We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended.”

Welcome Inn Dawlish
Ranked #48 of 56 Restaurants in Dawlish
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
South wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not recommended.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

As we are in Dawlis Warren for a couple of days we were looking for somewhere local for and evening meal.

We saw the sign for the carvery for £6.99 per person and thought we'd give it a try, well I can honestly say it was the singularly worst carvery that I ever had the misfortune to eat the meat
( only had the choice of beef or turkey) was stone cold and the veg ranged from cold to luke warm even the roast potatoes were cold and inedible there was hardly any gravy to be had and there weren't even any yorkshire puddings available.

The Pub itself was almost empty with only 2 other holidaying couples and three local drinkers not good for a pub of this size during the early evening on what is a fairly busy seaside location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shergarlucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    8
    18
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

booked sunday carvery for 30 people. 3 weeks before going, booked it for 2.30pm so it wouldn't be as busy, got there told we could eat until 3pm as veg wasn't ready, then was told they would plate the food up instead of a carvery by the time every thing came out the meat was cold and no gravy on the tables, was told they were short staffed, wont be going back, if you are ever in dawlish warren go to the mount pleasant inn or the boathouse not the unwelcome

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very UNWELCOME Inn!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Absolutely awful service!. The staff are not particularly concerned whether they served you or not. We used this place twice in September 2013, (only went second time thinking that perhaps the first time, they just had an "off day"......how wrong!).
Not clear who was in charge here, but the plumpish bar man with ginger/red hair played on his mobile most of the time or just looked as if he was fed up with everything/everyone around him. I can now see why this establishment was empty most of the time. I understand that this place is up for sale, so maybe staff morale is low, but hey! people come here when they are on holiday, want a meal or a drink or just need a friendly atmosphere to while away some time.
For goodness sake, at least the staff could TRY and live up to their WELCOME Inn name and add to the already good ambience of Dawlish Warren. You are a HUGE disappointment to Dawlish Warren guys!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xanadoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value pub”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We popped in for the sunday carvery which was brilliant and good value.Proper food not micro waved packets

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welcome Inn Dawlish also viewed

 
Dawlish, Devon
 

Been to Welcome Inn Dawlish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing