We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rainy stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brendon House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brendon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brendon House
Ranked #2 of 2 Brendon B&B and Inns
Troed-y-rhiw, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A rainy stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

After a washout rainy final day camping we decided to spoil ourselves and stay in a b&b. we found Brendon house through a dog friendly website and decide to book. The woman owner answered in a very annoyed tone, which nearly put me off booking. But having just been soaked by the rain I went ahead and booked in. When we got there I was greeted by a lovely gentleman owner who ran through everything and gave me the key.

However this place looked ready for new owners and the "for sale" sign made that clear. The room was a little dusty, the shower spotless and it had definitely seen better days. For a night great but for a week I would have looked for something a little better and as we had a dog too a little bigger.

The breakfast in the morning was spot on and again the gentleman owner was very nice. Overall this b&b is ok for the night but not for any longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you love walking, nice accomodation with a hearty breakfast, all in a picturesque setting this is for you. There is a walk down the river which is practically outside the front door. This walk takes you to the Rockford Arms (over a bridge over the river). They do good evening meals but get very busy. In Brendon itself and only a short walk away is the Staghunters Inn. Both pubs do very good meals at reasonable prices. The walk down the river takes you all the way to Watersmeet and then if you continue, you can walk all the way to Lynmouth. Mr and Mrs Rigby were lovely hosts. We stayed 3 nights with our dog as well who was allowed in the room with us. Very nice stay.

Room Tip: The loft room is very spacious for a couple with two children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This break was a last minute decision and a quick search through the internet presented me with some interesting options and I’m very pleased to say after extensive evaluation (took about 5 minutes) our choice was ‘spot on’.
My wife and I had previously (many years back) had holidayed in this area and were looking to do a bit of serious walking and serious reminiscing. The location and setting of Brendon House fitted the bill perfectly and the icing on the cake was the accommodation. The owners - Ian and Sandra who greeted us on arrival and provided shelter and sustenance throughout our stay were quite simply excellent (nothing was too much trouble).
The accommodation was clean, comfortable and the food was excellent, which after a day walking along the coast and on the moors was a real welcome.
Would I recommend Brendon House to friends/family – most definitely ‘Yes’ and is it value for money – most definitely ‘Yes’ – and will we be back – most definitely ‘Yes’.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJD15Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and found the village of Brendon an ideal location.
The B&B itself was comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. It's not expensive and very well situated.
However, the place lacks soul and seems to becoming a bit tired. This probably reflects the owners who may have lost their enthusiasm for the business.
It felt that despite some difficult trading conditions they no longer had their hearts in it and were doing 'just enough'. We have met other proprietors who were more welcoming and warm. No real complaints just felt that five stars is something that is earned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairns-on-Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

From the minute we stepped through the door there was a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The proprietors Ian and Sandra Rigby made our stay one that we will remember for a long time, the food was excellent, the rooms comfortable and clean and nothing was too much trouble. we will definately be back.
The Elston Family

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teenypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brendon hotels
0.0 mi away
The Rockford Inn
The Rockford Inn
#1 of 2 in Brendon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Brendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brendon House

Property: Brendon House
Address: Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brendon House England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing