We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay on the coastal path”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellently situated for the SWCP and easy to see from a distance. Warm and friendly welcome, excellent food and wine at very reasonable prices. Bedroom spotless, comfortable beds and excellent facilities in the house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed just one night at Blair Lodge having had 3 days walking on the coastal path. This was probably my favourite B&B overall. Walking into Combe Martin Blair Lodge was very easy to spot with the sign on the roof and just a stone's throw from the coast path. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and cake.... and there were more home made biscuits in our room, which had a sea view. Both Nick and Rachel made us feel at home and were full of good advice. We ventured across the road to the Royal Marine for food, though in hindsight I wished we'd have opted for the in house meal. Breakfast was very good - especially the veggie bacon and sausage option which really makes the difference. I'd definitely recommend this B&B to others and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelB3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived in the rain and were made most welcome by Nick - tea and cake. No trouble finding the place with the name visible on the roof as we came down from the cliff path. Rachel served an excellent 2 or 3 course meal which we took advantage off as it saved venturing out in the wet. Lovely home-baked biscuits in the bedroom. Very pleasant accommodation and ideal for walkers of the South West Coast Path. Also had the advantage of a pleasant lounge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed one night and would recommend this hotel to any one visiting Coombe Martin. Nick and Rachel made us very welcome and provided transport to our starting point on the walk. Spotlessly clean and comfortable with good breakfasts. Free parking was no problem. The name Blair Lodge is on the roof and is a reassuring sight as you come down the coast path into town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzLovers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed just one night at this excellent B&B but it was a lovely welcoming break during our walking holiday. Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. Breakfast was first class. Hosts were genuinely warm and friendly and offered helpful tips for our walk the next day. Would highly recommend it to other walkers on the Coastal Footpath.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A very nice and comfortable house, wonderful breakfast, and the owners are so helpful and friendly!
We really felt at home!
Nick will answer any question you might have about the area, and we enjoyed the good cakes which rachel was baking.
Combe martin is a nice town, wher you can stay longer to walk on the cliffs or in exmoor.
Thank you to Rachel and Nick

Peter and Isgard from Salzburg

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isgard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rachel and Nick are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. From the tea and home baked cakes that welcome you to the delicious Full English Breakfast - the food is fantastic. Each time we have visited we have planned something special for our daughter to do and they always remember what day she is doing it. They always ask us how our day went and if our daughter has had a good day. There are plenty of tea and biscuits available in the rooms, clean towels every day and the rooms are spotless. Nick is very knowledgeable about the area and is always on hand for us to ask for any ideas of where to visit. Rachel is a very good cook and bakes delicious home-made cakes and biscuits. This is our regular short break family holiday and we would recommend Blair Lodge to all of our family and friends. We feel like we are in a home from home every time we visit and we never want to leave.

Room Tip: They have an excellent family room which we normally stay in which has a double bed in one room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerJoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
4.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge Guest House

Address: Moory Meadow | Ilfracombe, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing