We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous for families, but very average food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous for families, but very average food”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My two children just loved this place. We had 3 nights in a two room suite, and it was a really enjoyable hark back to the 70s in decor and ambiance. The indoor pool was small but very clean, as was its changing room. The outdoor pool was hugely popular with my children. The hotel is a spit away from the small beach and resort of dawlish warren. The star cross ferry to the bigger beach at exmouth was easily reached by the regular train service. Service was slow but very friendly. Breakfast was great. The children's entertainment in the evening was a huge hit and meant we could eat an adult meal at 8pm in comfort. For all these reasons we would happily return. Unfortunately, the dinners were not up to the rest of the hotel's excellent stsndards. The cooking wasn't actually bad - but it wasn't good either. That said, we had a brilliant 3 days there and regard it as being good value.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorrieDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We get a lot of compliments regarding the food at the hotel but are also very aware that we need to constantly improve and we are reviewing our menus and offerings in order that we may do so.
Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    186
    57
    17
    15
See reviews for
266
192
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in a 2+2 suite. We loved the fact the children got tea at 5 and we had a grown up meal at 8. Children's entertainment was laid on and we all had a lovely time. Food is ok but not brilliant (they need a new pastry chef for evenings) but breakfasts very nice. Lunch service was quite slow we thought. Overall would go back though.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We’re sorry if lunch service was as quick as it should be when you were with us but as you will be aware all our food is prepared to order and we can get very busy on occasions which can lead to some delays at peak periods. We are endeavour to keep this to the minimum and do offer the facility to pre-order at busy periods in order to reduce waiting times.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chose the Langstone Cliff Hotel at Dawlish Warren for its peacefulness and sea view, and the ease of getting to Exeter (by car, although we could have caught the bus) - and Dawlish town and Teignmouth.

My wife and I had 3 nights at this hotel, and found the setting (with the well-kept grounds and nice view) to be just as advertised. It wasn't too hot during our visit, and we were able to open the windows for fresh air, and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a cup of tea or coffee, when the rain wasn't threatening. If we had taken our grandchildren with us, however, we would have been concerned about the cleanliness of the children's pool which wasn't covered at night, and had seagulls swooping into it the next morning. On the last day we were irritated by the crying of the seagulls above the hotel - is it possible that they were attracted by some smelly bins at the back?

We didn't eat in the dining room in the evening, but had a bar snack, and breakfast was good. You had to ask for different sorts of preserves, as someone else commented. And we think the hotel should put out a jug of chilled water, as well as juices. The staff were helpful, and brought us those things when asked.

I used the mini-gym and found it adequate for my purposes; again, there should be cold water supplied, either in bottles, or a chiller. The receptionist thought this a very good idea when we mentioned it to her, so watch this space ...!

We would definitely go there again, and felt we had done well in choosing mid July when the schools had not yet broken up. The hotel is obviously popular with young families, many of whom were arriving as we left.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are constantly trying to improve are standards so thank you for your comments. As I am sure you saw in your room the hardest things we have to deal with are those which we know nothing about.

The seagulls are an important part of the diverse range of wildlife found along the coast and, as you will I am sure be aware, are protected by law so there is very little we can do about them directly. We do try to discourage them by reducing food sources around the hotel. The seagulls are unlikely to feed from the bins as they are almost exclusively filled with materials for recycling (paper, cardboard, glass and plastics) and are emptied regularly. All of the hotel's food waste is macerated and recycled via the sewage system. We will endeavour to have the recycling area cleaned more often and more thoroughly. Both of the swimming pools are well chlorinated and filtered constantly to prevent the possibility of infection.

As you say most things are available when requested and the most popular items are on display all the time. Should you wish to have an alternative preserve on you table for when you next visit please let us know in advance and we will do our best to comply.

Fresh Water is of course freely available on request for the fitness room.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here during the last week of July for 4 days as we were joining family who were staying near by. We came with two young children and were made to feel very at home. The family room we were staying in was clean and had all the facilities we needed (with the exception of the hairdryer which was a small travel one with low power) But i managed! The hotel has some lovely views and only a short walk from Dawlish Warren beach and ammuements. We did not use the outdoor pool as the weather was not in our favour but we used the indoor one which was all clean. We only had breakfast inc as we joined our family for other meals but i was very happy with the buffet style and i was also very pleased to find you catered for people with food allergys and as my daughter is on a dairy free diet and was pleased that you could supply us with soya milk and butter so she could enjoy her breakfast with us and not miss out (as she has had to at other hotels). Over all this is a lovely, clean friendly hotel and we would definatly stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed you stay we will investigate the hair dryers with a view to improving their output though we do have several different types throughout the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for two days to break up a long journey to Cornwall and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly - nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the gardens are gorgeous. Our kids very much enjoyed playing in the pool and play areas - we were lucky with the weather and swam outside, but there is a decent indoor pool too. The rooms are fine - not stylish, but comfortable and well equipped. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familykidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you,

Hopefully you can stop off on your way back from Cornwall.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

we stayed at the Langstone Cliff hotel for 2 days & although there was a wedding reception at the hotel we were most impressed by the attention we got from the hotel staff. The room was first class & the breakfast was fabulous nothing was too much trouble would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed 6 nights in a family room, 2 adults & 2 children, over £1000. A bit too expensive.
+
Most of the staff are very friendly, helpful
Food is good
The terrace, lawns and public areas are a great place to spend time, with excellent views
Large indoor pool and towels always available from reception
-
Too expensive
Stayed the only week this year that had sun, my god was the room hot, I heard a number of guests complain. To be fair reception did supply a fan, but need air con. I think some rooms have it.
Sometime a long queue in the restaurant to get your food. (Buffet stye)
Room a little tired.

This is a great place if you wish to bring your dog, but dogs going to the toilet on the veranda whilst I was having lunch, I found a little off putting.

Would I stay again? yes however I would want a room with air con if it was summer and maybe book via late rooms etc for a better price.
If your kids are under 10 they stay free, so this does make the room cost much more in line with the facilities.

Room Tip: In the summer get a room with air con if you can, the rooms especially facing away from the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your compliments about the Langstone Cliff Hotel.
We agree we could be better and are constantly striving to do so.
We are very are pleased you like:
• the grounds
• food
• staff
• facilities
We are sorry you had to queue for the carvery in the restaurant but it is optional so there is no requirement to queue and we are very pleased to serve you at your table although we appreciate that many, many of our customers prefer to visit the carvery.
Air conditioning is as you surmised present in 17 of our bedrooms at present and we plan to install more as and when we can.
But we are disappointed you think that under £42.00 per person per day including 20.00% VAT was not good value for money when it includes:
• Overnight Accommodation
• 4 course dinner with coffee
• Full English breakfast
• overnight accommodation in an Ensuite bedroom
• Free off road car parking
• Free WI-Fi
• Free newspaper
• Free swimming
• Free Tennis
• Free Table Tennis
• Professional children’s entertainment five days a week.
Where else can you get such superb value?

Yours sincerely,

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
10.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Property: Langstone Cliff Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langstone Cliff Hotel is situated in 19 acres of wooded grounds overlooking the Sea and Exe Estuary just a few minutes drive from Exeter. The Hotel offers extensive secluded grounds, expansive lounges and public rooms and can cater for events for up to 400 People in the Washington Suite. The hotel's Lincoln Bar is open all day and every day and offers and extensive range of reasonably priced food and drink. The 64 bedrooms of the hotel offer a variety of accommodation (all en- suite) with Family Suites and Family rooms available as well as standard double rooms, Sea view and Balcony rooms. The rooms are constantly being updates and modernised and all feature free high speed Wi-Fi, Tea And Coffee making facilities and Freeview televisions with Sky SPorts. The Lincoln restaurant is open from 7.30am till 10.00am every day for breakfast (sundays 8.00am till 10.00am). The Lincoln Restaurant is open for Lunch from 12.30pm till 2.00pm every Sunday and any other day by appointment. Dinner is served every evening from 6.45pm till 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing