We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A family atmosphere”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been using this hotel every year for the past 15.
One of the best family run hotels we have ever used.
My daughter is disabled and the staff could not do enough for us. As we arrive each year it is like visiting our second home. Within minutes of arriving it is as if we have been there for weeks. The view from the hotel to the sea is great. The room we use is ideal for our situation big and airy, with a bathroom that really suits my daughter's needs, even though it is not specifically a disabled room. The dining is good, and the entertainment great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    191
    59
    17
    15
See reviews for
274
205
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed overnight several times for private functions in the hotel and have been visiting for over 25 years from when our children were small. Now we visit as a couple , There are very few hotel restaurants that can serve 130 people quickly and efficiently and give a choice for all three courses . At every other hotel or restaurant when attending a function large or small we have either had to choose in advance or there has been no choice. Several years ago when there was a major power cut in the area staff working by candle light managed to serve the food on time and it was hot. Food is of a good quality and the staff have never been anything other than helpful and polite. The choice at breakfast is amazing and staff are always willing to bring special orders to the table .You only have to ask.The smoked haddock with poached eggs is excellent.
We have always found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable .The balcony rooms overlooking the car park and pool are larger than those with a direct sea view,they are also away from the function rooms so may well be quieter . We have read several of the poor reviews and to be honest they do not sound like the Langstone Cliff Hotel that we know.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend of Sequence dancing at this hotel. A follow up visit to a similar break in February 2012. Our party and ordinary visitors meant over 100 persons to be catered for. The evening menus which I would describe as 'good english' had 4 starters, 4 mains plus 2 vegetarian and 6 desserts followed by coffee and chocolate mints.
The service for 90 people sitting down at the same time was polite quick and hot. The same can be said for the breakfast which everyone agreed could not be faulted.
We recognise that at weekends there are students who are able to boost the dining room service but they were all very well trained and polite.
Apart from dancing in an excellent ballroom members of our party were able to swim, play games, table tennis, outdoor tennis, snooker or walk down to the beach at the beginning of February!!

Room Tip: When booking check with the hotel where the lifts are if you need to use them. There are sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family and I regularly visit Langstone Cliff for coffee, so were looking forward to a lunch for my nephews birthday. What a disappointment this was.

When we received our food - apparently 'freshly cooked local produce' - there was an item missing, an item wrong, and what was there was overcooked, overpriced and cold. My nephews 'chicken fillet and chunky chips' were essentially two overfried chicken nuggets and a plate of cold overcooked frozen chips, my veggie chilli was a meat one, and a sandwich was missing. My sons fish fingers were rock hard and the chips greasy and cold. I accept that things get missed, but the attitude when we spoke to the front of house staff was shocking. My husband explained that an item had been missed, but was told 'well, it wasn't ordered' and had the receipt slapped in front of him to 'prove it'. When he asked if it could be added he was told 'well, we're busy now, so it'll be with you when its ready'. What fantastic customer service. We asked about the kids meal, and if we could have more chicken (seeing as it cost 5.25) and yes, we did receive more overfried nuggets but were charged a further 5.25 for them. All in all, 10.50 for a kids meal, and a big pile of attitude when we tried to resolve it. We didn't even bother to ask about my chilli or raise the point about the fact our food was cold. And to top it off, the kids went for a play outside and stood in a dog poo deposited on their patio.

Such a shame - this hotel is in a lovely location and has good facilities for the kids, which are all free if you eat there. However, they need to sort their chef (??) and their resolution process out. I emailed the hotel about this and have had no response. Complete rip off and absolutely will not be returning there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katybelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments, although we are extremely saddened and disappointed to read them .
First we must apologise for that your food did not meet your expectations and that you did not feel our service was adequate on the day.

We were not informed of any problems on the day in which case the food would have been replaced or exchanged if you were not happy, nor have we received any e-mails regarding this, as we would definitely have responded promptly and directly.

We “The Family” live on site at the hotel and are deeply upset to read this. You say you visit the hotel regularly for coffee in which case you will know that this is not to our usual standards. Mistakes happen and if we are informed we do our utmost to rectify them at the time.

We are investigating this event fully and will respond directly in more detail shortly.

Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We will look forward to staying again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone especially if you can bag a room with a balconey and a sea view! Ample space in the drawing rooms for a quiet read or the TV room with large screen ideal for sport. If the weather is not good there's a playroom for the little'uns.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryHolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlandss
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Room lovely - clean, comfortable and spacious. Food excellent and staff friendliness exceptional. Don't look further - a really lovely hotel with excellent reasonably priced meals and superb value for money

Room Tip: Just ask for any special needs before you book and they will try their best to assist. All rooms sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Whilst the location, rooms, facilities and service are absolutely fine - even great on occasion we have some serious concerns as to the evening menu. Afraid it's just uninspiring and old fashioned. Would like to see more adventurous menu using fresh local products. Wouldn't take much effort to lift the meals to meet the standards of the rest of the hotel? My personal feeling is you have no real competition when it comes to the food.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry that you were disappointed with the style of the evening menu on the occasion of your visit, whilst we would agree that our menus to tend to be on the popular side rather than adventurous the menu does change every single day, so we do have an enormous variety of dishes served each week. We are always looking out for new dishes to try and introduce.

We do use fresh local produce, all of our fruit and vegetables except peas are fresh and sourced from a Torquay commercial green grocer, whilst most of our meat comes from a national firm of catering butchers, we are even provided with the details of the UK farm where the meat originated. Our sausages are sourced from an award winning Cullompton Butcher, Turton’s of Devon, who again use assured British meat sourced in the West Country. Our fish is sourced from the Uk’s Largest Independent seafood supplier.

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
234 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,826 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,328 reviews
17.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing