We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of The Rockford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rockford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

An isolated 16th century (I think) pub with low beams, log fires & real ales set in the wilds of Exmoor. A warm & friendly welcome from Sarah & Catherine who provide home cooked food in the warm, cozy bar. We weren't able to sample the nearby walks as we had elderly parents with us but I can see how much this pub appeals to the hikers & walkers.
Bit disappointed with our room which was described as a "small double" but it was so small that there was no room to put a suitcase without having to clamber over it. Overall, I thought the rooms were a little overpriced but a nice stay nevertheless.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyolegit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Hanrahan, Owner at The Rockford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Ha,ha. When I saw we were reviewed by someone called Grumpyolegit, as you can imagine, I wasn't expecting a positive review! Anybody who relishes in the name grumpyolegit must be, by nature a grumpy old git! And the thing with grumpy old gits is that they just can't refrain from being grumpy old gits.

This particular grumpyolegit takes the biscuit though. His review starts well enough with the title description of The Rockford Inn as 'Old World Charm' and describing the welcome as 'friendly'. He even mentions the warm and cozy bar, but before long ole grumpy realises he is being nice and complimentary. Not in my nature at all he tells himself, so he goes off into his grumpyolegit mode to find something to complain about. I know, I'll complain about the small size of the bedroom which they describe as guess what, SMALL. It's a small room, grumpy. Ole Git, it is S_M_A_L_L.

He then, rather unspiritingly, complains about the room being overpriced. Well at £65 a night for two people including a scrumptious breakfast at a lovely old Inn, you wont find cheaper on Exmoor. That's why the price is also SMALL.

He begrudgingly signs off by saying a '.. a nice stay nevertheless'. Thats probably about as generous as grumpyolegits get.

However, although we acknowledge that room is small we are also uncomfortable with the fact that some guests may be surprised at it's small size (despite all the efforts we make to bring it to people's attention). Therefore we have decided to enlarge the room by some clever redesign and downsizing of the bathroom, which will now become a shower-room. The cost to us will a few thousand pounds this winter, but it will be well worth it, because when grumpyoelgits come to stay, they will have one less thing to moan about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 277 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

An absolutely idyllic inn with born hosts. Superb food, gorgeous cosy log fire and nothing was too much trouble. There are superb walks right outside the pub - if you can drag yourself out of it. Wonderful! We haven't stayed there, but always like to eat there when we go to Devon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreySandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Rockford Inn within Exmoor area: This is our second trip back to the Inn because it's a real gem for us (at this point in our lives, we only return to worthwhile destinations). As seasoned world travelers for over 40 years, this Inn is one of our favorite places to visit now. And as avid walkers/hikers that we are, the location has a large number of available trails, on the OS map OL9, to select from that satisfied our daily hiking needs during two separate week periods. And there are still areas we haven't covered. It offers both relatively flat walks along the river and also hilly walks to several small towns in the area that also have quality pubs for welcomed stops for lunch. Our rooms at the Inn have been spacious, warm and quiet, exactly what we needed for restful sleeps after daily 8-12 mile circular hikes, and the beds were very comfortable. The food at every meal has been fresh and delicious, with the right amount of portions to refuel us for the next day's hike. One of my favorite is the Chicken Tandoori dish for two that Sarah, the chef, made for us at our request. And the owner Catherine is an excellent host always ensuring we had enough Ale. On our last visit we were one of the first to try their new Rockford Ale. On cooler evenings they have reserved a table by the warm fire which was very nice. The Rockford Inn is one of our all time favourite Inns set in beautiful location. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoadsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have now stayed at the Rockford Inna couple of times and eaten there several more, usually en route to/ from elsewhere.
It is a lovely location, really great for walking, all times fo year and the hosts have been consistently welcoming every time.
In the time we have been visiting alot of work and effort has been invested to improve the guest accommodation and that pays off really well.
The food is lovely and based around local seasonal produce. The local ales provide good variety in the pub and the wine list is perfectly reasonable for those who prefer that beverage.
Cathryn and Sarah provide a lovely base from which to explore the area further.
We are hoping to win the raffle and some more time to go see them! However, even if we are not successful with the raffle, we will definitely be going back.
The breakfasts are provided in a separate dining room to the bar and there are plenty of options on offer to cater for dietary requirements, especially if you make them clear when you book.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMG272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We found The Rockford Inn about three years ago and were immediately captivated by its secluded riverside charm. Since then we have returned several times and visiting this wonderful place has always been a joy! We arrived home yesterday after enjoying our latest fantastic weekend spent with family. As usual the food was amazing, the wine flowed and the welcome was as warm as it could possibly be! Sarah and Cathryn work so hard to make sure that their customer experience is as perfect as possible, and their guests feel all the more special for that 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude. Thank you both for yet another fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

You will need to go a long way to find a warmer welcome than at The Rockford Inn. Cathryn is superb front of house and Sarah cunjures up wonderful home cooked delicious food with flair and great ingredients. Nothing is too much trouble.

We visited with my sister & brother in law and mum & dad. It's been a busy time recently and the total relaxation we found at The Rockford was just amazing. It was a second visit and we will all be back again in 2013.

Thanks both for your part in a stellar weekend of 2012.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a small double but at the price, superb value. Lovely view of the river too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catussehaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from a great weekend staying at the Rockford Inn with four other couples. The owners could not have been more helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. The food is great and there are beautiful walks straight from the inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front i.e. overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
2.4 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
324 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn

Address: Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range: $87 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rockford Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th-century country inn set in the picturesque Brendon Valley deep in the heart of Exmoor National Park in Devon. Popular with farmers and ramblers alike, this riverside pub overlooks waterfalls and wooded gorges in a remote and isolated spot. We provide simple accommodation, good food, real ales served direct from the cask, log fires and permits to fish for salmon & trout in the East Lyn River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Rockford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockford Hotel Brendon
The Rockford Inn Brendon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing