We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent beach”

Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lots of parking. Quite clean. Quite a few shops and entertainment facilities.Lots of rocks - I prefer more sandy beaches like the one in Exmouth

Thank iron-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Chairman Dawlish Warren Tourism at Dawlish Warren Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Dawlish Warren Beach. We would love more sand at Dawlish Warren too, unfortunately due to weather patterns all our sand has washed over to Exmouth! We are hoping that one day it will return ... We do have our 'Blue Flag Award' at Dawlish Warren which we have held for 15 years, a great acheivement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lovely beach"
in 117 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 83 reviews
"sea wall"
in 37 reviews
"go karts"
in 41 reviews
"clean beach"
in 49 reviews
"fun fair"
in 14 reviews
"amusement arcade"
in 21 reviews
"family beach"
in 14 reviews
"life guards"
in 27 reviews
"holiday park"
in 17 reviews
"car park"
in 57 reviews
"on duty"
in 20 reviews
"tide times"
in 12 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 25 reviews
"railway line"
in 13 reviews
"soft sand"
in 12 reviews
"dogs are allowed"
in 17 reviews
Filter

1,079 - 1,083 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely little beach, find your own spot to relax, or play football, cricket, or go for a swim. Rocks to climb on and plenty of sandy spots for the kids to build castles. Behind is plenty of parkland and picnic areas, and the Boathouse pub is good for all the family. A few arcades and snack huts nearby with rides for the kids. Parking is free after 6pm, a bit pricey before, something the council should address to maximise visitors. Like having a mini seaside town centred around one beach!

Thank ChrisC_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Chairman Dawlish Warren Tourism at Dawlish Warren Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for an excellent review, it's great to hear that your family has really made the most of what's on offer at Dawlish Warren Beach. I will pass on your comments about the car parking charges to the District Council, the outer car park is a little cheaper and only a little further to walk.

We hope you return to Dawlish Warren again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

love it here esp the walk to dawlish town will always go back...plan on coming soon with the family :-) hoping this year it will be sunny

Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Chairman Dawlish Warren Tourism at Dawlish Warren Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for a delightful review, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed the walk along the seafront into Dawlish. So far this year we have been very lucky with the weather, fingers crossed it continues :)

We look forward to you and your family returning to Dawlish Warren Beach again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

at £4 per person this is a total rip-off! There are hardly any with obstacles on, apart from a tree and a few bumps on some holes. Save your money and have Fish and Chips at kenny's at Starcross, or a wonderful banana fritter from the little chip shop by the bridge, they are to die for!!

2  Thank thegizzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Chairman Dawlish Warren Tourism at Dawlish Warren Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of Dawlish Warren Beach. Glad you enjoyed the banana fritter from the chip shop, a bit naughtly but very nice! Sorry you did not enjoy the crazy golf, it is privately run and a seasonal business and will charge to make it worth while opening.

We hope you return to Dawlish Warren again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we walked along the coastal path, a concrete affair 2m above the seashore parallel to the railway line. No attempt has been made to make this whole area remotely tourist friendly. There is nothing breathtaking about the scenery and what there is by way of rock formations is inaccessible as the railway runs right up against it. Dont waste your time

4  Thank Phitos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Chairman Dawlish Warren Tourism at Dawlish Warren Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are very disappointed with your review of Dawlish Warren Beach. You are describing your walk from Dawlish Warren and into Dawlish, adjacent to the trainline, we have lots of comments and posts from people travelling on the trainline who see and appreciate the lovely view. Obvioulsy it would not be safe to access the rock formations. I can assure anyone who reads this that Dawlish Warren Beach is well worth a visit and hope that this short sighted review does not put you off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawlish Warren Beach also viewed

 

Been to Dawlish Warren Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing