We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty stinky Caravan”
Review of Manleigh Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manleigh Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked to stay in august for 4 days. When we got there the staff were very helpful and friendly. The caravan was hot and smelt awful like it had been shut up for years with no air and no one there to clean it. The rooms were very tired and all the ceilings were covered in dead squashed bugs, The net over the sky light was filled with dead bugs also. My husband got a glass from the cupboard to have a drink and the glass smelt stale! When we booked in we asked if there was any other accommodation at the park to be told it was fully booked. We decided to go stay else where. We didn't even stay a night it was awful. We are in the process of trying to get our money back as it was not acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneeBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMALeisureRetreats, Manager at Manleigh Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello there,
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment. As you are probably now aware, this matter has been referred to Hoseasons and is being resolved. We hope this does not prevent you from visiting in the future.
Many thanks,
Manleigh Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

After arriving at john fowler ilfracombe and refusing to stay ib that filthy hole we got moved to manleigh caravan park arriving just as reception was closing the staff were extremely helpful and friendly especially park owner mark although we had a few leaking taps which mark sorted straight away our holiday at manleigh was excellent so peaceful and quiet totally relaxing. One down side is we had to drive everywhere and couldn't just walk to the beach or local pub but totally recommend this place !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goode1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This site offers a range of accommodation such as static caravans, chalets and log cabins. Myself and my family (dog included) have recently returned from a stay in one of their log cabins. It was clean, pleasantly furnished, well maintained, set in a stunning location and the staff were friendly and attentive.
Reception has a very small selection of items for sale but there are plenty of small and larger shopping facilities situated nearby. The guest lounge offers free wi-fi which is particularly useful for keeping in touch or up to date with current affairs, and there is a small plunge pool (unheated) which is lets say "invigorating" :) but is cleaned regularly so pleasant enough.
Although the accommodation is self catering there are a number of places locally which offer good opportunities for eating out, I particularly recommend "ye old globe" situated in a local picturesque village nearby as the food was beautiful or the pack o cards for a pleasant enough menu but ideal for families situated within Combe Martin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is ideally located for a few attractions. Dinosaur park is 5 minutes drive away. Beach is 20 minutes walk with small family. Top Chippy 10 minutes walk as is the medieval parish church of St Peter. There is a great museum by the beach, too. Field nearby for games and to chase butterflies. Accommodation (this time we stayed in a chalet) is modern and clean with a well stocked kitchen and bathroom with towel rail. Our chalet was very close to plunge pool which is one depth and has cctv although children must be supervised. Private decked area with views over hillside where ancient field formations can be seen. Management on site discreet, friendly and accessible. Check in took all of a couple of minutes. Designated parking for each unit. Pool cleaned daily. Small play park tucked away with swings and slide but could do with a refurb. There is a play park in the village though. Club house where you can view satellite tv, wifi and borrow board games, books and dvds as well as get a change of scene and enjoy a coffe. Imagine this would be good for older families. As a small family felt safe and looked after as the units are well spaced out in a lovely wooded area which used to be a quarry in industrial times. Other suggestion would be to improve the natural environment with planting of wildflowers and bird boxes to encourage more wildlife in. Great value for money and we did not need to go far to find things to do.

Room Tip: Playpark is tucked away so no need to avoid units close to it. Chalets sleep 4 but lodges are newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 421sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMALeisureRetreats, Manager at Manleigh Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving this lovely review, we’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it’s great to receive feedback from guests. Manleigh Park was purchased by CSMA Club in 2010 and since then we’ve been working hard to encourage wildlife into the park. We have introduced a year round bird feeding programme, and built bird boxes situated away in wooded areas so that they don’t get disturbed. We have also left some parts of the woodland to overgrow so as to encourage butterflies and bees. As a result of this, we now get to enjoy robins, sparrows, wood peckers, a pair of tawny owls, deer and even a family of pheasants who enjoy strutting around! The local wildlife is so important to us and we only hope it’ll improve as time goes on - so we do hope you come back soon and get to see some more for yourselves! Thanks again for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at Manleigh Park. Perfect location for local attractions, Manleigh Park is also quiet, relaxing and its accommodation (we stayed in a log cabin) is first rate - really well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul_Jac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This site consists of static caravans, chalets and log cabins. All self catering, with fantsatic views of the devon countryside and coastline. It is an ideal base to explore north devon and north somerset. Especially Combe Martin in the valley below and Ilfracombe a short drive away. Also you have exmoor zoo a few miles inland. Drive to Minehead along the north coast where there you'll find the West Somerset Railway which takes you along the coast to Watchet then inland to Bishops Lydiard near Taunton along that route you also have a stop at a small town called Dunster, where you will find Dunster Castle and gardens. Very enjoyable stay at Manleigh Park the staff there are very friendly and will help you if you have problems.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trevorl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Manleigh but first in a log cabin. Perfect base for this part of North Devon. Well appointed....nice to have beds made on arrival rather than having to do that ourselves. Clean and bright. Plenty of kitchen equipment and lovely view of the sea in the distance from the cabin we stayed in. We did not feel overlooked at all. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
1.1 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stowford Farm Meadows
Stowford Farm Meadows
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manleigh Park

Address: Rectory Road, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range: $60 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manleigh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manleigh Park offers a variety of self catering accommodation, including static caravans, chalets and log cabins. Set on the side of a valley, the Park has stunning panoramic views of the beautiful village of Combe Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Manleigh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manleigh Park Hotel Combe Martin
Manleigh Park Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing