We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site, they've thought of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stowford Farm Meadows
Certificate of Excellence
Bulkington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great site, they've thought of everything”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great site with loads to do, in a lovely area, they really have covered everything off at this site, the pitches are a good size, with water taps well located, hardstanding is great and a good size, we've taken advantage of the summer storage where they pull your caravan onto the pitch ready for you to arrive whenever you choose to arrive. I was impressed with the large shower blocks, which are clean and spacious, the caravan accessory shop sells all sorts from bulbs to caravan awnings, the mini supermarket is onsite which isn't too expensive! They offer onsite servicing and repairs for your caravan in their own workshops. For the kids, there is a heated indoor pool, a petorama, where we fed a young calf with a bottle of milk, lambs, goats, mice, rabbits, gerbils and kittens along with much more, crazy golf, loads of play areas and pool tables in the games room in the bar. They have horse riding and even doggie day care if you fancy a day off for the dogs. They Just need a crèche to have some peace and quiet from the kids too and it would be perfect! The woodland walk is nice too, the site is really clean considering they allow dogs. There is also a caravan sales centre, which is lovely to spend an hour or two dreaming about the new models. This site is excellent, we intend to to be spending the summer of 2014 here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccles_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Lovely review, thanks. Think you've summed our site up well - nice idea about the creche!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    104
    51
    20
    19
See reviews for
262
87
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Good location for exploring Exmoor and the wonderful North Devon Coast. Very quite at this time of the year - we went on the 10th of March - glorious weather.
Husband loved the lady on reception as she thought we were younger than fifty years. ( discount for fifty and overs )
Good caravan and camping accessories shop.
Very well kept site, clean shower block, well maintained grounds.
Pub and restaurant not open due to early seasons - husband had to talk to wife...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cornishbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for your review, hope you can come back to North Devon again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This Summer will be our third visit to the site. Booking is easy and if you do this early enough you can pick your own pitch. The nearby toilets are clean and thankfully not on a 20p meter (as in other sites) The facilities are excellent and we make good use of these during our stay. We tended to make our own food but when we use the restaurants, we have been very pleasantly surprised. We especially liked the indian food on a Thursday. My daughter is 8 and always found plenty to do. She could explore safely which is very important to us. As has been said the only downside is that the nearest big town is barnstable and supermarket is a short drive away. We have previously stayed on more expensive sites where the staff have been anything less than pleasant. And this is why we will continue to use stowford Farm meadows!

Room Tip: field 5 is on a hill - we stayed on fields 2 and 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for your review, look forward to seeing you all in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COVENTRY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked this for a half-term week fairly last minute, and chose it because of the indoor pool and price, which seemed fairly reasonable in comparison to other sites.
The weather was pretty crap for the whole week we were there, bjt despite this and because of all that Stowford had to offer, we had a fantastic time.
The site is well laid out, with good drainage and fair sized pitches for caravans/motorhomes. There is a part of the site with lodges too.
Some of the attractions include - large but cosy bar serving barfood, as well as another bar/disco open some nights. Restaurant on site that serves quite nice food - a nice surprise.
the indoor swimming pool isn't the best I have seen, however with it not being particularly busy we enjoyed it. It was clean and changing rooms were OK.
There are kids activities on site including horseriding and mini-golf.
Well set up for dog owners with a dedicated dog walking field.
Decent friendly staff and free wifi near reception.
All in all adults and kids loved it, despite the weather.
Only downside - quite a trek to the beach/coast - you would definately have to drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulli69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay here, hope you can come back when the weather is better :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Staff on this site were so friendly and helpful. When my car clutch failed the reception staff made, what could have been a terrible weekend, into a nice break. The ladies on reception were very sympathetic and done everything possible to help. A nice gentleman in one of their landrovers even helped us get the car to the tow truck.
The site is very well maintained and facilities were kept clean. As a couple without kids I can't comment on kids facilities but the bar was pleasant and again the staff were very polite. The shop, even though it was end of the season, was quite well stocked. Location of the site is also great with several towns close by.
We have been on a seasonal pitch in East Devon for 5 years and decided on a change of scenery to a site with a few more facilities. Not on our seasonal pitch here till next year but certain already we have made the correct choice.
A big tank you to all the staff at Stowford.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you Linda, hope your car is back on the road now. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were looking for a 'cheap and cheerful' camp site for a weeks break in September. Stowford was a lovely site, with a lot to offer! Upon arrival checking in was very quick and easy with very clear instructions as to where the pitch was. It was a grass pitch of a good size. Although Stowford is a large site, it doesn't feel like it as there are different fields and with the pitches being such a great size, you are not too close to others, which is nice. We did not use many facilities, maybe next time, but was given all the relevant information and opening/closing times on arrival. Lovely clean site with lots to offer and lots of open space for children to run around and burn off energy. All staff were very friendly and helpful, had a great week and even stayed a little longer than planned, which again was no problem. 8 days away cost less than £90, which was also a bargain! Arlington Court (National Trust) was close by which is recommended to visit. Croyde beach, Ilfracombe and Woolacombe also close by to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for your review, glad you found our site such good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We needed a base for a long weekend visit to North Devon. When booking the site the reception staff were helpful with the field and pitch number given, we asked for a quiet pitch if possible as we had a wedding to attend and knew we would be late back to the site. At the last minute we had to bring our puppy, with a quick phone call he was added without any trouble. On arrival the site information given to us was clear and very informative. Our pitch was hard standing with EHU, it was on quite a slope.The facilities were clean, and the water was hot! We didn't have time to go to the bar, swimming pool etc so therefore cannot comment on them. When we come down to Devon again we will use the site as it does have a lot to offer and is well situated to explore North Devon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments, see you again when you are in North Devon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
5.5 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,170 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Combe Martin
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
408 reviews
7.9 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.0 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowford Farm Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowford Farm Meadows

Property: Stowford Farm Meadows
Address: Stowford Farm | Berry Down, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stowford Farm Meadows 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of north Devon, a mile from the nearest main road along its own private drive, Stowford Farm Meadows has a superb rural setting. There are 500 acres of rolling Devon countryside, mature woodland and lush green meadows. The site makes an ideal base for exploring outstanding scenery and family attractions.Here is a summary of our excellent facilities:- Indoor heated swimming pool- Shop for food & supplies- Take-away cafe & 'The Wild Pheasant' - Old Stable & Old Barn bars - Family orientated entertainment - Horse riding centre -Kiddies cars - Petorama undercover Mini-Zoo - 9-hole fun golf - 9 -hole crazy golf - Sports field and play areas - Disabled washroom facilities - Family bath and shower rooms - Fully equipped laundry rooms - Extensive waymarked woodland walks - Caravan sales, servicing and repairs - Caravan accessories shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Stowford Farm Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowford Farm Meadows Hotel Combe Martin
Stowford Farm Meadows Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing