We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stag Hunters Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$154
$128
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$161
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$194
$162
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
166
52
9
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
52
9
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstag huntersfamily runthe rivermany timesother guestspool tablehome from homesteak burgerowners and stafftwo sonsfor sunday lunchexmoor goldexmoor alevenisongreat weekendshort breakthe pub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 241 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were having a chilled drink next to the stream on a rare sunny afternoon, when we decided to book a room on the spur of the moment, this meant we got to enjoy the beer garden next to the wonderfull river for the entire afternoon and sample the delightful dinner (the steaks are amazing)cooked by the lovely staff of this hotel, I cannot praise them enough, the resturant and food are delightful and the rooms are up there with some of the best we have stayed in, full of charm and character, and you can fall asleep to the tinkling of the river, the only negatative is that we only got to stay one night! we will be reurning for a long weekend

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsyw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful week on Exmoor and although we didn't stay at the Staghunters, this charming location and the courtesy, friendliness and professionalism of the Wyburn family made our holiday special. We used the Staghunters for our evening meals for four nights (after trying it, we wouldn't go anywhere else) and at the end of our break, we felt as though we were leaving old friends. Richard and his team have achieved an ideal balance of professional customer service, (plus excellent food) and have still found time to provide a friendly, fun atmosphere. We were not only made to feel welcome by the Wyburn family, but also by the local customers and other guests at the hotel. We will be returning and will definitely arrange our accomodation here next time. Thanks!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mick_and_Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is how it should be. Set on the river, in the beautifully tranquil village of Brendon, close to the Boone valley, crested by the moors and flanked by the sea - and yet far from traffic and no mobile signal .. the perfect get away! A wonderful family run pace where they really take the time to chat, super food, very warm open fires, welcoming and with an amazing 500 year old chapel! - I also came here with the family for New Years eve ... what a giggle we all had. ps- In the village at night it is amazing to be reminded of what darkness can be, how quiet silence is and the atmosphere a really good pub can provide!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleTravellingAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Have just returned from a very pleasant solo break at the dog friendly Staghunters Inn. I was made to feel most welcome by not only the Wyburn family but all members of staff. In fact, all the other guests as well. Several of whom seem to be regulars which must be a good indication of the hospitality offered.
My room was very pleasant and well furnished with what appeared to be a recently refurbished bathroom. My only criticism, and this is most definitely constructive, I would have liked a better television. The rather ancient small portable with poor picture quality was not in keeping with the room.
I enjoyed dinner at the Inn each evening and can particularly recommend the fish and chips, extremely good quality cod cooked to perfection.
Overall, would I go back, most definitely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RnBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Once again we have had a wonderful break at The Stag Hunters with a warm welcome from the Wyburn Family. The hotel is friendly and comfortable with a nice menu catering for all tastes, ideal to return to after a day of walking in the Dune Valley or on Exmoor. The room we stayed in was lovely and we will be returning as soon as we can. This visit we had friends with us and we know they were equally as impressed, so was their dog Ruby. Thank you all for making our visit so comfortable and memorable. Mel & Tina, Near Chipping Norton

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very nice with your own outdoor space.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews