We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply excellent!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been coming down to Blair Lodge now for several years (me, five times in four years and my partner, seven visits over six years). Each visit has been far above what one normally expects from a B&B or guest house. Rachel and Nick are friendly, knowledgeable about area walking/mountain biking and very helpful. The rooms are well-appointed and very clean with home made biscuits (yum). The breakfasts are delicious and varied (great poached eggs) and the evening meals have been exceptionally nice especially the generous desserts.
You have parking out front but can walk straight out onto the coast path. Nick is most helpful if you need local knowledge and advice on where to walk or bike.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are most pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCA1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
138
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wow what can i say??? first i should slap my wrists for taking so long to write this review as from the very beginning Rachel & Nick have been so welcoming and are prepared to do anything with in their power to making our stay perfect.
I went to visit them a few months before the wedding to book up their guest house for my bridal party for the night before & after after the wedding (no other accommodation in Combe Martin would allow us to do this) they kept a spare rooms empty which i really didn't expect them to do, Rachel even prepared me a menu for my guests after i said i was struggling to find a place for everyone to eat on the first night, i was even allowed to invite a couple that weren't staying at the Blair Lodge.

When i arrived the day before my big day some of my guests had already arrived and they were sitting in the living room getting to know each other, the atmosphere was so relaxed i knew everything would be perfect, some the beginning i felt like a VIP. For evening dinner the dining area was all set in my wedding colours, my 20+ guest had chosen from the menu Rachel had provided, the food was outstanding and at an amazing price.
After dinner i was able to invite the grooms party over to have a drink and mingle so everyone had a chance to get to know one another, it was like being home from home i could pretty much please myself which i'm not use to being able to do.

The morning of the wedding i was up bright and early as i had someone coming to do my wedding parties hair & makeup, Rachel was already up sorting coffee's and breakfast for everyone when they were ready to scatter in. Getting ready was a smooth transition even though the house was busy anything i needed was provided.
I was just gutted i was only there for the one night i could of happily stayed longer.

To finish this review off a number of my guests are planning on returning some point this year as they also have such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kniimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lingfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we have just spent christmas at blair lodge.we had a very enjoyable five days.nick and rachel could not do enough for us the food the bedrooms the whole exspireance was wonderfull we will make sure that we visit thier guest house again in the future one more very good point on site parking

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Have just spent a marvellous weekend in Combe Martin, made all the better by staying for 2 nights in Blair Lodge. Rachel and Nick couldn't do more to make your stay enjoyable, always attentive but never intrusive. Our room had a sea view, plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate - with home maade buscuits. Good choice of breakfast, including the home made jam and marmalade. The on site carparking is a bonus. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Blair Lodge and were pleasantly surprised. Firstly, a separate Car Park with lots of room. Then a warm welcome with Tea and Cakes by the hosts Nick and Rachel. Our room was on the first floor at the rear, quiet and comfortable. We had ordered dinner, and what a surprise - choice of 2 or 3 courses, with choices within each course. The food was fantastic, equal of top class restaurants. Be sure to order the dinner with your accommodations. Many thanks to Nick and Rachel for a lovely relaxing couple of days. Will certainly return if we are ever in the area again.

Room Tip: Order the dinners, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rescobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay vey warm and welcoming. Lots to do in the local area, very close to the sea. Nice clean rooms with towels soaps tea coffee making ect. Good breakfast and perfect location. On site car parking will come again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tomi4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at Blair Lodge for 3 nights last weekend and what a fabulous place it is. Rachel and Nick are wonderful hosts, the place is spotlessly clean and Rachel's cooking is fantastic. It is in a very quiet location with lots of interesting places nearby to visit. However, I was there for the Italian weekend which are held there periodically for people to learn/improve their Italian - weekends organised by Maria from Intensive Italian (http://www.intensiveitalian.co.uk), so I did not have much free time to explore the area. But I will try to come back again to Devon as a tourist and visit the area and stay at Blair Lodge again. Fabulous!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if possible - watching the sun rise over the sea is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spider49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
2.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge Guest House

Property: Blair Lodge Guest House
Address: Moory Meadow | Ilfracombe, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing