We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“three night break at combe martin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blair Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oberndorf bei Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
“three night break at combe martin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

A very nice and comfortable house, wonderful breakfast, and the owners are so helpful and friendly!
We really felt at home!
Nick will answer any question you might have about the area, and we enjoyed the good cakes which rachel was baking.
Combe martin is a nice town, wher you can stay longer to walk on the cliffs or in exmoor.
Thank you to Rachel and Nick

Peter and Isgard from Salzburg

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isgard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
136
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ulceby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rachel and Nick are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. From the tea and home baked cakes that welcome you to the delicious Full English Breakfast - the food is fantastic. Each time we have visited we have planned something special for our daughter to do and they always remember what day she is doing it. They always ask us how our day went and if our daughter has had a good day. There are plenty of tea and biscuits available in the rooms, clean towels every day and the rooms are spotless. Nick is very knowledgeable about the area and is always on hand for us to ask for any ideas of where to visit. Rachel is a very good cook and bakes delicious home-made cakes and biscuits. This is our regular short break family holiday and we would recommend Blair Lodge to all of our family and friends. We feel like we are in a home from home every time we visit and we never want to leave.

Room Tip: They have an excellent family room which we normally stay in which has a double bed in one room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerJoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

as soon as we got out of our car and walked up the path we were warmly greeted by Nick and shown to our spotlessly clean sea view room, and told there would be a pot of tea waiting for us in the comfortable lounge. Nothing was too much trouble and Nick and Rachel go out of their way to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as can be. breakfast was cooked to order and was always done to a high standard. We have already decided to go back again because we truly believe we got excellent value and service for the money. Many thanks Nick and Rachel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arsenal123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed for a 3 night break,the moment we stepped inside it was like visiting one of your family, very heart warming. The rooms were clean, (spotless in fact). All your needs were catered for right down to the tissues and biscuits supplied in the room. With regards to food, the breakfast was fantastic, you could have anything you required, plus nothing was too much trouble, the same went for the evening meal, very good choice, very tasty, and plenty of it. Rachel and Nick are a very accommodating couple, also very knowledgable with regards to the area, we will definitely be returning to see them. The Blair lodge is in an ideal position both for walking to beach, walking the costal paths, plus shops and pubs, about 5 minutes away. Not only is it in an ideal position the view of the beach and rocks are outstanding. Well done Rachel and Nick. The Cotterills

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 159DJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nick and Rachel made us very welcome. The little touches made us want to come back and the breakfast was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and they obviously love their role as hosts. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabethnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights to walk two sections of the coastal path. Nick and Rachel could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We felt as if we were staying with two old friends ! Clean , comfortable rooms - with home made biscuits every day ! Nick was so helpful with his advice on walking, and Rachel's cooking was superb. We could not have picked a better place to stay. Many thanks, Rachel and Nick

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alun h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed three nights at Blair Lodge so that we could fit in Lynton to Combe Martin to complete our only gap on the north coast of the SW Path. Very comfortable and welcoming and Rachel prepares great meals and also a choice of lovely sandwiches for lunch on request. Nick is happy to provide transport to help path logistics at very reasonable cost and is a mine of local information.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
2.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.1 mi away
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge Guest House

Property: Blair Lodge Guest House
Address: Moory Meadow | Ilfracombe, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing