We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fallen in love”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had stayed at sandaway for a week and fell in love with the area.we found staff in both parks in combe martin really friendly and welcoming.you get a private beach which is great as dogs aren't allowed on the public beach from the 1st of may.the manager at the park was warm and friendly,a new manager with a lot of fresh ideas to improve the park.there is an extensive woodland and farmland walk at the top of the park.yes,the park is "hilly"but after staying for 2 weeks, my fitness levels improved immensely.food was cheap and very tasty,lots of drinks, and fantastic views.once all the improvements are in place,it will be a fantastic park.we liked it so much we brought a caravan there!

Room Tip: Go for a gold caravan if you can afford it, the chalets are outdated but cheap,you do get what you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Wobbs170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 297 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Have just spent a week here.

Stayed in an apartment in the main building, which was clean and comfortable, but the noise from the music and the karaoke every night was a bit much.

Staff are pleasant and helpful could not fault them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisonm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and our housekeeping team will be especially delighted to read your comments.

We really hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

we stayed in a caravan on this site, it had great views over looking the bay,if you like to take your time when using the pool then don,t ,they open it from about 10am and then close it at 5 prompt, when on a nice sunny evening you just want to chill by the pool its a no no,
the club house is ok the drinks were nice and the food just basic take away in boxes,
the entertainment was rubbish in my opinion,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gazza21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stopped here for a five day break in October, and the main reason for picking this location was we like walking and it seemed ideal. From the start we "walked" the road up to the caravan was so steep (we are fit, but even found this a challenge) but i know i am in Devon what do i expect....the views where fantastic and the caravan was ok a bit old and it showed in parts; we had an issue with bedding on the first night (we had none), but that was sorted the next day. we splept in the twin room, which was no where big enough for two adults and their luggage and the poor soul who got the window bed ended up damp in the morning from the condesation that dripped from the window; we had a switch for a heater but alas no heater!!

It was about a 10-15 minute walk into the village all downhill, just remember you have to go back up again. The park is close to the main shops of the village so that was good, plenty of pubs and cake shops. The clubhouse on the park was very nice with really great views out over the beach and sea.
All in all an ideal place for walking (hills) but would i go back ....... no, done it now

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burbs04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My partner and I stayed at John Fowler Beach Holiday Park in June and found the 'silver' caravan to be immaculate, the first time we did not have to clean again ourselves! All staff were cheerful, pleasant and helpful and the food and drink reasonably priced and good. Entertainment not unbearably loud as in so many other sites! Sitting by the huge windows in the bar affords a wonderful view overlooking the bay and Wales can be seen in the distance Even the delightful little ones were well catered for with games etc and for once there were no bad-mannered ones! It is hilly but that is why Devon is so beautiful, there are seats provided at points on the walk to the caravans, and the views from the woodland walks are spectacular. A very good holiday!

Room Tip: The silver grade we found very good, no-one overlooking us and very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

we stayed in a lodge with a shower but it very steep there but there is way not as steep if you go past the shop and walk up I would suggest you take a touch with you as the lighting on the way back is not very good. best place to eat the forcasle pub not cheap but very good no evening bus a good sevice in the day.

Room Tip: a lodge because they are not so steep to get to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bryanse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We went here on a newspaper promotional break. We upgraded to the highest standard caravan they could offer on this site,(gold primula). I think the only difference between this and the lower standards is that you get heating and a DVD player. The caravan was not as clean as it should have been, rubbish in the cupboards (including a used razor), stains on the carpet, a very greasy cooker and a smell similar to wet dog! But the heating worked really really well and the shower was better than the one I have at home. The caravan was 12 ft wide but was short, although there was plenty of room in the living area the bedrooms were tiny, and there was not much room around the double bed.

The site is a bit scruffy,looks tired and grass around the caravan was a bit long, but we were here at the end of season. The caravans are also appear quite crowded and crammed in.

We used the bar once, it has fantastic views of the bay and the food is cheap, but not great. It is also not as clean as it should be; sticky tables and dirty menus, but despite this we did have a lovely evening here.

Staff were not particularly friendly or helpful, end of season blues maybe? But they seemed more interested in talking to each other then us.

Although we plan on visiting this area again, I don't think we will be using this site or any John Fowler sites again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mietziecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.2 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
637 reviews
20.5 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AS, England (Formerly John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range: $57 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combe Martin Holiday Park is situated in the heart of a North Devon valley. The site and its surrounding woodlands provide an excellent area for kids to play and adults to relax. The kids’ play area, our Sea Spray Club (great for a meal or drink) and access to our private beach are all within easy reach of your holiday accommodation, provide the perfect North Devon holiday.The park overlooks Combe Martin public beach as well as our very own private Newberry beach, where you can spend the day relaxing in the sun whilst the kids play in the sea nearby. In the evening, you can enjoy a variety of entertainment in the free clubhouse. Bingo, party games and folk singers are all regular events to keep you entertained throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Hotel Combe Martin
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing