We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

nice place to visit the view is beautiful, entertainment was excellent, worst part about holiday was the weather hailstones but it was October overall the holiday was fantastic it was last min i decided to join the family on going and ended up loving it definite booking next year!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WelshWonder12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
What a lovely review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    159
    70
    43
    49
See reviews for
350
121
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just back from an enjoyable six days at Sandaway despite the 'showers', as described by the BBC breakfast forecasting bimbos, bouncing six inches into the air from the caravan roof. We stayed in bronze caravan 58 as usual and, as always, it was clean and tidy upon our arrival.

The only thing which could have improved our holiday, apart from the weather, would have been about three tons of hardcore and gravel in the area around our caravan. We look forward to this problem having being dealt with when we return next March.

In the old days we always used to get the local news from Wales on the TV. Now, thanks to the digital revolution, we have the choice of London or Central. Would it be possible to retune to Southwest news?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeT106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we have just returned from a very nice 4 night break at sandaway beach devon. all i can say is what a great little place .the staff were really nice and helpful .a nice clean site with great views out to sea. believe me if your looking for a break by the coast you wouldnt go wrong here. and the chefs corner in the club house do the best garlic mushrooms!!! ;o)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shuggymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed as a family in Easter 2012. On the first day I overheard people in the village taking about the poor water quality of the sea which I found very disappointing seeing as we had kids with us. The site itself has a good location and we were in a caravan next to the sea. I was mad to have to clear away dog mess from around the caravan on arrival. The facilities were fine and the entertainment was good. I found as it is on many of sites like this that the staff were a bit unmotivated and a little off-hand, get talking to them over a drink and all you hear is moans etc on how bad their lot is in life. It's a shame because it takes little effort to make people feel welcome. I would say that Woolacombe beach is really good and we spent many happy hours there. Later on in the year I went to Torbay and found it much, much better for an all round holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a caravan overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrRichardKimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your stay was at the beginning of the season when many of the staff were new. Since then almost all the reviewers have given the park 4 or 5 stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just come back from a £9.50 Sun Holiday weekend at this park. I was a bit worried as had read a few bad reviews. Been on quiet a few of these and have to say this was the cleanest, warmest best sited van we have had. Only a standard van but was perfect, even had heating in both bedrooms and bin liners and loo rolls. Didn't use the facilities as we use the van for a base but everywhere looked clean and well cared for and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Would definitely book this park again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Caravan 42 looked old but lovely inside and situated overlooking bay in quiet position
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are at a loss to understand why some people post such poor reviews for all to see. This is something that is general throughout the industry - we are not the only victims. Sadly, review sites are anonymous and it is virtually impossible to trace the reviewer and investigate their comments..

We look forward to welcoming you to our park again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Went for a short break at the end of Sept..couldn't fault really..maybe caravans a bit dated but take ya own bedding...job done!
We had an amazing view over the cliffs..couldn't get better!
A short walk to Combe Martin ( steep hill no probs tho) go to The (summut) Marine pub...the best down there, friendly and good carvery.
The pool must of been warm as kids were in it..
Cheap fried food if ya want it too...
Recommend this place...would defo go again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a fair review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments - everyone will be delighted to read your comments.

We really hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from our third trip in 2 years to this holiday park. We have always found it excellent value for money, the views from most caravans are amazing, the vans are always cleaned to high standard, the staff are friendly and usually always have a smile. The clubhouse has a friendly atmosphere. The pool is amazing, lovely and clean and warm, we are already looking to book for next year, we cant wait to go back. Sandaway was recommended by my parents and we were a bit reluctant to try it after our horrible two week trip to the John Fowler site near St Ives, but we are glad we did try this one, its a little gem.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
3.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
9.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
429 reviews
9.8 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Property: Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Address: Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing