We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Fowlers Holiday Sites Are Unbeatable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“John Fowlers Holiday Sites Are Unbeatable!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Sandaway Holiday Park is by far the best holiday park I have been to so far. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. Even though I booked the holiday out of peek times, the entertainers, the bar staff and even the chef made our holiday fun and exciting. I highly recommend this place as they have everything you could ask for right in front of you and if you wanted to go to the town, its just a 10min walk from the site. I would like to say thank you to all the staff that worked during my week at Sandaway and because of how helpful and friendly they were I will be booking a holiday there again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank charlie2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review.

There is no doubt that Wayne and his team do all they can to ensure everyone has a great time at the park and I will make sure your thoughts are passed on to everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    159
    68
    39
    47
See reviews for
338
120
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back from another week at Sandaway Park. Bronze caravan 58 clean and tidy as usual. In a previous review from last October I mentioned the mudbath outside number 58. I believe it has been a very wet winter down there but was delighted that the parking area is now covered in gravel. The staff, who were friendly and helpful as always, have tidied and painted the site.

We escaped the snow back home in Oxfordshire and enjoyed several hours of sunshine on four of the days.

We are still baffled as to why the local news and weather on BBC and ITV are tuned to London or Central. We are not wildly interested in the weather conditions in London or Birmingham when on holiday in North Devon. Has somebody got a grudge against Spotlight?

We have enjoyed coming to this site with our late and current (mad) yellow labradors twice a year for the best part of ten years and will be back in October.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeT106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving giving Sandaway another 5 star review. We are delighted that you have returned to see us once again and that you were able to enjoy the improvements we have made to the park. Wayne and his team have worked extremely hard during the off season to ensure that the park is up to and above its usual standard.

With regard to the TV channels, one of the drawbacks of being on the coast with stunning views over the Bristol Channel towards Wales, is that we are sitting on the wrong side of the hill to receive a signal from Plymouth. Normally the news and weather would be from Wales, however, if you are watching the BBC News Channel then the local information would be London or the Midlands.

It is obvious from your remarks that this did not spoil your enjoyment of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

going buy my exsperiance of john fowler holidays they are simlerly the best value for money and great views and entertainment great food great beaches what more can any family ask for they are situated in some of the best parts of great Britain you can wish for there appartments are top class and great for all the family with great views the kids entertainment is fantastic go and give john fowler holidays a try you want be disappointed.

Room Tip: you must have a car as some sites are quite far from the town centre and beaches rap up warm during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank raymond l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This year will be the 14th year my friend and I will have holidayed at 'JOHN FOWLER HOLIDAY PARKS' in the beautiful counties of Devon and Cornwall. All of their holiday sites are on the coast, and at or very nearby the seaside. That was one of the reasons why we initially chose our very first holiday with JOHN FOWLER back in 1999. Another reason was that we wanted a holiday that suited our pockets. We found their advert for holidays in a national newspaper, and contacted their head office telephone number; within days we received a glossy brochure with booking form included. There were several holiday parks illustrated in their brochure, each and every one of them looked so appealing, and each park had varied amenities and suitable for the needs of holiday makers of all ages with differing social lifestyles. Prices of the holidays was according to the time of year, as is with all holiday agents. The grade of the accommodation varied from the basic to the more luxurious, and clearly as is with any accommodation, you simply get what you pay for. If we could have afforded the expense, then we would have chosen the Hilton or the Ritz; however that was not to be, and unfortunately is still not !

After browsing through this very informative brochure, we first decided upon the cost, based on the time of year within the holiday season. We chose the end of September and the beginning of October. It suited our pocket. It was a 6 berth apartment at SANDAWAY BEACH, Coombe Martin, Ilfracombe. It was one of the smaller sites that JOHN FOWLER HOLIDAYS had on offer. It turned out to be an 'absolute bargain'. The weather was well within our favour, we had plenty of sunshine, even at that time of year. The accommodation was very spacious, and 'spanking clean', the kitchen appliances were so clean as if new. Cooker, Microwave, Fridge Freezer, Electric Kettle, Toaster, and all the kitchen utensils, crockery, cutlery that any family would need to prepare, cook and eat a substantial meal of any kind within the apartment, as if doing so at home. Everything was there to enable you to eat by the cheapest means, but we came on holiday for a break, not to prepare, cook and wash dishes afterwards ! We chose to eat at either 'Chef's Corner' on site, or went into nearby Coombe Martin village, or a short drive into Ilfracombe for a sit down meal, or sit on the harbour wall eating fresh fish and chips the old traditional way - held in your hands ....Can't beat it !

The ' walk-in shower' unit was a treat; working very well with controllable force of hot and cold water - so revitalizing !. (We had an option when booking, and could have chosen accommodation with a bath) . The living room was comfortable furnished with a three piece suite, and coffee table. The colour TV had a clear and uninterrupted vision, though the number of channels were limited to about 'ten', but that was of no problem to us; we never went on holiday to watch television, though it was very useful to be able to 'turn on' and keep up to date daily with national news events. The bedrooms were furnished with double and single beds; the beds themselves were reasonable comfortable, though maybe not so comfortable as one would expect to find in the Hilton or Ritz ! The beds were made up upon arrival. Bedding was very clean. A wardrobe with a supply of hangers, and a chest of drawers afforded adequate clean clothing change for the duration of your holiday. Controllable central heating allowed us to keep the apartment as warm or as cool as we wanted. We could not have found fault with the apartment if we tried.

SANDAWAY BEACH HOLIDAY PARK looks out into the Bristol Channel, and affords a brilliantly wide panoramic view. On a clear night you can see in the distance, the welsh coast, illuminated by its coastal lighting, and the imaginary line of crossing between the Mumbles, Swansea and Ilfracombe Harbour, by the channel going paddle steamers, 'Waverley' and 'Balmoral'. A two/three minute walk within the park took us to some steps which led down to the private beach belonging to the holiday park. There is a small shop on site where you can purchase your morning newspaper, milk, bread, butter, confectionary and other nic-nacs. There are 'fish and chip, shops, cafes, a small supermarket and post office, gift and novelty shops, a charity shop, public houses a petrol garage, in the village. Alternatively, a five mile drive by car will take you into Ilfracombe town and it's harbour, where you can park your car and roam the small local shops, including anglers shops (Parking is charged by the usual hourly stay, or reducing multiple hourly rates. There are no concessions for disabled parking in the car park).

A further approx. 2 mile drive will take you up to JOHN FOWLER's Head Office, and other holiday parks where there is a large clubhouse where 'top artists' perform and entertain. This clubhouse can also be used by holiday makers booked into Sandaway Beach .

Our experience of JOHN FOWLER HOLIDAY PARKS in both Devon and Cornwall, at the holiday parks we have been to, overall, has been absolutely great. Besides, Sandaway Beach, we have holidayed at Sandy Glade, Burnham-on-Sea, also Southbay, Brixham, also St Ives Holiday Village, also Trelawne Manor,(Small lake fishing on site) from which Looe, and Polperro, Cornwall are equidistant (2 miles). However, having had a taste of these, our preference has always been for SANDAWAY BEACH HOLIDAY PARK.

We have a preference for Sandaway Beach Holiday Park ,and recently spent another holiday there, because we enjoy it's location. It has an excellent sea view, a smaller holiday park not so densely populated, nearby Ilfracome harbour ideal for anglers. Brilliant coastal views, and last but not least, a clubhouse on site where staff are very sociable and very helpful in all kinds of ways. Wayne the Site Manager is a very jovial guy and greets you with a handshake. Amy the receptionist is very pleasant, polite and friendly and always greets you with a smile. Gareth Davies the Entertainment Manager, is very sociable with his audience, and puts on an excellent show of Karaoke with the Karaoke equipment at the clubhouse. Gareth himself has an outstanding voice for singing with an extensive repertoire with a variety of karaoke songs to suit all ages. ' Freddy the Fox' is a star act for the children, and they simply love him.
We can not rate SANDAWAY BEACH HOLIDAY PARK high enough. The site deserves a higher rating than 'five stars'. The site not only suits us, it suits our pockets too. Added to this, the staff have been brilliant. What more than the average person want for the price. The Royal Hilton or the Ritz ???

Room Tip: Choice of rooms = Not applicable. Choice of accommodation = Up to the individual. Send for a broch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
WOW! What an amazing and comprehensive review. Thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to Wayne and his team at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Our regular customers are so important to us and we hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked this holiday via Breakfree and for the cheap cost was expecting a horrible place but in fact it was amazing. :)
We arrived Friday 16 March 2013, our caravan was number 59 which was perched on the top of the cliff, the view was amazing. Spotlessly clean. The only thing I could complain about was the fact the weather was awful (obviously not the fault of the park :) and it was very cold, we were bundled up in layers at night) but overall we had a great time.
My husband loves Ilfracombe so we spent our time there and in Hele Bay with the one trip to the Wildlife Park in Combe Martin, which was out of this world.
On Sunday morning we had a walk around the park. We went through the pub and the staff welcomed us, talked to my small children and when I asked after the Indoor soft play as it was closed they opened it for us and my daughters played for about an hour before we went off site for dinner.
We left on Sunday as we had a long drive back with two hyper children and felt as it was late on Sunday it would better to drive back whilst they were tired as opposed to first thing Monday morning when they were refreshed from a good night's sleep.
I would definitely go back. Wonderful park and the staff were amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrscn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived at 11.00pm and was let into the caravan with no problems. The caravan was spotless, all beds made on arrival. The camp-site was quiet, clean and friendly. All the staff were professional and exceptionally friendly, polite and helpful. We had breakfast (full English) in the Marine Hotel just 2 min walk into the village and it cost us £10.00 for 5 of us..(2 Adults 3 children). The kids club was perfect for our boys aged 8,6,4, they couldn't have done more and as i speak my son is dancing to the c.d he was given as a prize.Would recommend the Chefs corner for food for adults and children the freshly made curries, burgers etc etc. Perfectly located to access the beach and other parts of the devon coast. Would recommend this site to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FranceMisspiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments and Chef's Corner teams, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The second time I have stayed at this park this year. Once again it didn't fail to meet the great standards I have come to expect from this site!
Wayne the manager and Amy (front desk) were great from start to the end of my stay, not forgetting all the other staff at this site who made my holiday a great experience.
Will definitely recommend this site to all friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially Wayne and Amy, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
9.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,757 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
800 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Property: Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Address: Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing