We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Great hotel for kids. Lovely location. Great sea view. Helpful staff. Our 6 year old loved the facilities e.g. pool and tennis court. Delicious breakfast. Decor could probably do with some updating but overall would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank MCMcGreevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 727 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Langstone. The food was amazing and the evening entertainment was a real hit with our children. We even managed to get an hour of peace thanks to the baby listening service which was excellent! We would definately recommend and would love to come again soon. Thank you.

Only downside was the room was quite hot and a bit noisy but that was down to where our room was situated.

Room Tip: If you have 3 young children then would recommend a family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed for five nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the main restaurant as we prefer not to have 3 course meals. There are lots of different rooms with comfortable seating to eat, drink or just sit undisturbed and we had several meals here from the extensive menu - all of them very good. The breakfasts too were very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beepastit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

First glance on arrival our impression was wow, as the view is beautiful. With closer inspection you literally begin to see the cracks. The property is old with dated bedrooms. The accommodation requires a complete make over. Other than that, the food was delicious and plentiful. The staff we marvellous. We had a great stay and we are sure you will too, providing you put aside the bedrooms.
By the way if you are not dog friendly this hotel is not for you!!

Room Tip: Definitely book one with a balcony to get that extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed the food ,service and the hotel generally but are obviously disappointed that the rooms are not to your taste. We have many different types of rooms decorated in several different styles. As you noted the parts of the building are approaching 300 years old, but we do have a continuous program of upgrades and improvements, many following from customer suggestions.

This year for instance five bedrooms were completely redecorated, another 10 have been treated to new curtains and bedspreads, soft furniture has been renewed and replaced in many locations and another seven bedrooms are due to be re-carpeted in the coming weeks.

This year an additional five bedrooms were air conditioned and a further two had their air conditioning replaced. The hotel now has 21 air conditioned rooms. Only a few hotels in this area have any air conditioned bedrooms. The Lincoln bar lounge’s air conditioning was also renewed in July as was the hair dressing salon. We plan to add air conditioning to several more rooms as time and finances allow.
We also replaced all of the Balcony room’s exterior furniture as well as all of the hotel’s Verandah seating. Several additional garden tables and parasols were also added.
We continue to adapt and improve the hotel as time and budgets permit. We do hope to welcome you again and perhaps another of our bedrooms may be more to your taste.
Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Everything about this hotel we loved, the location is great, staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Our only complaint is we had a terrible nights sleep, there was terrible noise from what sounded like high water pressure in the pipes and approximately every 30 - 45 minute intervals the pressure being released. We did mention it the following morning, the receptionist said that had we complained during the night they would have moved us. This however has put us off re booking for a family event in 2015. Other than this one thing the hotel is lovely and the restaurant, was good quality food and value for money. Sorry Langstone, sleep is important to us.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBristolTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Hello,
And thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased that that you liked the hotel, staff facilities, food and location but also disappointed that you did not get a good night’s sleep. We can at this stage only apologise for this shortcoming. We cannot think what would cause the noise you are describing and not something we have been notified of before, we will of course investigate this and correct the problem.
Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed one night for the airshow. Booked a single room, but ended up in a large room with double bed, private balcony and sea view. Great location very close to Dawlish Warren station. Breakfast was excellent. Fried eggs actually cooked fresh at the buffet bar. Gardens lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful. Service excellent. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilac_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Family-friendly welcoming large hotel in great location. Superb verandah and large lawned garden with pool overlooking the bay. Clean, well-kept, decor frequently updated.

I was first taken here as a child by my Dad in the 70s and have been visiting from time to time ever since! So many places claim to be 'family hotels' but this one really walks the walk, I remember when my son was little (he's 15 now) sitting him up at the bar in the evening whilst the barman warmed his milk. No-one batted an eyelid.

I've downgraded to very good rather than excellent as i feel the restaurant food could be better. Nothing particularly wrong with it as such, but I've had much better elsewhere for same money. It would be nice to see something fresher in the fruit line than tinned grapefruit and prunes at breakfast buffet for example. Oh, they used to have this amazing sweet trolley that did the rounds at dinner, but this has recently dumbed-down to a fairly standard list of treacle tart, profiteroles, ice cream etc, think Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with seaview lovely. Remember you can take your own wine/food for drinking/eating on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,164 reviews
17.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range: $91 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing