We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“smelly!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We booked for a week - half term - wasn't cheap! - On arrival the caravan smelt like wet dogs! - and the bedrooms like sweaty people! eurghh! (luckily I had taken my own bedding as there was no way I was going to be using that which was provided!) no amount of window opening seemed to help shift the smell :(- The beds were very uncomfortable and VERY small for my two teenage boys - the club house was tatty - but the drinks were expensive! I would not stay here again.In response to the person who commented below about cigarette smells - we had particularly bad weather and actually saw the man in the caravan opposite stood in his doorway regularly smoking (not outside) despite the fact there is supposed to be no smoking :( The only good thing about this park was the view from the drive!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and our housekeeping team is aware of the situation with regard to smoking. We try desperately to discourage people from smoking in the caravans, but it is almost impossible to enforce, since the law, as you are probably aware, only covers public areas.

I wonder, did you inform the manager of your discomfort at the time? I feel sure he would have done everything possible to rectify the situation.

I will be contacting you shortly to investigate the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    74
    47
    29
    34
See reviews for
139
87
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

great clean caravan, nice park lots to do clubs nice, hope to be back in october, lots for the children, nice area, great food quality and good drink from the bar, entertainment very good,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and our housekeeping and entertainments teams will be especially delighted to read your thoughts.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you book a caravan here, do a few checks first, like has one of the rooms been used as a smoking room? ours smelt like an ash tray that no amount of keeping the windows open or air freshner can help, fridge was rusy, shower was a joke as such a small amount of hot water came through, fine if you like cold showers i suppose. Windows and soft furnishings were dirty and again smelt of fags. No hoover or cleaning products so we brought some down here, when we wiped the floor it made the cloths black - and i mean BLACK!

Views were great and staff helpful but not trained, dont expect to much in the way of there kids club or music nights though, plenty of time spent by the staff drinking and smoking in the door ways. Hills can be a problem but not the sites fault, just have it in mind. Pool was closed for some reason - not explained why as full of water and looked ready.

Cooker and boiler from the 70s i think in the caravan, take a lighter to light the thing though.

Would not go back which is a shame but a little work and replace old and unsafe things and John Fowler is on a winner.

Room Tip: make sure you are not in an old caravan,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahspencer190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
I was saddened to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

Meanwhile, I will be contacting you shortly to investigate your concerns and perhaps then we will be able to restore your faith in John Fowler Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Combe Martin hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had stayed at sandaway for a week and fell in love with the area.we found staff in both parks in combe martin really friendly and welcoming.you get a private beach which is great as dogs aren't allowed on the public beach from the 1st of may.the manager at the park was warm and friendly,a new manager with a lot of fresh ideas to improve the park.there is an extensive woodland and farmland walk at the top of the park.yes,the park is "hilly"but after staying for 2 weeks, my fitness levels improved immensely.food was cheap and very tasty,lots of drinks, and fantastic views.once all the improvements are in place,it will be a fantastic park.we liked it so much we brought a caravan there!

Room Tip: Go for a gold caravan if you can afford it, the chalets are outdated but cheap,you do get what you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Wobbs170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Have just spent a week here.

Stayed in an apartment in the main building, which was clean and comfortable, but the noise from the music and the karaoke every night was a bit much.

Staff are pleasant and helpful could not fault them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and our housekeeping team will be especially delighted to read your comments.

We really hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

we stayed in a caravan on this site, it had great views over looking the bay,if you like to take your time when using the pool then don,t ,they open it from about 10am and then close it at 5 prompt, when on a nice sunny evening you just want to chill by the pool its a no no,
the club house is ok the drinks were nice and the food just basic take away in boxes,
the entertainment was rubbish in my opinion,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gazza21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stopped here for a five day break in October, and the main reason for picking this location was we like walking and it seemed ideal. From the start we "walked" the road up to the caravan was so steep (we are fit, but even found this a challenge) but i know i am in Devon what do i expect....the views where fantastic and the caravan was ok a bit old and it showed in parts; we had an issue with bedding on the first night (we had none), but that was sorted the next day. we splept in the twin room, which was no where big enough for two adults and their luggage and the poor soul who got the window bed ended up damp in the morning from the condesation that dripped from the window; we had a switch for a heater but alas no heater!!

It was about a 10-15 minute walk into the village all downhill, just remember you have to go back up again. The park is close to the main shops of the village so that was good, plenty of pubs and cake shops. The clubhouse on the park was very nice with really great views out over the beach and sea.
All in all an ideal place for walking (hills) but would i go back ....... no, done it now

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burbs04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
7.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
570 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
13.9 mi away
Surf Bay Holiday Park
Surf Bay Holiday Park
#2 of 9 in Westward Ho
341 reviews
1.3 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park

Property: Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AS, England (Formerly John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combe Martin Holiday Park is situated in the heart of a North Devon valley. The site and its surrounding woodlands provide an excellent area for kids to play and adults to relax. The kids’ play area, our Sea Spray Club (great for a meal or drink) and access to our private beach are all within easy reach of your holiday accommodation, provide the perfect North Devon holiday.The park overlooks Combe Martin public beach as well as our very own private Newberry beach, where you can spend the day relaxing in the sun whilst the kids play in the sea nearby. In the evening, you can enjoy a variety of entertainment in the free clubhouse. Bingo, party games and folk singers are all regular events to keep you entertained throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Hotel Combe Martin
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing