We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campsite !”
Review of Leadstone Camping

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leadstone Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham uk
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely campsite !”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights . Nice clean toilets and showers . Room for the kids to run around ( although it was out of school hol time ) . Small feel as different fields. Beach 10 min walk but not the nicest , couple of coves on rd to Torquay much better that the people in the farm shop next door told us about . Shaldon def worth a visit .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank claireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadstoneCamping, Manager at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Even when we are busy there is plenty of room for children to play games, etc. Most evenings there is a game of cricket or similar going on somewhere on site. We have the free Devon Map/guide in Reception which shows all the beaches (inc dog friendly ones) and tide times. Just mentioning the Farm Shop next door has got me hankering for one of their steak and ale pies!

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

stayed 2 nights had leaking tent owner very happy to help. good clean toilets and showers and nice new shop and reception. a basic site but highly recommended. it also has a cheap laundry room and kids good play area

Room Tip: good location and close to shops and beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadstoneCamping, Manager at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. That was bad luck with the leak, but pleased we could help with a waterproof sheet (left by another camper!). Hope you have better luck on future camping trips. Hope to see you at Leadstone again.
Kind regards
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We visited the site in May and arrived late afternoon, the campsite was tidy and well organised. The shop contained a few essential items other than that mot much on offer. There was a portacabin that was labeled store but wasn't open during our stay.

The shower we used in the female block didn't give more than a trickle of water down the tiles and all the showers were coin operated at 20p.

The beach was very difficult to walk to with a young family up a steep hill and through a building site the alternative was across a railway line.

Other than a few moans nice site and well set out with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadstoneCamping, Owner at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for your comments.
As a traditional campsite which opens for the summer months we only stock the basics - milk, bread, eggs, etc. There is an excellent farm shop within 50 metres and other shops in the village. The unit labelled "Store" is a "shed" rather than a shop - apologies for any misunderstanding. I have checked the shower you mention and could find no fault, the water flow is adjusted using the control on the front panel.

We are the closest camping site to the Blue Flag Beach (16th consecutive year) at Dawlish Warren - just 10 minutes walk from our gate to the sea front. No one seems to notice the slope going down to the beach! Stopping at the Mount Pleasant Inn for a drink, on returning is an option some campers take.

The "Orange Army" have been busy re-building the sea wall and railway line following the winter storms here. The TV pictures of the storms were amazing! They have been based in part of the Car Park at Dawlish Warren and hopefully their work here will soon be complete and the car park returned to normal.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Happy Camping
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We found this site by driving around and it was a last minute booking but happy we found it. The staff were so nice and friendly and the camp site very well maintained and clean. Pitch sizes were good and washing/shower facilities were also clean and modern. Only complaint was that there was a queue to get a shower as I felt there were not enough of them and for a 22 pounds a night stay for 2 people the showers should have been included and not charged as an extra. BUT if you want clean well laid out and modern camping you cant go far wrong using this site.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyandianlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadstoneCamping, Manager at Leadstone Camping, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do our best to be as welcoming and friendly as possible! We do get the occasional queue when busy but the “20p for a shower” (lasts 5 minutes) system helps manage that and keeps queues as short as practicable. Sarah and I hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here with 2 other families for a few days in the last week of August. Good family campsite with a very good shower block and play area for the children. Showers take 20 pences but i found one was normally enough. We booked 4 nights and paid for 3 on a special offer so found the price very reasonable.

Within walking distance to pubs and Dawlish Warren (although the walk back is uphill but my children managed it) Had some good evenings sitting outside at the Boathouse pub in Dawlish Warren. Nice farm shop also next door.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonDennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been coming to this site for 16 years and have watched it grow into the fabulous site it is today. Their new shower/laundry block is brilliant and is kept clean. Pitches are a good size. Staff are very friendly and even recommend places to visit and things to do. We love the fact that it is a quiet site. We were there this year middle August. My kids now 14 16 18 & 22 really enjoy this site and know the area inside out. This site is classed as our 2nd home and we love it. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights end of August 2013 with my partner in a tent. On arrival we were taken to our pitch (46A) very spacious and flat pitch right next to the facilities block (Toilets,Shower,Wash up area,Launderette,Skip and Drinking water tap) This pitch was great as we were next to everything but it has a slight down fall due to constant noise day and night, Cleaners clean at midnight onwards so would not reccommend this pitch if you have small children but it suited me and my partner.The nearest family pub/restaurant is located within a 5 minute walk which serves great food but is very busy so best to book a table.Aprox 10 t0 15 minute walk and your at Dawlish sea front, Slight hill so walking back takes slightly longer. Overall a great campsite located in a great place, Torquay, Paignton, Brixham all within a 20 - 30 minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
697 reviews
2.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Exmouth Country Lodge & Prattshayes Campsite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leadstone Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leadstone Camping

Property: Leadstone Camping
Address: Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leadstone Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leadstone Camping which is just a 10 minute walk to a "Blue Flag" beach, is a traditional, uncommercialised camping site in South Devon, and one where the owners have built a reputation for their friendly, personal approach and are always ready to help should you have any questions or problems.Just over Seven acres of rolling grassland in a natural secluded bowl.Plenty of level pitches for tents, motor homes and caravans, many with electric hook-up. Parking next to unit at all times.Pre-booking system to insure the best pitch.BRAND NEW toilet and shower block for 2012 with free hot water to basins.Privacy rooms with shower, toilet and wash basin in both Ladies and GentsAccessible room with shower, toilet and was basinHairdrierBaby changing unitLaunderette with commercial washing machines & driers and Irons/Ironing boards.Clothes hand wash basin.Washing-up facilities. Free hot waterChemical toilet disposal point.Water points in fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Leadstone Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leadstone Camping Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing