We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Pack of Cards

Pack of Cards
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Excellent Sunday Lunch on 2nd September 2012, you must have the Roast Pork! Great food and service. Went back at the end of the week and had another excellent meal, this time in the evening, Seafood Linguine, fantastic! Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kendo_Nagasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    154
    75
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A new family favourite!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

During our 10 day stay in Combe Martin we dined in 3 of the local pubs/restaurants and this is the only one we came back to, not just once but 4 times! Kids thought the garden and play area were wonderful and the spacious conservatory allowed us to watch them play in comfort inside. While our lunches were an average but tasty sandwich, we found our 2 evening meals delicious with a good choice of meals on the menu and we were delighted at the large meal sizes and quality of the food. Service was quick and friendly, with a lot of helpful information about the menu and history of the building.
A definite stop off for any family in the area,and a family favourite for us!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unpleasent to say the least would not let my dog dine here!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Myself and my husband have been to a fair few resturants/pubs in North Devon and i can quite safely say this is the worst one i have had the misfortune of coming across!..the food was barely edible the cutlery was un polished table not clean..the wine glass i was given had a string of lipstick marks around the top!..unfortuantly the clenliness of the place was not the worse part we found the service very slow and the staff to be very rude!.. was ignored on more then one occasion they seemed more intersted in talking among themselves then catering to the needs of there customers!!..all in all poor service..resturant and bar unkept and unclean and as for the food....honestly not worth trying!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food, poor service”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The food was fine and could not be faulted, the service however let them down, we waited over 45 minutes for the bill.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food - Poor Service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Food here really was lovely! However the service was awful - waited 40 minutes between our starters and main, which we wouldn't have minded if the place had been busy but it wasn't!! Then waited 20 minutes for somebody to take payment only to be told that you have to go to the bar to pay - although it was table service!! Would be hesitant to go back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank T1cky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pack of Cards also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Pack of Cards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing