We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting, Not Such Lovely Smell!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting, Not Such Lovely Smell!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in a chalet for a long weekend. The holiday park itself is in a lovely setting, it is a small park, with beautiful views, and the grounds are well-tended - little primulas were coming out all around our chalet. The chalet was adequate, yet with a little attention it could have been so much better. The kitchen was fine, and in fact is the same MFI kitchen I have at home. The bathroom really does need a similar overhaul - the toilet tank was held together with sticky tape and the bath had seen better days, ditto the flooring. However, when I reported that the toilet was blocked, it was fixed within an hour. When I turned off the heating in the main bedroom (I don't like a warm bedroom), I woke to a smell of damp - and when it rained the reason for this became apparent - rather than draining into a gutter, the rain was running off the roof down the external walls of my room. This would be easy to sort. As would the all-pervasive smell of dog in the main room. There was an air-freshener in there, but that gave me asthma, so I had to put it outside. I suspect that a new carpet is needed - and a new sofa and chair too, as the chair had a blanket over its cushion - I didn't investigate to see what it was covering - and the sofa was so saggy we were almost on the floor. However, none of this spoiled our stay. The heaters worked well, and as there were only two of us we had lots of bedding, as well as extra blankets. The park is about 10-15 minutes' walk away, down a steep hill (so UP a steep hill on the way back). It does have its own shop, and the prices there are cheaper than the Spar in town, so no need to shop in town if it has what you want. The reception staff are helpful, we didn't use any of the entertainment facilities as there was lots to do off-park, and lots of places to eat in Combe Martin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karenlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and our manager will look into the negative issues for the benefit of future guests. Thank you for letting us know.

We really hope that this did not spoil your stay and that we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    157
    66
    38
    47
See reviews for
332
116
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just came back from a 4 night break, from Sandaway. Got to say a very enjoyable time had by myself , partner and 8 yr old daughter.
Staff were very friendly,helpfull. entertainment was great fun.
All in all a very nice park, will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparky26700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Wayne and his team will be delighted to hear that you had a great time at our park. Thank you for your lovely review.

All the staff work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable and we hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a bit of trouble on our first night, the heating in our chalet wasn't working and in the morning the hot water decided to join it. The staff were very helpful and when they couldn't fix the problem, they moved us into a very nice caravan. Even though it was off-season, the bar, catering and entertainment staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was an enjoyable. After the initial hiccup it turned into a really nice week.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

I am delighted to read that the initial problems were dealt with immediately and that you went on to have a great holiday.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stay here this month through a £10 each newspaper deal. Didn't have very high expectations but was pleasantly surprised!

Caravan park is situated on a hill 10 minutes walk away from the village Combe Martin which is pretty, with a Spar, tea rooms and little shops, pubs and a beach. The caravan that we stayed in ourselves overlooked the sea as many others did too, and the ones that didn't overlooked beautiful hills and landscape-very pretty. Caravan park was clean and tidy and has a shop, a bar and some entertainment as well as an playground outside for children and a very clean outdoor heated swimming pool.

The caravan we stayed in wasn't brand new but was immaculate and clean (fresh bleach in the toilet etc) and we paid extra for bedding which they provided for us along with several fleeces due to the time of year we stayed. Caravans are quite roomy, would recommend you bring matches to light hob, grill and oven and possibly your own electric heater in colder months because it really was freezing (there are a limited amount if heaters you can borrow from reception).

The food outlet available on site wasn't owned by the John Fowler company and I was told that that was the reason it was good. Lots of homemade meals to choose from such as lasagne and a huge list of special burgers with different toppings for very reasonable prices (between 5 and 7) and some options got veggies. Don't be put off by the restaurant, which looks like an outdated pub. There was children's entertainment in in the bar which looked very poor and we were told there was also bingo which we didn't fancy. Staff were all nice, friendly and helpful.

The location of the park is great for views but to visit anywhere nearby other than Combe Martin you would need a car. We visited Exmoor Zoo which was quite reasonably priced and has opportunities for you too feed some of the animals such as the wallabies. Also visit Ilfracombe which is very pretty with a harbour, a beach and a famous statue made by Damien Hurst.

Excellent holiday park, great food, nice clean caravan and a very enjoyable stay! Would recommend and return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FringeFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
What an amazing and comprehensive review. Thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your 5 star praise will mean so much to the manager, Wayne and his team at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Thank you for offering to recommend us to your friends and do hurry back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Sandaway Holiday Park is by far the best holiday park I have been to so far. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. Even though I booked the holiday out of peek times, the entertainers, the bar staff and even the chef made our holiday fun and exciting. I highly recommend this place as they have everything you could ask for right in front of you and if you wanted to go to the town, its just a 10min walk from the site. I would like to say thank you to all the staff that worked during my week at Sandaway and because of how helpful and friendly they were I will be booking a holiday there again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank charlie2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review.

There is no doubt that Wayne and his team do all they can to ensure everyone has a great time at the park and I will make sure your thoughts are passed on to everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back from another week at Sandaway Park. Bronze caravan 58 clean and tidy as usual. In a previous review from last October I mentioned the mudbath outside number 58. I believe it has been a very wet winter down there but was delighted that the parking area is now covered in gravel. The staff, who were friendly and helpful as always, have tidied and painted the site.

We escaped the snow back home in Oxfordshire and enjoyed several hours of sunshine on four of the days.

We are still baffled as to why the local news and weather on BBC and ITV are tuned to London or Central. We are not wildly interested in the weather conditions in London or Birmingham when on holiday in North Devon. Has somebody got a grudge against Spotlight?

We have enjoyed coming to this site with our late and current (mad) yellow labradors twice a year for the best part of ten years and will be back in October.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeT106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving giving Sandaway another 5 star review. We are delighted that you have returned to see us once again and that you were able to enjoy the improvements we have made to the park. Wayne and his team have worked extremely hard during the off season to ensure that the park is up to and above its usual standard.

With regard to the TV channels, one of the drawbacks of being on the coast with stunning views over the Bristol Channel towards Wales, is that we are sitting on the wrong side of the hill to receive a signal from Plymouth. Normally the news and weather would be from Wales, however, if you are watching the BBC News Channel then the local information would be London or the Midlands.

It is obvious from your remarks that this did not spoil your enjoyment of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

going buy my exsperiance of john fowler holidays they are simlerly the best value for money and great views and entertainment great food great beaches what more can any family ask for they are situated in some of the best parts of great Britain you can wish for there appartments are top class and great for all the family with great views the kids entertainment is fantastic go and give john fowler holidays a try you want be disappointed.

Room Tip: you must have a car as some sites are quite far from the town centre and beaches rap up warm during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank raymond l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
557 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
2.4 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Property: Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Address: Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and PitchUp so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing