We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace of Pubs”
Review of Pack o' Cards Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pack o' Cards Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ace of Pubs”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful, quirky, building with a fascinating history. Food excellent, beer ditto. Dogs and children welcomed. Service perhaps just a little slow, but nothing to complain about in a tourist destination on a sunny lunchtime in August. Relax and enjoy. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mikehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    77
    18
    11
    13
See reviews for
85
112
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights from 15 July and we had an amazing time. The room was very clean and tidy. If I had one criticism it would be that the bathroom was very small, but then we were not there to live in the bathroom. The owners were very friendly and attentive to our needs. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice. The owners were also very knowledgeable on where to go out and about and also recommended restaurants to eat in despite them having a restaurant of their own. The garden were very well kept and overall a lovely stay. We would definitely return if we found ourselves in Devon again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51112345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for 6 night, stayed in the Superior Fuschia room, well worth paying the extra. Bathroom was very small, but sufficient. Bed was comfy and we slept like a log. The owners are very friendly, always available to give handy tips on days out. Breakfast was good, freshly cooked each morning, ate in the restaurant a couple of times which was fine. Everybody seemed friendly and would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had been crabbing in Coombe Martin (gorgeous place) and had planned to visit Pack O Cards for a drink but decided to stay for our evening meal as well. Good tasty food, not fancy but well presented and not over priced like other places we visited during our holiday in Devon. Friendly ad helpful staff too.

Visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PINKPRINCESS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After stopping for a meal with our family, we decided to to book a room for 2 nights the following weekend. We had a superior room called the Pink Room with a Four Poster bed, the first thing I would like to say is that the Landlord and all the staff were very friendly and the bar was a typical local one full of atmosphere and we enjoyed it very much. We also had a lovely meal that evening. The room however let it down for us, it was a lovely size with a sofa, however the the top cover on the bed had seen better days and the pillows were too hard for me, the bed was made up of a top sheet and then the douvet cover, now I must say at home I do this as it means I can change the sheet every week and the douvet cover every two weeks but I don't like it in a hotel. The towells were brown and a sort of cream, again I like white towells in a hotel as they always look clean and fresh. the worst thing however was the bathroom, it was long and very narrow,now I know because of the age of the building there is not a lot that can be done about that, but the flooring was carpet and the bath mat should have been thrown out. We could not lock the door because it had paint stuck in it.
When we were shown our room the previous occupents had used the coffee pot as a tea pot and it was still that that, used teabag and all. We went out for the day and when we came back the room hadn't been serviced, they all seemed small things but taken together it spoilt our experience. We decided not to complain at the time as we had a lovely weekend with the family and didn't want to spoil it for them as they had suggested we stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Food was very nice- interesting and honest food that was well cooked and presented, with good portion size at a very reasonable price. The marrying of new and old buildings works smoothly and provides spacious modern dining with a cosy traditional bar, and compliments the modern food in a traditional environment. We visited at Sunday lunch, not particularly busy, and we were kept waiting throughout the visit (2 1/2 hours for two courses) and our meal was accidentally taken to the wrong table first: we were evidently served by newer waiting staff, but on a busy service in high season..? It's a shame, because the food, the adventure playground, the beer, the restaurant, all was so close to excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Visited Combe Martin with the two grandsons (4 and 6) and ended up eating here three times! A joy to find a child's menu with proper meals on offer - not chips with everything. Very welcoming, friendly staff and great service. Able to relax and enjoy our meals as boys were safe and happy in the play area. Recommend the Antipasti Platter for lunch - delicious mix of smoked fish and cold meats - mmmm!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claireband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
580 reviews
10.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,757 reviews
5.6 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pack o' Cards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack o' Cards Inn

Property: Pack o' Cards Inn
Address: High Street, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Pack o' Cards Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack o` Cards Hotel Combe Martin
Pack O' Cards Inn Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing