We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and authentic food”
Review of Gurkha Restaurant

Gurkha Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Gurkha restaurant is the only Nepalese and Indian restaurant in Dawlish that provides delicious Nepalese and Indian food to the locals and tourists.The restaurant also does a takeout and delivery service.There is a 10% discount on collection orders only.Please look at our website for an exhaustive menu.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic food”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Delicious food. Extensive and varied menu. Good value. Only criticism is service can be slow if they are particularly busy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pandalarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    67
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
184 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Still great food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Only one waitress seemed to know what was happening and the other 3 floated about a bit aimlessly and as the restaurant had two large tables of about 16 and 8 people so we waited about an hour for our starters.

Mains followed quickly enough and both were, as always, tasty with generous portions.

Will definitely return again on our next visit to Dawlish but those other waiters need a bit of training.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“hope it was a one off”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

nice welcome, good menu choice and staff had good knowledge of the dishes. Food well presented only issue we had was the tika chicken in the dishes was overcooked making it taste rubbery. Some of the chicken was grisly, apart from this it was a nice experience and it was probably a one off. The other problem was that the staff didn't seem to understand when they were made aware of the overcooked chicken,all of a sudden didn't seems to understand English. Cost of the dishes well priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whfa2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very accommodating”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Myself and my husband took our two children, aged 6 and 4, to this restaurant. We had the loveliest food; the children enjoyed the peshwari, whilst the chicken Kathmandu and Chicken tikka were also winners. The children were very 'merry' as on holiday here. The staff were great with them and accommodated their bubbly and humerous nature. Thank you very much, we would definitely recommend to others,
The Robertsons

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Min R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Chosen because of the earlier TA reviews and did not disappoint
Super tasty starter and served with nice poppadom and fresh chutneys.

Great main course and nice cool beer.

Friendly service and fair pricing too

Definitely recommended

Helpful?
Thank Ipswichguy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing