We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion Inn
Nearby Hotels
$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
$105
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
19
25
8
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
25
8
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspost officevillage shopthe rivertiny villageb bpub grubcommunity hubdart estuarybrigitteaccommodationdevonciderferryboatpennyensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 71 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We didn't stay at the Red Lion but visited for lunch on a day trip by boat. The Inn is away from the waterfront - around 5 - 10 mins stroll up the road from the busy shoreline but is worth it. There was a good selection of food (and real ales) on offer served by very friendly staff. The food was very reasonably priced including the Ploughmans lunch (most places charge a premium for some reason). If you visit on a sunny day, I can recommend the garden terrace which affords a fantastic view across the Dart valley (see photo).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMysteryShoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is a MUST AVOID. On arriving at 4pm the room was not ready and had to be 'cleaned'. On inspection it was dirty, with a stained carpet and a pubic hair in the bed. The whole pub/hotel/post office (it is all these combined!) was covered in the hairs of the two dalmatians roaming around. We arrived back that evening to find we'd been locked out! It was only by chance and insistence that we found a friend of the cleaner who eventually let us in. The bed and bedding smelled dirty and night and we refused to stay for breakfast as we could not face more squalor. We told the lady the place was FILTHY AND NEEDED TO BE CLOSED AND REFURBISHED and in not way could they justtify charging £95 per night. We also pointed out the lousy reviews on the WEB. She was not particularly apologetic - just has no idea of cleanliness or customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sprogit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We had Room 1 which had an amazing view, a lovely deep bath, and a very comfortable bed. The substantial and enjoyable breakfasts were at the very civislised times of between 9 and 10, and we coudlnt have felt more welcome. We had everything that we could have wanted. the hardworking staff man a facility which is the general store, a hotel, a post office and also serves great meals which is very handy. The roads are very narrow, and you shouldn't always believe your satnav- ours took us a very circuitous route to get to Dittsham. After visiting Dartmouth the next day, we were so pleased we had stayed at Dittisham, so quiet and relaxing, but can access everywhere by ferry. great walks and beautiful scenery, and lovely hosts

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineandcheesedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

What a delightful small inn in a small village near Dartmouth. It houses the local store and post office as well as operating as a hotel. The bar area is small but adequate and the restaurant had a great view over the valley to the water. They had a marvelous chef as we had one of the best meals I have eaten anywhere in the world. We found the rooms to be big and comfortable also offering a delightful view. Staff were a little quirky but friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

As a frequent traveller I have never had a worse reception,or service during a stay.It was as though it was a chore for one of the women.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank langportUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews