heated pool and the high light for all four of us was walking to the private bay in the morning to watch the Dolphins swimming in the bay. The Restaurant/Takeaway was handy and reasonably priced as was the drinks from the bar, we did not use the entertainment as we were happy to venture out and have a lovely BBQ at our Caravan, but I can say that the noise level was never to loud. Also the little shop was excellent and the lady who always served us was friendly and very helpful.
The Gold caravan was very clean although a bit to small for us and the only fault we can say is that the beds were very uncomfortable.
Overall this is the most wonderful site we have stayed in and we would recommend it to anyone.
We will be returning as it is a little Gem in Devon, however not with Hoeseasons who are beyond terrible and a complete waste of time. We will book direct with the site.
Julie and Philip Bond.

Room Tip: Take Gold and above and also a good Mattress Comfy Protector and the beds have plastic covers which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Yet another 5 star review for The Sandaway Holiday Park, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with Hoseasons, that is unusual to hear. However if you book direct with us, you will dispense with that worry.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formby
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed at this site in July 2013 had a silver caravan that comfortably slept 6, 2 bedrooms with a pull out bed in the lounge area. Our caravan (43) was situated at the foot of a small hill overlooking the cliffs, the view was stunning! The caravan was clean but very dated and tired and I'm afraid the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. That is the only criticism, the park is very well kept, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our TV/CD player broke down and was replaced with a flat screen updated model within an hour. But beware Devon does not have very good reception and there are limited channels on the TV. There is poor phone reception at the bottom of the site but the clubhouse has free WiFi. The on site catering is run by a very friendly chef who prepares each meal as it is ordered, the portions are massive. The entertainment is typical of a caravan park, something for the kids with characters, bingo, competitions and live singing acts.

The walk down to the beach is 75 steps and very very steep so coming back up is tiring not recommended for anyone with walking difficulties. Beware of the tide, it comes in very quickly and swallows up the whole beach. Look out for the dolphin who lives in the small bay, we watched it playing near the site every day. One day we watched as the dolphin was jumping over some people kayaking, it was amazing.

The pool is heated but not very big and the area around it is quite a sun trap. large inflatables are not allowed in the pool. There is a small shop on site selling essentials and toys but it does close during the afternoon. There is a very small indoor play area for toddlers and a few old games but not much else. Did not use this facility.

The walk down to Combe Martin is very steep but you are rewarded with beautiful views of the bay and surrounding cliffs. The beach and sea are not especially clean. There is a great chip shop just a short walk from the bay, we had the best chips ever there.

Devon is a really beautiful part of our country and we will return next year. I would go back to this site but ask can you please make the beds less hard?

Room Tip: Ask for a caravan with unobstructed views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank morag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Would really like to go again,handy for the beach great for kids,the local area has everything you need for a lovely family holiday ,with none of the razz a mataz of a big site.we will definitely be going again really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
3.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
9.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
429 reviews
9.8 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Property: Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Address: Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing