We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stag Hunters Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
166
53
9
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
53
9
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstag huntersfamily runthe rivermany timesother guestspool tablehome from homesteak burgerowners and stafftwo sonsfor sunday lunchexmoor goldexmoor alevenisongreat weekendshort breakthe pub
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 242 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I have just got back from a fantastic weekend away at 'the stag hunters hotel' with my girlfriend. I booked for us to go away as a treat for my girlfriends birthday to stay in the room with a four poster bed. We are in our mid 20's and wanted a peaceful, relaxing weekend away where we could enjoy just our own company and get away from the busy hustle and bustle of the West Midlands. A big part of choosing the Stag Hunters (I have been previously with family) was that we wanted to get away from all stress's which included having no phone signal, so we couldn't receive any phone calls especially 'work' related calls! The scenic views when you are at the hotel are simply stunning, a beautiful little beer garden next to a stream with the sun shining, it really doesn't get any better than that. The meals were all cooked to perfection and the staff were super friendly, helpful and a pleasure to speak to.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leehaynesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The Wyburn family are gradually upgrading The Staghunters, as each time we visit the bedrooms are better. The food's always been good anyway, and the staff are all lovely. The roaring log fire in the bar, the view over the garden at breakfast time, the rush of the River Lyn in front of the property, have all become precious, and we'll be back in a few months time. Thank you Richard, Wendy, Simon, James and staff. As usual, we had a lovely break.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I've known the Stag Hunters for a few years as some of my family live locally. The Wyburn family contribute a wonderful mix of skills, from front of house to superb breakfasts in the lovely garden breakfast room. Stunning Mick Cawston paintings too!
No family could try harder ... in this day and age to find a flourishing village pub/hotel with a pool team, regular Sunday lunchers and the rest - alongside a flourishing trade to incomers - is quite exceptional,
The weekend I was staying, there was a 50pax celebration in the function room, full hotel, a large complement of motor enthusiasts on the Sunday, plus the normal Sunday night gathering of locals for village activities. If any 'incomer' criticises this hotel for small inadequacies, he doesn't understand how rare a combination the StagHunters is - a family-run business, with great food freshly prepared from local ingredients and heartwarming hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarlyB1rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed at the Stag Hunters with the previous owners and had an excellent break. It was good to see the new owners have not only met the same standards as the original owners but have in our opion bettered it. The booking was easy, the greeting was very welcoming, the food excellent and value for money.
Overal we would not only return for another stay we would recommend the Stag Hunters to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth_cockram9869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel that has the aroma of damp dog in the bar and old cooking oil in the residents stairwell then this could be the place for you. Add to this the tepid water from the shower and mould around the shower screen seal in the otherwise clean and adequate bathroom. The Bedroom was clean and comfortable. Evening meal and breakfast were reasonable but no better than the minimum you should expect. The restaurant at the rear overlooks a lovely garden but is let down by the tired decor and furnishings.
Should you decide that you want to spend some of your hard earned money at this hotel ensure that you get confirmation of of the rate you will be charged in writing as the rate we were quoted on the phone was different to the amount on the bill. when queried with the owner he was extremely rude.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 02HOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

This is an interesting case concerning guests who seemed very friendly, in fact we were on first name terms. They had first enquired about potentially booking several rooms to stay for a weekend later in the year. Now, I have never known a weekend stay to be less than two nights, so they were quoted a b&b price based on two or more nights. They said they would get back to us. Indeed they did, asking if they could stay with us for a night (the night on which their review is based). This was a very quick telephone booking during which a price was neither requested nor quoted.

On checking out, they said that they had a lovely time and would like to book what would amount to half our rooms for later in the year. I'm sure you'll agree with me that this is not the action of a couple dissatisfied with their stay. Unfortunately it transpired that their planned weekend break consisted of a single night's stay. I apologised for the misunderstanding and informed them that I could not let them have the rooms for the price quoted, explaining that they had been quoted for a break of two or more nights. If this is rude, I apologise once again.

As for the complaints of various aromas, mould and decor, well, this site is all about customer opinion. But where were these opinions when they wanted to book half our rooms? Luckily we're all blessed with at least a little intelligence, so please read some of our other reviews and I'll let you be the judge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews