We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Langstone Cliff - a very relaxing weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Langstone Cliff - a very relaxing weekend.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at the Langstone. This was a last minute trip for us and we really did chose a wonderful hotel. The location is excellent and we really could not fault the hotel. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The staff were marvellous and really did go that extra mile to make you feel welcome...especially the lovely Sandra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWright6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    183
    56
    16
    15
See reviews for
255
187
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay after finding it on line. It had a 3/4 star rating so I expected it to be a reasonable standard. On arrival the exterior looked a little tired & 1960's holiday camp, however the grounds & views were splendid. Inside everything seemed to be a mis-mash of styles and colours, very dated and confusing. The reception area was small & very cluttered, but staff were pleasant and helpful. My room was above the main entrance & approached by a narrow staircase, very 'faulty towers'. The room was like the rest of the hotel, confusing. The furniture was nice, bed comfortable and clean, but the carpets were red/blue patterned, with cream striped paper on 3 walls and deep pink/red floral paper on the feature wall. The chairs were upholstered in aqua/beige stripes & I can't even describe the curtains all very dizzy.The floorboards creaked & plumbing was noisy. I don't think I could have spent a week there. I didn't eat at the hotel, but I used the bar & the staff were all very courteous & friendly.
The hotel facilities would be great for a young family on a budget, although you could probably get a better holiday abroad for the same price.
I would rate 2/3 * & Hotel would benefit from a good make over!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review although we do find it a little upsetting.
We are disappointed that you did not like the hotel décor, obviously not to your taste, but we do have lots of compliments on the décor. We would have endeavoured to find an alternative room if we had known you did not like it as they do vary quite a lot. We must apologise that you were disturbed by the plumbing and floorboards.

The hotel was originally constructed as a private house back in the 1750's and it has been modified and extended countless times since then. In the last six months almost every bed in the hotel has been replaced, all of the hotel's bedding has been renewed, the Lincoln bar has been redecorated, the exterior of the building has been re-painted, and the indoor pool is in the process of being updated, not to mention the countless improvements and enhancements that go on behind the scenes. Our bedrooms are re-decorated on a rolling program and the room you occupied was only re-furbished last year. We constantly look to improve and add value in these difficult financial times.
The hotel is owned and personally managed by the Rogers family, and as you noted we have a very willing staff who are all very concerned that you have the best experience we can provide at the Langstone Cliff Hotel.
We offer a wide range of facilities for a wide range of clientele. At the time of your visit we were indeed catering for lots of families with young children but we also cater for solo business people travelling in the area, conferences, meetings, dance groups, bird watchers, couples, sports teams, weddings and many other events and try extremely hard to satisfy all of their varying requirements.
We look forward to welcoming you again to perhaps try one of the other 63 bedrooms of which there are many images on our website and Facebook pages. Equally we would understand that we may not be offering quite what you require.
Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was at this hotel with a group for an English Country Dance Weekend. The room we danced in had a gorgeous wooden floor, with great acoustics and a good piano. Our room was small, but perfectly adequate and we spent very few hours in it. The best features of the hotel are its location -- a stone's throw from a wonderful coastal trail with magnificent scenery, easy access to trains that go up and down the coast, and the food -- beautifully prepared meals with excellent soups, meats, salads, and scrumptious desserts. The pints of English beer (many local ones) were fine and topped off perfect days of dancing and hiking. There's wi fi access in the lounges, although a bit spotty in the rooms. The hotel accommodated our large (60) group with ease and filled requests for many extras. We did not have time to sample the spa or pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Situated in a lovely part of Devon, good walks, views and fresh air. The cleanliness of the hotel is excellent throughout. Service on the whole very good as was the food. A downside on this occasion was a large dance group staying (no problems with them) unfortunately other guests seemed to be second class guests during meals by a few of the waiters. But what a blessing to be served by the wonderful Sandra, nothing was too much trouble, enthusiastic, very bubbly and efficient, the hotel star.. We will always return

Room Tip: look for a quieter part of the hotel if large groups are staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougiembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our 15th year visiting the Langstone. As per usual everything as it should be. Friendly and helpful staff, great meals, relaxed atmosphere in this family run, family orientated hotel. Everything geared up to having a relaxing good time. Cabaret evening Sunday was one of the best yet. Moulin Rouge, funny, good dancers and singers. Comedy acts and magic. The whole evening was most enjoyable. The stay was helped by reasonably sunny weather, at least for the early part of the Bank Holiday. Would recommend you visit for a great relaxing family holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms offer good facilities. Some with balconies overlooking the sea. Some quiet, some more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights staff were very friendly and helpfull nothing was to much trouble room was very nice with balcony and sea view was stunning swimming pool indoor and outdoors very nice with mini gym food and drink very good would definitely stay again nick and Alison b thanks again to the staff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickrazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights in late April and had a very pleasant stay in this family oriented hotel. It was very clean with excellent falsities. It was obvious the the hotel enjoys considerable repeat bookings. The staff were excellent, well informed and efficient. Our room was of a good size with a clean and well equipped bathroom. We booked through a late booking service online and everything went smoothly. The age range of guests appeared to be very wide and well catered for.
This was a pleasant surprise - sometimes seaside hotels at this time of the year seem to be populated by the cast of Cocoon - we ourselves are no spring chickens.

A good experience and we may well return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartbasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
211 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
457 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing