We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food,Good beer,great staff.”
Review of Pack of Cards

Pack of Cards
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food,Good beer,great staff.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Having read some other reviews we were in two minds about eating here. There had been some criticism of the quality of food, some people complained that the decor was tired and that the dinning rooms were less than comfortable. They must be very lucky in the places they usually eat. Because we found this place to be just great.

The first time we went, we were in the conservatory , and the view over the garden was everything you can hope for. The food was very reasonably priced so would it be good. Yes , hearty portions , cooked well and presented excellently too. Our starters were a meal in themselves,the steaks were cooked to perfection and had flavour. The service was cheerful and helpful and very prompt. Oh and my pints of Tribune were in very good nick too. We were impressed and left well sated.

After a massive disappointment at another place up the coast line that considers itself to be , upmarket, we voted with our feet and turned up at the Pack of Cards unbooked .

The hostess who had served us so well on our previous trip found us space in an inside room. It was clean and well furnished. Now second meals can disappoint, but not here. We were delighted to receive equally good meals.

Worth mentioning were the big portions and well presented main course, but star of the show was my wifes pudding. Triple ginger, Stem Ginger ice cream , Ginger sponge and a Stem ginger cheesecake served with home made ginger custard. She says you can't have too much of a good thing and loved it.

We loved the Pack of Cards, the chef can really cook, the staff are warm , welcoming and efficient (many thanks Hayley, Annie & Frankie). The beer was good, the building very interesting and the grounds a joy.

Thank you to them , we really enjoyed our visits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corwenred74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    161
    77
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Excellent quality and very good value prices”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The setting is lovely, staff very friendly but it does get busy which is only to be expected.
Had a perfectly cooked steak, home-made crispy chunky chips. All of our meals were home cooked and we were all very pleased. Only widhed we'd found it on the firts and not the last day of our stay in Coombe Martin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Interesting pub with good food”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We decided to look up the Pack of Cards after reading about it in a book all about Strange and Unusual pubs. As we were staying in Combe Martin it was an ideal opportunity. The pack of Cards has an interesting history and a booklet can be bought at the bar which gives a good insight into the pubs life.
We sat outside as it was a nice evening, it was quite busy but we got a table OK, it was nice to see families enjoying the lovely weather. We ordered food and the service was prompt, the food was very nice, my goats cheese, aubergine and corgette stack was very tasty, my husband ordered chicken which came with a mushroom sauce, served with salad and potatoes although the portion of chicken was disappointingly small he said it was tasty. All in all it was a good meal and would certainly visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Menscryfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

A lovely looking pub recommended by our B&B. Nice looking place, lovely garden, lousy food! The menu choice is very limited for a place that has a seperate restaurant and the quality of what I had left me underwhelmed. 3 tortillas with cheese, sour cream, guacamole, salsa and chicken....sounds good but was a Luke warm congealed mass dumped on a plate, the portion of chunky chips looked promising but were nearly cold.
The beer was good though!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely garden”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wish we had visited this pub sooner as the garden play area is lovely for children, if a bit old! We didn't eat there but the food looked nice coming out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TraC257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pack of Cards also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Pack of Cards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing