We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly service!”
Review of The Dabbling Duck - CLOSED

The Dabbling Duck
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We eat at this resaurant on a regular basis and enjoy the tapas menu. The restaurant provides great value food which has always been served promptly and hot. An asset to Dawlish. We look forward to dining there on many future occassions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicksouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

The place was buzzing, great atmosphere, excellent service.
Good selection of food freshley cooked and full of flavour.
Friendly hosts and very reasonably priced menu, best place in town on a Friday or Saturday Night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Met a group of friends there for a child's 1st birthday party and it was very pleasant. The staff are very friendly and they were very accommodating and accepting of children. Nice place for a coffee.

1  Thank Therese J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Tapas was the worst I've ever encounterd, no effort put into the preparation, very simple selection. Only two other Couples dining and we had to wait, what for?

No atmosphere
No imagination
No deserts ?
No tip

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chop-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klsdabbling, Owner at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Im so sorry that you had a bad experience with us at the dabbling duck. As much as is physically possible the food is home made. I am also sorry we had no desserts that night we are a new business and still trying to get stock levels correct. I am new to running a kitchen and appreciate any feedback that comes through i wish you could of said something on the night. I hope this hasnt put you off and you can give us another try. KInd regards Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

During the day, Dawlish is a typical Devonshire seaside town..full of musty old folk eating ice cream and over priced scones but at night on a weekend...Nothing.
So now they have The Dabbling Duck, a modern, fantastic tapas restaurant that transforms this warm up to a morgue, into a cosmo and well needed hub for the younger, and younger at heart.

Service is warm, friendly, knowledgeable on wines and ensures your experience here is as relaxed as the ambience.

The food is well priced, nicely presented and exquisitely cooked to such a point that once you're done..you really don't want to leave for a while.

Well done this place, you make a return visit to "The village" worthwhile!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yorkypuddn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dabbling Duck also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing