We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Rockford”
Review of The Rockford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rockford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Rockford”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We love this real pub, when plastic imitations are the only survivors in many areas of the country.
The Rockford has everything, location, comfortable rooms, excellent food, real beer and last but not least two of the best hosts imaginable in Cathryn and Sarah.
We also had excellent weather, we walked to Lynmouth by the river, and the coast path from Valley of the Rocks to Lynton, the scenery was breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
171
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed overnight here, how useful is the internet and trip advisor as we would never have fond this place otherwise. The Inn sits opposite a small river which meanaders down the wooded valley, steep hillsides but nice walking country. The room was perfectly fine and the food was very tasty and good quantities. The wine list provided us with a bottle of decent wine at a reasonable price and the bar is cosy and well stocked. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the free internet is something bigger hotel should take heed of.
We can heartly recommend The Rockford Inn

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittiwakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at The Rockford Inn for one night recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed. The staff are really friendly and the service is excellent. We ate in and the meal was outstanding. In the morning we went for a walk along the river up to the National Trust cafe. The scenery was stunning and very pretty. Would definitely return :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is one of the nicests B and B's I have stayed in. The location is beautiful and peaceful. The staff were extremely friendly even though we were early they were accommodating. The room was lovely well decorated and spacious. There were lots of nice touches like the hot chocolate and moisturising cream.

We also eat here in the evening and the food was good value and tasty. The landlady was really helpful and the breakfast was also excellent quality and attentive service. I would not hesitate to stay here again its just a shame we only had one night although it was the best night's sleep I have had in awhile.

Room Tip: Room one is a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We drove past by chance, liked the look and decided to stay for dinner. Pleased that we did as the food was excellent, the staff friendly and the real ale straight from the barrel was an unexpected surprise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUFC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Warm, cosy and friendly place to stay. Sarah and Catherine really do make you feel so very welcome. We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. The pub is cosy and has a log fire and there is a separate adjoining residents lounge. The bedroom was very comfortable with a comfy bed and really good shower. The food was excellent - variety and quality. Breakfast is served in the residents lounge and was very tasty. Just outside is the East Lyn river - one of many walks straight from the door of the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Inn is set in a quiet valley next to the East Lyn river. It is so peaceful at night that the only noise is the river. The staff were warm and welcoming and the room clean and comfortable with ensuite bathroom and all the other facilities you would expect. The pub itself is very cosy with a roaring log fire. We ate there on two of the nights we stayed (It is closed on Mondays) and had a great meal each time. Beer drinkers will be more than happy with a number of Cotleigh ales available on draught. It is a great base for walking either on Exmoor, the coast or along the river valley, while other attractions are within a short drive. A great place for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
14.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
699 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
328 reviews
11.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
580 reviews
8.3 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
2.4 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn

Property: The Rockford Inn
Address: Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rockford Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th-century country inn set in the picturesque Brendon Valley deep in the heart of Exmoor National Park in Devon. Popular with farmers and ramblers alike, this riverside pub overlooks waterfalls and wooded gorges in a remote and isolated spot. We provide simple accommodation, good food, real ales served direct from the cask, log fires and permits to fish for salmon & trout in the East Lyn River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Rockford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockford Hotel Brendon
The Rockford Inn Brendon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing