We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Real Family Hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to The Langstone Cliff hotel for a weekend of Folk Dance. I was very pleasantly surprised by the place. The staff were all very helpful and it really seemed that nothing was too much trouble. We didn't have children with us but as a grandparent I noted that it would have been excellent for them with many special facilities. The indoor swimming pool was good with special easy access steps and a children's pool. As it was October I didn't check the outdoor pool.
Food was lovely, lots of choice and all well cooked and presented. We prefer blankets to duvets and that option was offered. Free WiFi was offered but didn't work in our room, certainly it was excellent in the many lounge areas or on the veranda.
As I twisted my knee and couldn't dance I enjoyed sitting out on the sunny veranda with the fabulous view. I also tried the Spa. I had the most delicious Indian Head massage and facial for a very reasonable price.
For the dancers the ballroom was excellent and had it's own lounge attached for our use. The lift was a godsend for me and I was even able to borrow a wheelchair to explore the area.
I wish it was nearer to my family so that we could all go there regularly!

Room Tip: Ours did not overlook the sea but was nicer than some that did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    186
    57
    17
    15
See reviews for
266
192
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Living locally my partner and I decided on Sunday lunch here a couple of weeks ago. I felt I needed to comment as I am proud to have such a lovely hotel nearby. The hotel and restaurant was very busy but the staff were absolutely wonderful, very helpful and nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent and good value for money. The whole hotel itself is of a very high standard, it has been family run by the same family for many years and it shows. I think that anyone wanting a great holiday in a lovely hotel a stones throw from the sea, yet tucked away in a peaceful location could do no better than stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Brilliant family hotel with all the creature comforts and the friendliest staff we have met as a family for years. Took my 87-year-old auntie for her first holiday since a our uncle passed away, her first real break in nearly ten years.
Nothing was too much trouble for this hotel. Meals excellent. The only thing they could not control was the weather!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I would describe this hotel as classy but relaxed - a wonderful combination! The owners, who are frequently to be seen amongst the guests, give the establishment a personal feel with many homely touches. The public rooms are attractively decorated, comfortable and quiet; what little piped music played is localized and quiet. If you have books to read or friends to meet then this hotel is ideal: there is a full and reasonably priced food and drinks menu available right through the day and evening and the staff are always welcoming and friendly. That said there are also beautiful gardens, beaches and good walking to be had. I can’t speak for all the bedrooms but ours was well furnished with exceptionally good mattresses. Any negative points? With a jewel like this I would make sure the brass plates and handles on the front doors are kept shining – always!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This year...2013 is our 9th year staying at this fantastic hotel...we go for our annual dance weekend breaks in the spacious Washington Ballroom...with it's large dance floor...fantastic lighting displays and sound systems. If you are thinking of booking a venue for a dancing week/weekend in Devon...then you need to look no further. The staff are always courteous, and friendly I cannot fault the hotel in anyway shape or form... the rooms are clean and spacious, the food excellent..and the hotel facilities are second to none. The service is 100%...highly recommended! This year we had room #56... enormous room with both bath & shower..plus a 40" TV and a sofa to sit on to watch it! Absolute luxury! I do love this hotel...can't you guess?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A friendly, family run hotel in a lovely part of Devon. It is spacious, comfortable and clean. The food is excellent and efficiently served. The staff were courteous and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We found it a great place to relax and unwind. I am sure I will return for another stay before long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed three nights inc dinner each night.
We had no problems and will return again.
the hotel was clean, bright and warm. The room we had was the same. Changed each day, modern, bright and up to date.
Food was of a good standard though perhaps the breakfasts could do with a shake up.
Staff were friendly and helpful. An old fashioned hotel which has been modernised sympathetically.

Room Tip: any i saw were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing