We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dittisham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing location”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our second stay at Downton Lodge and I dont think that you can beat this lovely house in such a peaceful and beautiful location. Our twin room had a little balcony overlooking the Devon countryside with a view down to the sea in the distance. The house is immaculate with nice touches, and hosts Karen and Ian most wecoming. We definitely recommend Downton Lodge and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjejbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
96
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent the first two days of our honeymoon at Downton Lodge en route to Cornwall and
discovered a delightful and tranquil place to relax. Our room was very comfortable with
a balcony and lovely views over beautiful countryside towards Dartmouth. Breakfast was
excellent and presented to a very high standard. Karen and Ian, our hosts provided many
thoughtful touches such as a fridge in the guest lounge, homemade cakes on our return
in the evening and plenty of interesting visitor information regarding Dartmouth and its
environs. Downton and Dartmouth merit a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p and c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Ian and Karen were welcoming in their beautifully restored house.Our double room with lovely
linen superb view from a balcony was very comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful with fresh
produce attractively presented. Ian and Karen are most helpfulwith their local information on
Dittisham and surrounding area. We shall hope to return to this friendly peaceful haven again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 286Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Downton Lodge is a beautiful house set in the quiet countryside, outside the village of Dittisham and only a short drive into Dartmouth. The house has been lovingly restored and our double room overlooking the garden and Devon countryside was immaculately furnished with period fittings.
The hosts Karen and Ian are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and went out of their way to ensure that we made the most of our time in Devon. The breakfasts were excellent and served fresh in a comfortable dining room.
If excellent service, quality furnishings, countryside, peace and quiet are your thing then Downton Lodge definitely fits the bill. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandKCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in a comfortable double room with a balcony and lovely views. Karen & Ian made us very welcome and seemed to genuinely care that we had everything we needed. Very clean, very quiet, lovely food and not far from Dartmouth - ideal. The guest lounge with fridge, books etc was a bonus. We would recommend Downton Lodge & hope to return.

Room Tip: The balcony has chairs so you can enjoy the lovely views more easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Recently spent a great weekend with Dutch friends at Downton Lodge. Glorious quiet situation with views towards Dartmouth and comfortable rooms. Our very welcoming hosts, Ian and Karen, provided a top class breakfast from local produce and Karen's teatime cakes were to die for! They were also a very useful source of local information. We hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonMac, Owner at Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We appreciate your generous comments - it makes all the effort worthwhile to know that guests have really enjoyed themselves. We very much look forward to seeing you and your lovely Dutch friends again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Wonderful, tranquil location with splendid views over the Dart Valley. Warm welcome from Ian and Karen and a memorably huge breakfast. Rooms decorated with great attention to detail. We have never slept so well! We have been back a number of times and always love it. The view of the river from the Ferry Boat Inn in Dittisham is heavenly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berkshire50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonMac, Owner at Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you Berkshire50 for your generous comments - we really appreciate it. Many guests have commented on the comfortable beds - which have decent quality pocket-sprung mattresses. Glad you enjoyed the views - we never tire of being able to look out across the rolling countryside to the sea and the mouth of the river Dart. Come to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
1.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast

Property: Downton Lodge Country Bed and Breakfast
Address: Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful base from which to explore the beautiful South Hams. Set in a secluded position down a peaceful farm lane, convenient for the charming village of Dittisham, the river Dart and Greenway. Historic Dartmouth with its fine range of shops, restaurants and cafes is just ten minutes drive. Great walking. Ample safe parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downton Lodge Country Bed And Breakfast Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing