We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheel Farm Cottages
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A great place to base yourself for a week of exploring North Devon. 10 minutes from Woolacombe, Morthoe, Ilfacombe etc there's plenty to do if you head out. On site, there's a pool and sauna, tennis court, big gardens and decent wifi coverage so you won't be short of things to do there either.
Pat and Gillian were great hosts, knowledgable about the local area, and around the grounds, had organised an Easter treasure hunt for the small kids, and an orienteering/drawing challenge for the older children. Highly recommended and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shutterswipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I first stayed at Wheel Farm as a CSMA member some years ago, and have recently returned from a second excellent visit. The weather was terrible, but the warmth of the welcome and the cottage itself (especially the log burner) made it a cozy break. We were in Lower Mill and it is just perfect for a couple. Very high standard of accommodation and everything you need is provided, especially appreciated all the maps and local info in the info box.
Too cold for us to be tempted by the pool, but it looked better than I remember it from my last visit.

This is a good base for us to visit with family as well as explore the North Devon coast and I am sure we will return again.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeefandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Its the end of March and its like deep mid winter so Wheel Farm is a great place to be. We had a family weekend with 9 adults and two children in what was probably the biggest cottage on this small but tastefully laid out hamlet of cottages. Our hosts were unobtrusive but really helpful and welcoming.
Our lounge was fabulous with plenty of comfortable furniture, a very effective log burning stove and the biggest TV we've ever seen in a house!! All of which we used to the full. The pool and sauna became pretty much our own as no one else seemed to use it. We loved it though the changing rooms are a bit small it didn't matter with us all bing family.
The bedrooms were great and we easily fitted in with the two kids on the put me up and their own mattress. Could have done with more hanging and wardrobe space.
The cold weather outside kept us in a lot and we had a fantastic weekend. We cooked all our own meals too and the facilities just about coped. The oven was fine though with 11 of us the dining table was opened out and therefore a bit of a squeeze in the kitchen.
Our only little moan was that the kitchen equipment and crockery wasn't quite enough for the number of people we had which it should do really. But that didn't get in the way of a brilliant family weekend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Timsuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at Wheel Farm. We were met by Pat, a wonderfully welcoming lady who showed us round the facilities (indoor pool and sauna!) and ensured we were happy with our cottage, she also provided us with a 'cottage info pack' which included a local OS map, map of the night sky, info on the birds that you might see at the numerous feeding stations and an emergency torch! We stayed in the wonderfully cosy Hayloft - an exceptionally clean, well presented cottage with lovely local artwork on the walls, high quality curtains and cushions and fabulous log burner (with a free basket of logs!).
There is a comment about accessibility (ie needing a car) - I find that you avoid that kind of disappointment by reading all the information prior to booking!!!
We personally can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A perfect long weekend.
The staff/management were very welcoming . We were met by a charming lady who went out of her way to show us around and to explain all the facilities .

We stayed in the Hay Loft. It was very cosy, clean and very well equipped . We had brought a number of kitchen items but all unnecessary. Everything was supplied. Washing up liquid, tea towels, dish washer tabs. Everything.

The standard of furnishings etc was very good. The bathroom was modern and very clean.

You must be prepared for isolation. It is a taxi ride to the nearest pub. An evening meal including return taxi was about £80!

There is a fair bit of noise from adjoining cottages and from inconsiderate fellow guests.

Overall an excellent establishment . A lot of the extra touches were down to the staff. They are really committed and it shows. Well done and thanks.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

As with all the reviews for this property had an amazing stay. We stayed in the 10-12 people cottage, and couldn't have asked for more. We received complimentary wine and chutneys which were enjoyed. An extra touch of 2 christmas trees fully decorated. This really is an ace property with fantastic views. Lovely location close to everything you could possibly want to visit for example valley of the rocks. We also had a log burner with logs etc. provided. Could also borrow DVDs to watch from reception. The swimming pool was lovely, well kept. I would thoroughly recommend staying here to anyone! Cannot think of a single thing to complain about! Bedrooms were ace.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were thoroughly spoiled by our short stay (4 days) in Wheel Farm Cottages. The standard of the cottage was excellent. We stayed in one that sleeps two, but the standard of fittings and equipment was the same for all cottages (sleeping from 2 to 8 persons). The standard of cleanliness of the cottage, and the linen and towels was faultless. The site staff were welcoming, and each cottage is well stocked with walk guides cycling guides, local guidebooks, where to eat guides, etc, etc.
Our only comment that was that were in Lower Mill Cottage. The footfalls of the people upstairs (Upper Mill Cottage) was an occasional annoyance. There is a duplex cottage (Hayloft) which does not have this small problem.
The location is in the heart of the countryside and walking from the site is not recommended (narrow Devon roads where motorists do not look out for pedestrians), but a short car ride away is the South West Coastal path and other gloriously scenic places to walk or simply visit.

Room Tip: Any cottage will be of a high standard but the Hayloft is duplex and therefore nobody upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerjunorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheel Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheel Farm Cottages

Address: Berrydown Wheel farm cottages | Berry Down, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range: $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheel Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheel Farm Cottage's bookings and marketing are managed by My Favourite Holiday Cottages. The cottages are situated in the stunning landscape of Exmoor National Park, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and just a few miles from some of North Devon's finest coastline and countryside. Converted from a 17th century watermill and farm barns, the cottages retain the original features. More modern additions include an indoor swimming pool and sauna, a tennis court and a children's play area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheel Farm Cottages Hotel Combe Martin
Wheel Farm Cottages Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing