We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I came to the Langstone Cliffs for a conference. This is a good hotel in a good location overlooking the sea. Facilities are good, the beds and pillows comfy and the owners obvioulsy keep up with the maintenance. Food is wholesome and traditional, it is of a good quality and very reasonably priced as are the drinks. You are quietly very well looked after, Sandra in the restuarant is wonderful she really cares about her customers and makes sure you have everything you need. All of the staff are attentative and there is an ease to the service they provide. I will visit again, thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    195
    59
    17
    15
See reviews for
286
208
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

stayed for 3 nights.
warming comfortable and really brilliant welcoming staff where nothing is too much trouble.
great selection for breakfast,
great selection of lounges and sitting rooms.
great sea views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian1096726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have been going to The Langstone Cliff hotel for 5 years now,& stay each time for 1 night only for a Dinner & Dance. The food is excellent, atmosphere great & very clean throughout. Always look forwrd to it each year, so keep up the good work !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a great find. This hotel has such a lovely family atmosphere. We were given a really spacious room wth balcony overlooking the gardens. The room was warm and cosy. The bed and pillows were divine. The bathroom was also roomy with a lovely HOT towel rail with fluffy towels and really nice toiletries. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was superb and a good variation from day to day.We didn,t use many of the facilities but I had a really superb facial with Sam in the therapy room and also a manicure and both very reasonably priced. ALL of the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. You can tell this is a family run hotel and what a good job they are doing. I, m just a bit curious as to why the AA only gives them 3 stars! This is one hotel that you MUST visit if you are in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groupie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had a two night last minute break. Would normally go to a Warners hotel, even though I am in my 40's. This hotel is every bit as good. Clean, good location, good food ( I am a chef ), and good local staff. Wonderful family atmosphere. Highly recommended to anyone that maybe unsure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mikyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Discovered the Langstone almost a year ago, and as well as spending many a memorable Sunday lunchtime there, we have spent many days there, particularly with the children we mind, and our grandchildren. The grandchildren love the Hotel, with it's pools, indoor and outdoor play area, and massive lounges. Our grandson has autism, and loves to find a quiet corner where he can simply be by himself, with the space he needs.
Last summer's weather was truly awful, but we did manage a couple of days here when the sun shone, and enjoyed the outdoor pool as well, and lunches on the lawns and terraces. On a more typical summer's day, we stayed in and enjoyed the Olympics on the big screen.
The staff are quite lovely at the Hotel, many having been there a long time, which surely speaks volumes, so helpful and courteous, with a friendly informality.
Christmas decorations were spectacular, including a grotto on the stage of the main dining room / ballroom.
The new and extended bar snacks will be well worth exploring, though I wish traditional chips were offered as an alternative to the non child friendly wedges/chunkies.
Whenever we offer the grandchildren a day out somewhere, and ask where they want to go, it's always the Langstone Cliff !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brixhamrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We took our 2 children (6 and 4 years old) and dog for an overnight stay during half term. The weather was very cold so we didn't spend much time outside. The children really enjoyed the indoor play area, swimming pool and children's entertainer. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGermanOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
238 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing