We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Devon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stag Hunters Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brendon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag Hunters Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

A friendly welcome from Simon got things off to a good start - he showed us to our room which was clean and attractively presented - it was lovely to find such a spacious en-suite,too. We soon discovered the large garden which can be used by guests as a delightful place to relax - the resident cat may join you there! We took our evening meals in the lounge and both of us thoroughly enjoyed them.There is also a bar, mostly used by locals.It was pleasant to take breakfast in a different room overlooking the garden - a full English available or something lighter if you prefer. There is a private lounge for residents which is useful for planning your activities for the day - in our case deciding which of the many and varied walks to tackle.After an excellent dinner and maybe a few drinks you will have no trouble sleeping in this quiet and peaceful location.We found all the family that we met and also the staff,particularly a young Bulgarian girl, both friendly and helpful.Richard told us something of the history of the building which was fascinating - it was once a coaching inn - built on the site of an abbey.I must mention Wendy who seems to put in a lot of work behind the scenes to ensure that guests have a lovely stay.We travelled from County Durham a distance of about 360 miles - if you live closer then you're lucky.Thanks to all at 'The Stag Hunters' Arthur and Kath

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent - large en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 454chimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Wow, thank you for such a splendid and well written review. It was a joy to make your acquaintance and we do hope the distance does not stand in the way of a repeat visit. Best wishes from Richard, Wendy, Simon, James, Chefs Sarah and Haley, Eva, our delightful Bulgarian, and the rest of our dedicated team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    47
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
42
116
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Stag Hunters Hotel is a lovely pub in the middle of a very beautiful spot on Exmoor. It is run by lovely staff who were welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, some of them (including the one we had) with a beautiful view out to the gardens at the rear. Breakfast was good, as was the service.

Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackPudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for the complimentary review, it was a delight to cater to such a friendly couple, we do hope you will return. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent two nights here for my wifes birthday.Our kids and grandkids camped up the road at Riverside ( great site according to them)
Had a family meal Saturday night in the hotel then we all had a great time in the lounge bar as it was folk night, we were all made most welcome( even kids 5 & 9!) Sorry about my solo performance folks!!.
Great breakfast, lovely people even gave my wife a birthday card.
Would highly recommend this place and we will be back
Ian

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I1668PKians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend in our Inn, thank you for the positive review, we will look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Thanks to all at the Stag Hunters Inn, what a home from home, only a lot more relaxing, from the moment we walked in we felt the stresses melt away, we were celebrating a birthday and our wedding anniversary, when Richard and the team found out they made our stay extra special. The room at the front of the Inn was great very comfortable and the river flowing by only yards away over the narrow road made it very relaxing, could not fault the excellent home cooked food, plenty of it!, all of the staff were very helpful and attentive. We are already planning our next visit, can't wait. Thanks again Adrian and Jennie Collins

Room Tip: We had room 15 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you Adrian and Jennie for writing such a glowing review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we sincerely hope to greet you again. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We needed to stay in the Exmoor area for two nights over the May day bank holiday and we thought we would take our two dogs (first time). Stag hunters came up on a dog friendly search, what a treat, we would highly recommend it. Lovely setting within walking distance of Lynton and Lynmouth. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Ground floor room over looking the garden which was ideal for the dogs. Very clean and comfortable room, was expecting a certain type of accommodation if dogs in the room but we were pleasantly surprised. BB and evening meal good value, simple home cooked food . Wonderful facilities for the dogs, paddock to run them and they were welcome in pub and sat under our tables. WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you are taking your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We, at the Staghunters, are very happy you and your pets enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes. From Richard, family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We went with friends for an unplanned meal. A lovely setting in the Valley, very friendly family run Hotel & Restaurant. Very good food at reasonable coast. We would recommend this if you get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your meal and thank you for taking the time to write a complementary review.
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

What more can I say - the Stag Hunters once again came up with everything we needed to give us a very comfortable and happy "break". It was so good to return to this lovely welcoming hotel and meet up with Richard and co once again. The family room I had was beautiful and tastefully decorated and overlooked the river; the bathroom fantastic and all so immaculate and clean. My parents were very content in the room they had previously stayed in which overlooked the gardens and it was so good to sit out on the balcony and admire the beautifully kept gardens. As with our room, their room was so clean and pleasant. Another added plus is the fact that our dog was made so welcome and he settled down as if he was at home! My two boys absolutely love staying here, as we do and immensely enjoyed the choice of menu as we ate in every evening and there was always something to tempt. How good the breakfasts are - beautifully presented and served by a very smiley and polite young waitress. In fact, Richard, Wendy, Simon and the staff make you feel so welcome. We have just one complaint!! Our visit was too short, we would have loved to have stayed for a longer period. We will be back!!

Room Tip: A choice of dropping off to sleep to the sound of the river or the rooms with the balcony overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome back guests, that in itself is a great compliment and when a

glowing review is written it is very rewarding. Thank you and we shall look forward to your return.

Richard, family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
14.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
5.5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag Hunters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hunters Hotel

Property: The Stag Hunters Hotel
Address: Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stag Hunters Hotel
The Stag Hunters Hotel Brendon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing