We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic to say the least”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break to Combe Martin holiday park, we had read the reports before we booked and we were hoping we wouldn't be allocated the dreaded chalet 103 that we had read about-alas we were allocated that very chalet. We were expecting basic accommodation and that's exactly what we got-they are very tired dated chalets and we had a bizarre slope at one end and spongy floors!!! They are lacking a shower as the water takes a while to heat up. Our bedding and clothes also felt damp as the day went on. On a positive note the area is pretty and it was nice to visit North Devon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJ1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when many reviews are reflecting the improvements we have made at the park.

We are looking into your concerns in order that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests. Meanwhile, so that the issues can be investigated, I will be contacting you to discover the full details of your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

I read such bad reviews before going to Combe Martin about John Fowler and was dreading it. However when we arrived our caravan was clean, and nicely located. It didn't smell of smoke or wet dogs which was a relief. The clubhouse was nice, clean and friendly and the food was lovely. Although it is overpriced! We spent one evening in the clubhouse and had a good night but did come away slightly worse off financially. Plus my Husband was disappointed that the men's toilet was very grubby! It is all dated but I like that, it adds character. There isn't loads to do but we went for a relaxing holiday which is what we got. My three children had a great time and to top it off we all got our daily dose of exercise walking up hills everyday which we enjoyed! Especially visiting the Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, which was brilliant! Beautiful location, 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SandyJHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

I sometimes wonder who writes these poor reviews about such a lovely park but perhaps, more importantly, why. When we try to contact the writers to discover what exactly went wrong with their holiday, you can imagine we get no reply.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went to combe martin on a four night stay, last minute booking. So pleased with everything. sensational views, stunning area, really beautiful part of the world. Staff were fab, really welcoming. Food on site good quality and very reasonably priced. Site could do with a little update but very good value for money. Overall, strongly advise this site. A wonderful short break away.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank davidbrianwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

What a lovely review! Thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the manager, Wayne and his team at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I recently took my family for a 4 night stay at John Fowler Combe Martin. The accomodation is a little dated and has seen better days but I feel that this was reflected in the price and overall you get what you pay for. The staff were all friendly and the site itself was very pretty. We found the site an ideal place to stay if you want to get out and about and explore North devon. The site was quiet with no late night revellers coming back from a noisy clubhouse. In fact we enjoyed our stay there so much that we arranged with the staff to stay for an extra day/night for only £40. This was peak season. Combe Martin itself is a quiet little coastal village. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to gold caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked a cornflower bronze caravan for a week, two adults and two teens. Arrived early and were able to check in so a plus there. Had caravan 49 and unfortunately it smelt terrible when we walked in and we had damp in both bedrooms with a musty bad smell. Despite very heavy rain all day the windows had been left open so that puddles of water were on inside which added to the already damp and musty feel. Fridge freezer was old and visibly rusty on outside giving a very poor impression of the ageing caravan. Had a poor nights sleep and girls complained of damp beds as was ours. Found a snail on our curtains in morning!

After this we complained but were told the site was full until the Friday, we were upgraded to caravan 41 which was slightly larger and dry, clean and modern, the standard we expected to pay £650 a week for. The staff were good and the site is hilly, but so is most of N Devon! but very close to village and sea and is pet friendly.

All in all an ok experience. Do Not book a bronze caravan and go for a silver or bronze standard.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Andy8408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

I am so pleased to hear that when you had a problem you shared it with the management and that they were able to ensure that you had a good holiday.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stayed at combe martin beach park last week ,we had a lovely stay ,the apartment was very comfortable but not a lot to do on site .would recommend it to older travellers with stamener for steep climbs .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and the holiday in general.

With regard to "steep climbs", in order to have such stunning scenery as we have at Combe Martin it is necessary to have hills, and I thought it was generally known that Devon is a very hilly county. Very few people are surprised when they arrive, but if they are, it is a very pleasant surprise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I Booked this as a last minute booking direct with the Express line, the booking staff made the booking so easy. we had a lovely clean caravan it was a bronze but was clean and well maintained, we saw a dolphine playing in the bay from the bar which was lovely to see and jane didnt want to leave that evening, we have booked for 2014 already and asked for the same van due to our budget, thankyou to the few staff members which we met you made our holiday. all the best dave and jane

dont forget to reserve our bar window seat again when we return in april

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank david and jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the bookings team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.6 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
631 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 24 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
10.0 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
0.4 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AS, England (Formerly John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range: $33 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combe Martin Holiday Park is situated in the heart of a North Devon valley. The site and its surrounding woodlands provide an excellent area for kids to play and adults to relax. The kids’ play area, our Sea Spray Club (great for a meal or drink) and access to our private beach are all within easy reach of your holiday accommodation, provide the perfect North Devon holiday.The park overlooks Combe Martin public beach as well as our very own private Newberry beach, where you can spend the day relaxing in the sun whilst the kids play in the sea nearby. In the evening, you can enjoy a variety of entertainment in the free clubhouse. Bingo, party games and folk singers are all regular events to keep you entertained throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Hotel Combe Martin
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing