We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fingals Boutique B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dittisham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed two nights in Fingals with friends - their first visit though we've stayed several times before. Our friends had the stunning Stream Room, an oak barn construction overlooking the stream. We had the spacious Room 1 for the first night and rather cramped Room 3 on the second. Fingals is a great place to unwind - you are made to feel like a house guest. Comfy sofas, an honesty bar, dogs and cats, roaring log fires. I recommend having dinner at the communal table - we joined two other couples who were together plus a third couple and were soon [after a glass of good wine] getting on like a house on fire. The food is good, as is the service. There's plenty to help you chill - an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, billiards, tennis net on the lawn, billiards, a tv/cinema room, library and art gallery next door. It's not cheap, but well worth the value. The owners, Richard and Sheila, are very laid back - my wife and I always joke whether they will remember us on our next visit [guess the answer!]. Fingals is seemingly in hte middle of nowhere - stunning Dittsham is a lovely 20 minute walk away.

Room Tip: The Stream Room and Folly are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    26
    17
    20
    14
See reviews for
74
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Enchanting place , in the core of Devon , very beautifull country side ; seems you are in the middle of nowhere - it's advisable to have a GPS to reach the place . Excellent food , beautifull garden ,
and nice welcome ! good place to explore the area and make nice walks .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre-Davide-Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed en famille at Fingals for a week in July to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday and loved every moment of it! In all we were 8 adults and 6 children and everybody had a good time. The only thing that let us down was the weather but Fingals provided so much to do for children and adults that you could never be bored! The children swam every day in the covered pool with it's quirky murals to look at whilst swimming. There was a little gym with machines for the keep fit addicts plus a sauna for sweating out all the wine you had drunk the night before! A grass tennis court saw some use in between the showers and the outside ping-pong table was also very popular. Inside in the sitting area all the board games were provided with chess and backgammon being played by old and young every evening before and after dinner.

The breakfasts and dinners were delicious. As we were such a large group we had a dining room to ourselves (there were two) so it was like eating in your own country house. The choice was small but we enjoyed every meal we had at Fingals (5 dinners and every breakfast) and especially the freshness of the vegetables and fish. Breakfasts were wonderful - a choice of local juices (apple and apple and pear), fruit compotes and yoghurts, good cereals plus childrens favourites. Cooked breakfasts were of the very best local sausages, eggs etc. and cooked any way you wanted - superb!

The rooms were very comfortable with top quality bedding and everything you wanted within. Bathrooms had good size baths (we were in the eco suite and had a bath in our room overlooking the river!) Products (all eco) were provided for bath/shower and body lotion - lovely!

Lastly but most important were the staff. They were all young and friendly and looked after everybody extremely well. We especially enjoyed Hannah from California's homemade brownies which appeared with tea or with coffee after dinner. Richard and Sheila, the owners of Fingals, have succeeded in creating a wonderful friendly atmosphere at Fingals which they have restored in such a comfortable and artistic manner. It's more like staying in a lovely relaxed country house than a typical hotel. Drinks at the bar are 'help yourself' if no one's around and sign a chit. You can stay up drinking and playing backgammon to the small hours should you wish with noone giving you dirty looks! Well done Richard and Sheila for such a quirky, comfortable and original hotel!

Room Tip: They are all comfortable, some in the main house, some like the eco suite on its own in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hello and thank you for such a super review! We loved having you all to stay - the children were delightful and we enjoyed your company very much. We will pass your compliments on to Hannah who is now back in California - no excuse not to return though as she left us the recipe! We do hope to see you back at Fingals one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband daughter and myself have just spent a lovely 6 days at fingles. Our room was lovely as was our little girls room. She was so excited to find books just for her and a teddy,on her bed, we intend to return v soon and just maybe as a couple to really relax. The pool v good for us and our child. Richard and Sheila v friendly. Thank youx

Room Tip: We had room one with no 2next door .lovely room great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
It was a pleasure having you all to stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Well done for deciding to come to our lovely side of the river and then happily travelling across to Torquay for the wedding. We look forward to seeing you again as soon as you can get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

There was some delight upon arrival - a great looking building, surrounded by delightful gardens. Checking in proved a wee bit of a challenge, the so called Reception also doubled up as a bar and if I'd had a cat, it wouldn't have been swung! There was no power - not anyone's fault - we were in deepest darkest Devon - and it added a bit to the adventure of a weekend away. I must applaud the South African chap who greeted us - he was welcoming - and certainly made the best of the 'no power' situation and the dinner we ate that evening which was prepared under difficult circumstances was adequate.
Fingal's seems to trade on this 'imagine staying away at a friend's in the country', well, this is all well and good, but I don't usually pay £160 per night to stay with friends - whether they are in the country or the town.... So, when I want a drink, I imagine there might be someone there to pour it for me - not be instructed by the owner to help myself because she's entertaining private guests! Also, at a friends, I would overlook the dust and the unfinished decorating and the mismatched, inadequate bathroom (we were in a best room - the one with the four poster - the bed was comfy - but it needs a hoover underneath it once in a while!).
The tennis court was fabulous, but the pool and hot tub areas need a good clean and a deal of maintenance - so tired and not at all appealing.
The owners were aloof and not at all attentive - must be a bit of a bind having all these guests - or maybe they're just tired of it all.... Bit like the house.
The breakfasts were great - really good quality - and sitting outside on the terrace to eat them was a pleasure.
Just the best location we could have wished for (no mobile signal - YAY!), but just disappointed with the quality of the accommodation for the money. It could be fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hello and thank you for your lovely comments about the gardens and tennis court here at Fingals but what a shame that you arrived on the day we had that dreadful power cut. I’m sorry that you hadn’t thought to take a look at our website as that would have prepared you for the size of the bar, at which we trust you to help yourselves (most guests love the freedom of this) and also the décor of your bathroom (I’m afraid that we don’t do ‘matching’ here). Our prices reflect all that is on offer at Fingals – staying with friends you would probably have had to go out to hire a tennis court or pay to go to swimming baths. We love having guests but don’t want them ever to feel that they are ‘on parade’ or have us hovering around. Generally people prefer the un-fussy and relaxed style on offer here at Fingals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent last weekend at Fingals - it really is tucked away down sleepy Devon lanes so you feel you are really getting away from the hustle and bustle of life. Very friendly owners, Richard and Sheila, could not have made us feel more welcome, and the food was very good. Very comfortable rooms, an extremely relaxed hotel, but a good base to explore that part of the coast, especially the River Dart and the coast to Salcombe. A lot of fun had by the children on the tennis court and in the swimming pool, and a lovely break for the family. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We loved having your delightful family to stay and are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you all again for some more Fingals Fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a lovely location! Devon lanes are notorious to negotiate but it's worth the effort. We stayed in the Folly, with a delightful small stream running behind. Ideal for a couple trying to get away from it all. One word of caution though - more elderly, or shall we say less able, clients may find the access to the first floor sitting room, via outside steps, somewhat tricky. The owners and staff are friendly and unobtrusive. We ate so well at breakfast that there was no room for lunch! We recommend eating the evening meal which, like breakfast, uses really good quality ingredients and lots of lovely veg. A 'one-off' hotel ideal for exploring this beautiful part of Devon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Property: Fingals Boutique B&B
Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 30 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing