We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dawlish Tearoom”
Review of Ten Green Bottles

Ten Green Bottles
Ranked #23 of 59 Restaurants in Dawlish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The shop also has a vintage tearoom seating twelve people for afternoon tea (with or without champagne!), lunches and Devon cream teas (with porcelain cups - making a real ceremony out of drinking tea - Victoria Wood Would be proud). Also available as a private evening venue offering an innovative menu - ideal for celebrating birthdays, group meals and special gatherings.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visited Dawlish on our way home from Torquay and found a quaint tearoom in the High Street. Never seen one like this before as it was part gift shop. I must say the cream tea was second to none and would recommend it to anyone visiting Dawlish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 923David_G44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are trying hard to get people to try our lovely tearoom. I think it confuses people having a gift shop and tearoom all in one shop. So glad you feel it works. We have had lovely feedback from the customers who have tried us. Thanks so much for your review. It really helps so much. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Made a special visit to this café last bank holiday Monday,only to find it closed!!Was very disappointed as I had read all the great reviews on here.Ended up going to The Old Mill tearoom.Had a great latte,toast and cream tea.
Can't believe it was closed,as there was so much going on in Dawlish on that day,must have lost a lot of potential business!!

1  Thank Seasearcher18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi. I am so so sorry you were disappointed on Bank Holiday Monday. We always close on a Sunday and Monday so we do not, unfortunately have staff available to open on the bank holiday. We were open on the Sunday of that weekend, as Dawlish was having a special weekend but we were unable to staff the Monday. We do wish you (and all other tripadvisor users) would book as we only have four tables and are often full. I have emailed you direct also to see what we might be able to do to make things up to you. I am sad you rated us as average without visiting us. That is a shame because we are certainly not average. We hope you will book to come and see us again so we can show you how good we can be. Many apologies for your wasted journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have just had a lovely lunch at Ten Green Bottles, it is not open in the evenings, so the above information is incorrect, but what a lovely place to eat during the day. The staff are very friendly and it has a lovely homely atmosphere. We both had a cheese and chutney jacket potato and it came with plenty of lovely salad. The sandwiches also looked gorgeous from what we saw of other peoples. There was also plenty of hot water to add to your strong cup of tea. We live in Dawlish and will happily use this tearoom, which is also a lovely gift shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hi. Thanks for your lovely review. It was really useful that you pointed out our info on Tripadvisor needs to be amended. I am a bit of a technical fool but I am going to have a go at trying to change it right now. Fingers crossed! Thanks for taking the time to review your lunch and particularly, in this case, it may actually help me to get the right marketing message across. We are indeed no longer open in the evenings for food in Ten Green Bottles (except private parties). The same lovely chefs now cook at Jack Sprat's in the evenings so please do try our sister restaurant next door too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

just like to say what a absolutley gorgeous evening we had on News Eve, they really did them self proud. the 7 courses of food was so tasty and well presented , champange flowing to. the projection of the black and white movies on the wall made it all so special to. we go there regually, as we live in Dawlish, so pleased we have them here now for a truely lovely evening any time of the year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HplusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review of New Year's Eve at Jack Sprat's. We did try and make it special but any event is only as good as the fabulous guests that attend. Everyone was such good fun and really took part in everything. So glad you enjoyed the food too! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. You have cheered us all up with your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Birthday meal with relatives from reading food so good and welcome amazing they have wanted to go back since for a birthday meal. 200 miles worth travelling for.

1  Thank sanna_bate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helgakbeer B, Owner at Ten Green Bottles, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thanks so much for taking time to review our restaurant. We are so glad you had a great time. We are now trading from our sister restaurant, Jack Sprat's for the winter, and Ten Green Bottles if selling fabulous vintage and quirky gifts. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for giving us your great feedback, It really helps. Sorry also it has taken us so long to reply to your review. I had posted a reply but it didn't appear. See you soon at Jack Sprat's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Green Bottles also viewed

 

Been to Ten Green Bottles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing