We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday.Barbara & David, Watford.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our first visit to Blair Lodge and I'm sure it will not be our last. Rachel and Nick made us feel very welcome from the moment we stepped in the door. Had tea and lovely home made cake in the lounge. The food is really excellent and the choices varied. The hotel is spotlessly clean, with everything you could possibly need in your room. Rachel and Nick are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble.Thanks for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Book sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We returned to Blair Lodge having previously visited two or three years ago.

Once again the welcome from proprietors Nick and Rachel was spot on.

Blair Lodge was much the same as before, albeit with some small improvements like flat screen TVs in the rooms and the redecorating you would expect to see to keep things fresh.

Rachel's evening meals are an absolute highlight - beautifully cooked food using the best ingredients. Combe Martin isn't exactly blessed with a great range of eating options for the evening so eating in, followed by a gentle stroll along the front is certainly recommended!

There are some terrific walks in the area and Nick is a great source of information and maps. We particularly enjoyed the circular walk from Hunters Inn and the loop from Blair Lodge that takes in Great and Little Hangman. Both are around 5 miles long and perhaps a couple of hours of good exercise for the casual walker - boots or wellies required though!

Room Tip: The small supplement for a seaview room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CP03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Although the bathroom was a little to compact for comfort it was a pleasant and enjoyable place to stay in Combe Martin, It is wecoming, clean and the breakfast all you could wish for to set you up for the day

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rachael and Nick gave us a warm welcome even though it was 3 years since our last visit. They remembered we had been to the theatre in Illfracombe last time and had looked up what was on with out us asking. Room spotless clean, comfortable bed. Miss the evening meal and you miss a treat, though you do have to pre order. Rachael and Nick want all there guest to have a good stay -They have a wealth of local knowledge. We have visited Blair Lodge many times and have known 3 owners. It has always been good but it is now at its best

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small - room 5 is tight for space but otherwise fully equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our sixth stay at blair lodge with nick and rachel. Had a great holiday .The roomwas clean and freash and the bed was very comfortable.They cannot do enough for you.Rachels cooking is out off this world cannot waite to go back for more fish dishes.N ick has a wealth of knowlege and tails.The location of the hotel is central in the village and perfect to everything.Cannot waite to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

my friend and I stayed for 1 night on our SW coastal path jaunt. From when I had first made contact about rooms I felt very cared about as a potenital client. Nick and Rachel were incredibly helpful about all sorts of practicalities. We ate in as too tired to go and find somewhere to eat and the food was great, intersting varied menu and generous portions.
Bed room fine -only niggle was the tempremental shower.
Breakfast was good - a wide choice of things too.
I would definately stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthlet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Rachel and Nick are great welcoming friendly hosts, First visit here but welcomed like old friend with afternoon tea and chocolate cake!!. Due to other commitments only stayed one night. They were100% full and many others were regular guest who have been there many times – that shows the quality of the hosts and what they offer. This ‘only’ a B & B but more like a 3 star hotel.

Spotlessly clean & comfortable rooms, nice fresh towels complete with face flannels. Rachel is a great cook providing excellent value high quality evening meals and breakfast. Only 50 yards to the beach and the small town but benefits from being off the main road, so quiet (expect for the thunder and lightening) with adequate parking for guests.

I am a bad sleeper and it is a long since I slept in a 4ft 6” bed - when we are next in the area we will definitely return – hopefully for more than one night and in a 5ft bed!! Maybe need to book early and not at short notice

Room Tip: Book early to avoid dissapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.2 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge Guest House

Address: Moory Meadow | Ilfracombe, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing