We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, comfortable, rambling house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Channel Vista Guest House
Ranked #1 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were very welcome in this large house with several floors and the rooms have the usual facilities although I would have liked a more comfortable shower room and more powerful shower. The Channel Vista is something of a misnomer as the channel is a faint smudge in the distance but that is a minor quibble. Good solid breakfast, with the vegetarian option particularly good and there are two pubs just down the hill on the same side of the road for dinner.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a very pleasant two night family stay (despite the lousy weather). Since the first night the family room was not available, Linda kindly agreed to let us have two double rooms for the same price, including breakfast for 4 - Both rooms were nicely arranged and cleaned. The WIFI connection worked perfectly - fast and reliable. Finding the parking, situated in the back of the hotel, was a minor challenge, as the signpost was covered by the branches of a tree (only readable if one comes from Ilfracombe). Not a big issue, though. The family room is superb. Spacious and specifically arranged for a family with children between 5-12. Ideal to make a family very comfortable. Breakfast is good and not very copious - The choice is very limited -

Clive, Linda and their dog McPhee were just superb. They did bend over backwards to accommodate unexpected requests, including drying the children's clothes which got wet while having fun at Watermouth castle (a small extra charge) - For families with children between 5-10 is perfect - Watermouth is too small and boring for older children.

The only problem for us (it could well be an advantage for other families) concerned the mattresses. We like springy mattresses and they were far too fluffy for our liking. Our backs were not very happy in the morning. A couple of stretching exercises needed.

Ilfracombe is very close and worth visiting. The marina area is nice and so are seaside views.

Restaurants: The first night we had dinner at Sawmill, a pub situated on the road to Ilfracombre (less than 10 minutes by car from the hotel). One needs to grab a table, secure a seat and then order food and beverages. You also need to collect napkins and cutlery. The personnel is not very kind and the quality of food is mediocre. It is also expensive. At Byron, one can have much better food for the same price!! - to be avoided -

The second night we had a very nice dinner at Royal Marine. The personnel is very polite and professional. Please do not be in a hurry - They are terribly slow in both taking orders and in delivering. No bread is served while waiting. The quality of food was very good and the bill was reasonable. Reservation needed to avert unpleasant surprises -

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just come home from a three night stay in room 6. This B and B is well worthy of praise. We took our dog and all her needs were catered for - towel,dog bags, a little porch with a seat to feed her and the room was large enough to accommodate her. I must comment on the breakfasts which were fabulous and well exceeded expectations! All produce used were very good quality and set us up for the day. All in all a hard working couple who obviously take pride in what they are doing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a lovely family holiday at Channel Vista. Clive and Linda were very welcoming as was McPhee their cute dog who greeted us each morning. The breakfasts were great and the evening meals were excellant. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts, they even dried our wet suits for us and advised us on places to visit. We were sad to be leaving.

Room Tip: Family room great as children have their own room off the main bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Having stayed at Channel Vista last year we returned to find our stay just as welcoming and friendly, just as clean and just as wonderfully doggy friendly as before. Our dog Buzz was made really welcome and he thoroughly enjoyed his stay; only the welcoming greeting from McPhee would have you know there was a dog around, as the place was super spotless. The breakfast was sumptuous. Definitely recommend a stay here, positioned conveniently for the beach, real value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 + 2 would suit those with dogs as the back door is not far in case you need a loo trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roscoeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Channel Vista Guest House........
Nothing was to much trouble, the family room was taken so Clive and Linda put a single bed in our room for my daughter. We also took our dog, Clive and Linda thought of everything supplying bowls for her water and food, a towel, pooh bags and a waste bin by the back entrance.
Breakfast was out of this world cooked very professionally by Clive. Lovely to stay somewhere with a personal touch, unlike these big hotels where you are just a number.......
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Linda and Clive couldn't have been more helpful from booking to our departure (and afterwards as we left something behind which they happily offered to post back). We arrived at an anti-social hour in the morning and Clive cooked us breakfast at an equally anti-social hour the next morning (Sunday), which was excellent! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyBrightside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
0 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
18 reviews
0 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
0 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Vista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Vista Guest House

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range: $81 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Vista Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Vista Guest House - a characterful period property - aims to provide a great holiday experience at an affordable price. With comfortable, en-suite rooms - and a delicious, freshly-cooked breakfast, enjoy the stunning coastal scenery of North Devon. There is a Conservatory Bar - and free, on-site parking, together with a secure garage for bikes and kayaks. Channel Vista is close to the beaches, The South West Coast Path and local amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Channel Vista Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Vista Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing