We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, but not as smart or 'gastrofied' as website suggests”
Review of The Rockford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rockford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The location is wonderful, you are in the middle of nowhere next to a fast flowing river with wonderful walks straight from the door. Sarah and Cathryn were welcoming and helpful.
The room was small and the decor didn't live up to the website photos with garish pub carpet clashing with the muted beiges of the rest of the decor but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very smart.
The dinner menu was your typical British pub grub ie scampi and chips, bangers and mash, steak and kidney pudding which we found very uninspiring and again from the website was expecting a slightly more gourmet experience. Everything was in those horrid little plastic packages: sauces, uth milk with the tea, jam and marmelade, would have been so much nicer at breakfast to have local preserves in proper jars and maybe some muesli and fruit and yoghurt as well as kellogs cereals.
The thing that shocked us the most was being served a jug of instant coffee at breakfast - it felt like going back 30 years. Surely everybody serves fresh cafetiere-style coffee these days?
On the whole I would recommend it for the location, not with kids as the rooms are tiny with no tv and it rains a lot in Devon, but a good base for hiking. There are some nice places to eat in Lynton if you don't fancy pub grub everynight.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivalavidaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankierosebud, Owner at The Rockford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2009

It might seem churlish to respond to this one but here goes;

I don't think our website is inaccurate, painting a picture of a "gastro pub" (horrid things, gastro pubs, should never have been invented). If you can be bothered to look at our website properly you will find a whole page dedicated to the menu which lists nothing else but good pub grub. The Rockford is a traditional English Pub, with rooms, not a "gourmet experience". Rick Stein and crowd are further down the coast. Maybe the interior design isn't exactly Laura Ashley either but I do think this reviewer is right when describing aspects of The Rockford Inn as "comfortable and smart".

Again, it seems like this customer just selected the wrong place to stay and didn't do thorough research. I think for £25/30 quid or so per night we give very good value for money. If you want a choice of fruit, muesli and yogurt as well as cafetiere-style coffee for breakfast I might suggest you dig a bit deeper and pay for it somewhere more salubrious! I hear The Savoy serves those poncy little jars of marmalades and preserves. I wonder what their room rate is? hmmm..

We do, however, provide a hearty full English breakfast, tea, toast , cereals and orange juice. And if you have a special request Cathryn & Sarah are always happy to try and oblige, just give them a little notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TauntonTugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankierosebud, Owner at The Rockford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynewithay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_Heart_Holidays83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SueWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankierosebud, Owner at The Rockford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
14.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 3 in Dunster
778 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
506 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#1 of 2 in Countisbury
452 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Rockford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn

Address: Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range: $85 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rockford Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th-century country inn set in the picturesque Brendon Valley deep in the heart of Exmoor National Park in Devon. Popular with farmers and ramblers alike, this riverside pub overlooks waterfalls and wooded gorges in a remote and isolated spot. We provide simple accommodation, good food, real ales served direct from the cask, log fires and permits to fish for salmon & trout in the East Lyn River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Rockford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockford Hotel Brendon
The Rockford Inn Brendon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing