We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place to Chill Out”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise from the terrace towards Exmouth Sunrise from the terrace towards Exmouth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Sunrise from the terrace towards Exmouth
Sunrise from the terrace towards Exmouth
View from the dining area towards Torbay
View from the terrace towards Lyme Bay
View towards dining area and terrace from kitchen
TV, Blue Ray, YouView and sound bar
View from hallway through living room
Additional seating and original artwork
View back to kitchen breakfast area
Double bedroom overlooking the sea
Double bedroom overlooking the sea
Bathroom vanity unit
Shower bath
The terrace and entrance to the houses 10m down from the road above
The sea wall below the cottage
View from Coryton cove back towards the cottage and town
View from the top of Langstone Cliff back towards the cottage and town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dawlish, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lawtom
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to Chill Out”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed June 2015 with wife and two sons.
The lugging of cases worth the effort
A well equipped comfortable home.
Short walk to town centre. .
Enjoyed the stay.
A nice airy modern home.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: stair carpet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
192andyh
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A welcomed, relaxing return to Coastguard Cottage and we had another great stay.

Everything you could want is provided and the cottage is finished to a very high standard. A few nice additions since our last stay, a guest book, telescope and a very good set of binoculars.

Dawlish itself was only just waking after its winter slumber, but we didn't need to stray to far from the cottage but for stocking up on food supplies.

The sea wall path to Dawlish Warren is still not fully open yet, but the safety lighting in place for the Network Rail workers allowed us to watch the waves crashing against the sea wall well after darkness had fallen.

The wood burning stove was a great partner for catching up on all those films we had never had time to watch before. We managed all three Godfather films we brought along in 24hrs.

If your planning to leave your car untouched for the week as we did, don't park it under the tree on Elm Grove road ! One Sainsbury's car wash, ice scraper and home pressure wash later and the sea gull residue has now almost been removed !

We were hoping for stormy weather, but alas the British weather let us down. But that's just another reason to plan another return to Coastguard Cottage.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and furnishing quality
Liked least: Leaving, carrying luggage back up those steps
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynis195...
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from coastguards cottage in Dawlish, what a fab place. The whole house was very clean and looked like new. All the furnishings etc were lovely and modern with a railway and seaside theme as the local line runs right past the house next to the sea! Just about everything is provided to ensure a comfortable stay. We were met by a nice man with the key who quickly showed us around and told us how to work things. There is a nice log fire in the living area which is great for the chilly evenings, and the dining table looks out over the bay so a fabulous view to be had over breakfast etc. There is nothing I can fault about this holiday home and we all agreed we would definitely stay again and recommend it to all our friends.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemonysni...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best views, peaceful and a lovely airy cottage.”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner partner stayed at coast guards cottage in October 2014. The cottages are signposted off the road and parking wasn't an issue in a street opposite the house. Access to the cottage involves steps and then along a passageway with a row of other coast guard cottages and number 9 is at the end which was rather nice as it felt quite private. Richard met us there and was very welcoming, he was on hand if we needed him. Inside downstairs is beautiful, very well decorated, very comfortable, ample seating and a large dining table, a good quality kitchen with a cottage feel. Upstairs 3 bedrooms each with a double bed and plenty of storage with a nice bathroom with a shower over bath set up. The terrace was where we spent most of our time though well into the darkness of the night, it offers everything from sea views, birds, boats, ships to trains! We were not disappointed at all with this find and would recommend this cottage. A visitors book might be a nice idea with somewhere for people to give others ideas for evening meals, drinks and day trips. Thank you Peter, gorgeous place. We hope to be back soon.

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kersh_10
Halifax
1 review
“Just perfect !!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was booked for my husbands 50th and boy it did not disappoint .
We had Family join us from jersey who were also blown away with this house .
I am currently sat on the patio watching my husband fish off the jetty with a wine in hand not wanting to leave this amazing house.
There is nothing I can say that is negative about this property except even the owners amazing pictures will not prepare you for how truly magnificent this place is, perfectly located , decor fabulous , there is not one thing missing from this house that you could say it would have been nice to have because it's all here.
The Views are spectacular and to die for , I don't believe you could find better anywhere.
The owner Peter has been more than accommodating and should be proud of the first class service and rental he offers .
We have visited many places around the world and have been coming to Dawlish on and off for many years and this cottage has to be one of the best places we have ever stayed in .
The cottage is perfectly located to get anywhere and we have visited Brixham , Exeter, Teighnmough, Exmouth, Paignton , and Torquay all by public transport . Torquay harbour is a must for a visit at night for a lovely meal and beautiful scenery .
The weather has been fabulous and the only down side to this is that we have been unable to enjoy the log burner with the sound of the sea and wind blowing .
I'm sure we will visit again and this cottage will be the only place we would want to stay x

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thanks Donna. I am so glad you enjoyed it. Richard, Jo and I try very hard to make it a special experience for the holiday maker, and I am glad you think we have managed to do that. It would be good to welcome you back again one day. P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul M
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed two weeks in coastguard cottages number 9. It is a great cottage, which has everyting we needed. The view is beautiful and the weather was good. So we could sit on the terras sometime. There was one thing we didn't like to much: parking the car on the street and walking a couple of minutes to the cottage. But when we arrived at the cottage we enjoyed the noises of the sea and sometimes a train passing by.
Devon is great to visit and there is a lot to do. We enjoyed our vacation in Dawlish!!!

Manten family of the Netherlands

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2014
Hi Paul. Many thanks for your kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed your break. With regards the parking we always give plenty of warning before people book the cottage, but we feel that the main attraction of the house is the fact it is down from the road and the only real sounds are the waves rather than traffic!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
192andyh
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquillity, Panoramic Sea Views, and Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We left booking a family holiday late but stumbled on this gem through Trip Advisor. I believe it has only be recently refurbished to amazing high standards and probably why we we lucky to get it for a week in high season.

The cottage is on the end of a terrace of nine and only accessible by foot down a steep path, steps and private alley way. But that is more than compensated by the views and tranquillity once you arrive.

The cottage has 3 cosy bedrooms, each with a double bed, two of which have sea views. the open plan lounge is fitted out to a high standard, with a large corner sofa, glass dining table, wood burning stove and two arm chairs to sit and view the sea.

The walls are adorned with artwork, a mixture of railway and maritime mania . There is a large flat screen TV, with Talk Talk digital service and sound bar. We didn't use the TV but plugged in our Ipods to the sound bar for ambient music to accompany the music of the sea. WIFI is available throughout the cottage, but mobile phone signal can be patchy. Mine worked on the patio but my wife's worked throughout the house. But in my case, the isolation was perfect for being away from work and to enjoy some family time. There are also a selection of books and games.

The kitchen is well fitted out, double oven, gas hob, microwave,dishwasher and two fridges, one with a freezer compartment. Maybe the second fridge would be better as a separate freezer, but that's a very minor quibble. We tried to think of something that was missing and all we could come up with was a salad spinner, everything else you could possibly want was provided.

The bathroom had a full size bath shower, with the latter having a nice 38C constant temperature setting. All other amenities you would expect were provided, iron, hoover, hair-dryer etc, even a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival.

The whole back wall of the lounge comprises of a single sliding glass door, allowing you to open the lounge completely to the patio to make one very large space. Two sun loungers are provided, along with a wooden pub style bench table with parasol.

Below the patio wall runs the railway line, directly next to the sea wall. The views from the patio are outstanding. I took my telescope along for some evening star gazing, but this also doubled up to scan the sea during daylight hours.

To get to the beach takes 2 minutes across the footbridge at the end of the alley way. They are still repairing the sea wall path towards Dawlish Warren and it is currently closed to the public. But it's a 5 minute walk in the other direction to Dawlish, either along the beach of sea wall.

We were lucky with the British summer weather, and every morning we woke to clear blue skies across the sea. We actually wished for a stormy day so we could watch and listen to the crashing waves from the comfort of the cottage. We were told when we were leaving that there have been times where storm waves have actually crashed over the top of the house !

With my eldest son's passion for railways, and my youngest two for the beach, sandcastles and swimming the location was ideal. Late each night my wife and I would go for a stroll down the sea wall, not meeting a sole, and just sit and listen to the sea and watch the stars.

Overall this is an excellent cottage for a traditional family seaside holiday with a bit of luxury. It's probably not recommended for very small children or the infirm due to its access. The owner if very friendly and contacted us when we arrived to make sure everything was okay.

My wife I and I plan to return for a winter weekend and hopefully catch some stormy seas.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and easy access to beach
Liked least: Carrying our bags back to the car !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2014
Thanks for your detailed review Andy. It will be good to welcome you back to enjoy the stormy winter waves! Just to let you know there is a salad spinner in the corner carousel! With regards to the mobile phone signal, we provide a landline phone in the house for visitors to use in a reasonable fashion, and the number is provided in the House Book - so please use it when you are next there. It will be good to have you back soon. I'm glad you rate it so highly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing