We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“from keith & jean,from trowbridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saffron House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2013

eStayed 3 nights with my wife,very friendly family atmosphere and nothing
was to much trouble .The room was very clean and comfortable and the
cooked breakfasts and evening meals was excellent.The dining room was very cosy and bright also nice to have a downstairs lounge and licenced bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my mum, partner and his mum. Check-in was quick with the owners coming out to greet us on arrival. All stayed in double rooms and we were all very pleased with how clean the rooms (and the rest of the hotel) were. Yes, some are a little more dated than others but certainly not anything to complain about. The dining room particularly was very modern and the lounge/bar area comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice, and owners happy to accommodate any alternatives. Ate dinner in the hotel on Sunday night and the food was lovely.

Overall we were really happy with this hotel and the owners cannot do enough for you - very friendly and showed interest in how we were finding our stay, and advising on good restaurants and places to visit (I would advise to visit the Pack O' Cards pub just up the road - they do a fantastic steak!). Cannot complain at all and would highly recommend this hotel - made our short stay in Combe Martin easy and comfortable - thank you very much!

Sophie, Stephen, Gina & Romy; Cornwall.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank surfchick1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights over the long bank holiday weekend with my family. Very clean and tidy with cosy comfortable beds and an excellent cooked breakfast. The four of us shared one of their two family size rooms, and we felt very much at home almost straight away. We plan to come back and stay here again, very nice little place, and a nice location to explore the area from. Recommend

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed 1 night with the wife and 2 children. Check in was friendly and efficient. The room was clean, with great views, and comfortable beds. Parking was easy. Breakfast was fantastic, nothing was too much to ask. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just stayed at the Saffron House - our 4th visit, were in Room 9, having stayed in a chain Hotel the previous two nights I can only say wish I'd booked my whole holiday here instead but we had to go to Falmouth so we couldn't. Good location. Arrived tired as we had trouble sleeping at other hotel but left refreshed and ready for work tomorrow :-)

Room Tip: Room 9 is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Saffron House following the recent good reviews - I can't believe that we stayed at the same B&B.
We found Saffron House smelly (musty!) and tired - granted the dining room has been renewed, but our room had merely been re-painted. Tired carpet, dated beds, 70s bathroom. Maybe other rooms are better.
Breakfast was OK.
Sorry, but we won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Combe Martin is so small and pretty and close to all other North Devon places to go.

So picturesque, with a gorgeous little Bay and a lovely local feel.

Saffron House is a lovely B&B, that suits the location of the village, cosy and quaint, immaculate.

The Hosts are absolutely adorable, friendly and polite, and made us feel so comfortable and relaxed, with lots of impartial advise on where to go, eat and drink.

Breakfast is the tastiest we have had in a long time, all quality products used.

We were fortunate enough to meet the parents of the couple who own Saffron House, and their Uncle who was visiting from Australia. Absolute Gem's the lot of them.

We will go again, and have found the B&B we will always use when we go to North Devon, we have found a diamond of a place, so won't settle for anything less.

Thank you so much for making our weekend 100% better for staying there.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for business, couples, family, friends and you will not feel on your own if you are a solo guest.

All the best from Sue & Mick (North Wales)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickandSueWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.4 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffron House Hotel

Address: King Street, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range: $73 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saffron House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saffron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffron House Hotel Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing