We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning views !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stunning views !!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

although this park has stunning views from the clubhouse windows overlooking combe martin beach i would never go back there again,my children did,nt even see any of the characters(freddy trixie etc ) they never made an appearance,this place seemed understaffed,entertainment didnt materialise as advertised on the notice board,having said this most staff were friendly(except for the welsh stripey)gareth davies was the best what a singer !!!! would recomend this park only if you want a relaxing holiday.also not enough amusement/arcade games for the kids.this park/clubhouse needs money spending on it !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimsta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave this review about our holiday park, although I think there has been a huge misunderstanding.

I am not sure of what you read or where you read it, but this park is clearly advertised, both on the website and in our brochure as "Small and relaxing". We make no mention anywhere of a children's club or the company characters.

However, as a guest at this park you are entitled to use the facilities of the sister park, Sandaway - just 500 yards up the road - and there is a large sign to that effect just outside the clubhouse. I am sorry your children missed that while you were there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    71
    47
    27
    29
See reviews for
131
82
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break to Combe Martin holiday park, we had read the reports before we booked and we were hoping we wouldn't be allocated the dreaded chalet 103 that we had read about-alas we were allocated that very chalet. We were expecting basic accommodation and that's exactly what we got-they are very tired dated chalets and we had a bizarre slope at one end and spongy floors!!! They are lacking a shower as the water takes a while to heat up. Our bedding and clothes also felt damp as the day went on. On a positive note the area is pretty and it was nice to visit North Devon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when many reviews are reflecting the improvements we have made at the park.

We are looking into your concerns in order that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests. Meanwhile, so that the issues can be investigated, I will be contacting you to discover the full details of your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Combe Martin hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I read such bad reviews before going to Combe Martin about John Fowler and was dreading it. However when we arrived our caravan was clean, and nicely located. It didn't smell of smoke or wet dogs which was a relief. The clubhouse was nice, clean and friendly and the food was lovely. Although it is overpriced! We spent one evening in the clubhouse and had a good night but did come away slightly worse off financially. Plus my Husband was disappointed that the men's toilet was very grubby! It is all dated but I like that, it adds character. There isn't loads to do but we went for a relaxing holiday which is what we got. My three children had a great time and to top it off we all got our daily dose of exercise walking up hills everyday which we enjoyed! Especially visiting the Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, which was brilliant! Beautiful location, 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SandyJHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

I sometimes wonder who writes these poor reviews about such a lovely park but perhaps, more importantly, why. When we try to contact the writers to discover what exactly went wrong with their holiday, you can imagine we get no reply.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went to combe martin on a four night stay, last minute booking. So pleased with everything. sensational views, stunning area, really beautiful part of the world. Staff were fab, really welcoming. Food on site good quality and very reasonably priced. Site could do with a little update but very good value for money. Overall, strongly advise this site. A wonderful short break away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davidbrianwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the manager, Wayne and his team at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I recently took my family for a 4 night stay at John Fowler Combe Martin. The accomodation is a little dated and has seen better days but I feel that this was reflected in the price and overall you get what you pay for. The staff were all friendly and the site itself was very pretty. We found the site an ideal place to stay if you want to get out and about and explore North devon. The site was quiet with no late night revellers coming back from a noisy clubhouse. In fact we enjoyed our stay there so much that we arranged with the staff to stay for an extra day/night for only £40. This was peak season. Combe Martin itself is a quiet little coastal village. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to gold caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked a cornflower bronze caravan for a week, two adults and two teens. Arrived early and were able to check in so a plus there. Had caravan 49 and unfortunately it smelt terrible when we walked in and we had damp in both bedrooms with a musty bad smell. Despite very heavy rain all day the windows had been left open so that puddles of water were on inside which added to the already damp and musty feel. Fridge freezer was old and visibly rusty on outside giving a very poor impression of the ageing caravan. Had a poor nights sleep and girls complained of damp beds as was ours. Found a snail on our curtains in morning!

After this we complained but were told the site was full until the Friday, we were upgraded to caravan 41 which was slightly larger and dry, clean and modern, the standard we expected to pay £650 a week for. The staff were good and the site is hilly, but so is most of N Devon! but very close to village and sea and is pet friendly.

All in all an ok experience. Do Not book a bronze caravan and go for a silver or bronze standard.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy8408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

I am so pleased to hear that when you had a problem you shared it with the management and that they were able to ensure that you had a good holiday.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stayed at combe martin beach park last week ,we had a lovely stay ,the apartment was very comfortable but not a lot to do on site .would recommend it to older travellers with stamener for steep climbs .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and the holiday in general.

With regard to "steep climbs", in order to have such stunning scenery as we have at Combe Martin it is necessary to have hills, and I thought it was generally known that Devon is a very hilly county. Very few people are surprised when they arrive, but if they are, it is a very pleasant surprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
3.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
320 reviews
2.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Combe Martin
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
408 reviews
20.4 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.9 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park

Property: Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AS, England (Formerly John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combe Martin Holiday Park is situated in the heart of a North Devon valley. The site and its surrounding woodlands provide an excellent area for kids to play and adults to relax. The kids’ play area, our Sea Spray Club (great for a meal or drink) and access to our private beach are all within easy reach of your holiday accommodation, provide the perfect North Devon holiday.The park overlooks Combe Martin public beach as well as our very own private Newberry beach, where you can spend the day relaxing in the sun whilst the kids play in the sea nearby. In the evening, you can enjoy a variety of entertainment in the free clubhouse. Bingo, party games and folk singers are all regular events to keep you entertained throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Hotel Combe Martin
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing