We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This a bit of heaven fallen to earth”
Review of Ferry Boat Inn

Ferry Boat Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Dittisham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This a bit of heaven fallen to earth”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having visited Greenway, we could not resist summoning the ferryman to take us over to Dittisham. This is a really nice experience and the young guy who took us over was very helpful. Arrived desperate for lunch and, boy, did we get lunch. Lovely food served by very smiley barmaid. Fabulous views over the river. Doom Bar and Stowfords on offer together with offerings from Otter etc. There are earrings for sale as well as some lovely cards to remind you of your trip. Whilst there the phone did not stop ringing with people desperate to book a table. My tip is to book early. I am not the only fan!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minuit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    108
    38
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor service!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great shame about the lousy service (or should I say, lousy attitude) as this pub we've frequented over 25+ years sits in a stunning location. Visiting on a weekday evening, outside of school holidays, we were told, bluntly, that they were too busy to serve food. By contrast, we received excellent food, and service, at the Sportsmans Arms just up the road between Dartmouth and Totnes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishNomad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun and food”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Traditional small pub at the waters edge offering wonderful views across the river to Green way house. We took a chance and did not book a table and ended up sharing with another couple and joining in with the locals as it was quiz night. We had a great time and the food and local ale was superb.

Make sure you book!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanjstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent food, service & value. Good choice of real ales. Picturesque setting on the River Dart. We got there by boat from Dartmouth Quay & returned the same way.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietrojovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FBI”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fantastic local pub full of intersting locals, and visitors a wonderful range of characters .Do go on Thursday evening when they hold there quiz night, typically qwerky and great fun, but you'll need to book a table .We stayed the week at a local cottage and had several good meals, FBI antipasti , recommend as a starter with Haddock and chips for the main course, Banoffee pie for desert (if there's any left !)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferry Boat Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ferry Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing