We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gurkha Restaurant

Gurkha Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Gurkha restaurant is the only Nepalese and Indian restaurant in Dawlish that provides delicious Nepalese and Indian food to the locals and tourists.The restaurant also does a takeout and delivery service.There is a 10% discount on collection orders only.Please look at our website for an exhaustive menu.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was by far the best meal that me and my friends have had. The food was really tasty due to the mixture of lots of fresh herbs, their food does not taste like a ordinary curry, the food was also cheap.The portions were very generous and the food was decorated gorgeously, they also packed food that i could not finish to be taken home. The restaurant is small and cozy ,the atmosphere was really friendly as it was a family run business, all of the staffs were very helpful and kind. I would highly recommend everyone to try their food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    67
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

All food I've ever eaten in here has always been really tasty and well presented.
Staff are friendly and welcoming

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Interesting menu, helpful staff. The food is superbly presented with generous portions ( and a doggy bag if you want it !). I asked for gluten free and the chef new all the ingredients. Does not taste like the generic take away curry, fresh, quality ingredients and skilled blending of flavouurs. They will need a waiting list soon so book if you can!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Byron0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“45 Minute Wait Before They Took Food Order..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in Dawlish just after the late May bank holiday and decided to eat here on the evening. We didn't book but there were still tables free. We were sat down and our drinks order was taken promptly. We were also ready to order food but were told that would be done separately. Drinks arrived promptly. After that...Nothing. The waitresses walked past by our table for a full 45minutes before someone arrived with their notepad for orders. We asked how long the food would be if we were to order and were told it would be at least another 45minutes! At that point we politely asked for the drink bill and told her we wanted to leave. She slammed her notebook on our table without saying anything, and petulantly stormed off to the kitchens, clearly irate. A younger lady came over to us after more waiting, with the drink bill which was promptly paid with cash but no tip. In fairness, she did then apologise for the delay, but by then we had been there a full hour and no food.

We later were told by locals in a nearby pub, that they do tend to prioritize take out orders from locals over seated customers, which might have been the case this night, we're not sure - but, if so, they should warn you of the wait before seating you.

Tip For Future Diners: If they look busy, ask how long the wait is for food before being seated - it could save you a lot of hassle!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
209 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

What I'd describe as a mixture of indian and Chinese this place is a must visit. Lovely takes on some indian favourites . Great flavours, freshly cooked, nice Nepalese beer and reasonable prices

Helpful?
1 Thank jamesharvey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing