We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions on arrival weren't that good but did get better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at Lady's Mile, staying on a touring pitch. As you arrive at Lady's Mile, its not very welcoming, diggers making improvements, wire fences rather resembling a building site! Your meant to pull in to the car park to check in, however it was rather full and the receptionist was rather sarcastic when I parked in front of their office next to the no parking sign. I suggest a designated area for tourers, rather thang trying to negotiate an over crowded car park which included heavy machinery. Clearly the receptionist has never pulled a caravan before or she might have understood I just couldn't get in the car park, no room! Anyway once in the barriers, you could chose which ever pitch you wanted. We purchased an electric card for £8.50 which was more than enough to last the week. Toilets and showers clean, water hot but no heating so made it quite cold in the shower block. Shop well stocked and very pleasant people working in there. Swimming pool clean and good fun with a slide. Pool manager very nice, however it got quite busy a couple of times when neighbouring sites had problems with their pools. When it got quiet, the pool shut early which was a disappointment, it should stay open to its allocated time, after all I was paying for the facilities. There are over 100 seasonal pitches and probably at least 50 statics on site so think in the summer it would get rather over crowded when a further 200 casual pitches were in use. The machines in the arcade were always breaking which could have been better. Can't comment on the bar, restaurant and take away service as we didn't use them. All in all it was ok for a week outside peak times, however some of the reception team could do with a lesson in customer service, and maybe a tidy up of the entrance, after all first impression count!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank x-x-nikkix-x-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lady's Mile Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

hello and thank you for taking the time to write your comments, firstly we apologise for any machinery that may still have been parked close to our entrance, we have been having a lot of improvements over the winter months, however with the bad weather we had some works had been delayed and therefore over run slightly. We have the no parking signs on the driveway just outside of reception as it stops any other vehicles getting past and causes a back log down to the main road if not moved on quickly, that is why we encourage people to park in the carpark, however I can only apologise if this was not relayed in an appropriate manner it was intended. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities and swimming pool, we have always closed the pool at 5 in previous years, however in the busy times we have started to keep the pool open longer, hopefully this is where the confusion with times has arisen but I will confirm with the pool attendants. Usually the reception team provide a great customer focused service, and have good comments, however we will investigate and see if any further training is required.
thank you again and we do hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Lady's Mile Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 861 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

we have been coming to lady's mile for the last 4 years, liking it so much we now have a seasonal pitch the site is very children friendly , the staff we find to be very helpful we have never had a problem that has not been listened to and sorted out to our satisfaction, the toilets are cleaned on a regular basis litter and bins are seen to on an adequate basis according to how busy the site is the indoor and outdoor pools are great and the other facilities more than adequate,all in all we find this a nice place for a family holiday our family ages range from 6months to 65years

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jackieh762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lady's Mile Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

hello, thank you for leaving such great feedback! We are pleased that your family have enjoyed the site over the years so much that you chose to hold a seasonal pitch with us. We will be sure to pass your great comments on to all of the team at Ladys Mile. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My gosh did the review below stay at the same lady's mile as My family did???? This site was awful a completely different place than we visited last year, yes the games room is very nice when any of the machines actually work rather than just take your money, and we waited with two young children for nearly 45 minutes to get our money back, the bar staff are rude dont have a clue about anything on the site and the manger in there is completely intolerable and does not have clue about customer service, "lovely hot food" it states below well I think all food should be hot dont you and I sent my meal back to there kitchen 3 times for it to get replaced to a some what edible lasagne!!! Absoulourly awful The ruby caravan was filthy and like something out of the arc, and to top it all off the person in charge of reception wouldn't deal with my complaint kept sending the other receptionists to deal with me, all in all poorly managed site with so much potential, it says you don't need to leave the site??? With the management they have In place the poorly ran parts of the site they do have its easy to see why there were lots of complaints and other unhappy families and lots of people deciding to do the opposite and leave the site. One plus side its the pools there lovely but for the price it's just not worth the disappointment we will not be returning

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibcott479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lady's Mile Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are sorry that you had some problems during your stay. I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused, we assure you we will look into why this had happened, when usually our standards are so high. We take any form of complaint seriously and like to resolve any issues straight away, so we will look to see why this was not the case on this occasion. We do hope you will visit us again so we may have the opportunity to show the standards normally set by the team, as highlighted in other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

this was our second visit to this park we had the misfortune to stay at golden sands one year and had to move over to Ladys mile because of so may problems. The main reason for our return visit was the childrens facilities The pool is amazing we have 4 children of mixed ages the oldest is 17 and the youngest is 5 so to find a site that had something for them all was great our oldest two where in the pool twice a day every day it's very warm and clean as for the lifeguards it's about time a park had a mixed age range the older guy was great with all the children as was the young lady we found out later its a father and daughter team ( well done ladys mile ) the children still ask they can go to the pool with Kirsty and her dad it was very clean better than last year not that it wasn't clean then. No shoes and wrist bands on all the time great. The bar staff are very good Steve is one of the good guys we ate several times in the bar and the food was very good hot and tasty. The childrens room has been refurbished and look amazing now the new bowling ally was loved by all of us not just the children. I'd like to say thank you to ladys mile owners for having great staff in the bar pool kitchen and in general best weeks holiday for years we will be back again later this year.

Room Tip: Get to know the staff in the bar pool and kitchen they are so helpful
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonaldE172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lady's Mile Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Good afternoon, thank you for your lovely review! It is always nice to be able to pass on such great comments to the staff that work really hard throughout the year! And we are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed our improvements. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am writing this review whilst still on site, this is the fourth time we have been to this site in a static caravan, but feel this year will be our last!!! For the last two years we have had one of the better vans, a rowan, which were of a nice standard, this year we were in an ash, due to availability, but were told it was the same standard as a rowan, you are given a time of four to check in, which i feel is a liitle late and wastes your first days holiday, however arrived on site at two and were given keys straight away, my brother stayed in a ruby, ruby vans are extremely dated and smell old and mouldy and the ash van we had this year had a number of problems, for example, we had no hot water on arrival as we had a problem with the boiler, we called reception and they did send someone up straight away, who unfortunately couldn't fix it till the next day, which they did, but then the heating and the water wouldn't come on the day after that, so we again called and they did come straight away to fix it, yet to find out if we have anymore problems with that!!! As we were a party of four adults and two children and had an 8th berth van, we had two adults in the double room, two children in the two single beds and then two adults expected to sleep in the pull out double in the living room, which we had checked at time of booking would be available, the sofa bed in the lounge when pulled out was very dirty and stained and the mattress was about an inch thick, totally unsuitable for anyone to sleep on, which meant we had no choice but to sleep on the very slim beds in the third bedroom, not ideal!!!! The van was not very clean, on arrival the fire place was dusty, there were dead flies around the window sill the upholstery was grubby and the board that covered the sofa bed under the settee was broken!!! We have used the arcade once and would not put our money in one of the machines again, as we put £1 in the first machine my five year old wanted to play on, only to find she couldn't play the game as it wasn't working, spoke to the young girl behind the counter to be told it was her first day we would have to go to reception, my husband went to reception for our money back, only to be told we would have to wait for half an hour for someone to come and look at it, as they couldnt refund any money for the arcade, as it was cold and we were not prepared to put anymore money in anymore machines, we wanted to go back to our van, so I went back to reception and told them I had put my money in in good faith and wanted it back, a stroppy woman behind the counter said "its only a pound just have it but we are not supposed to" (charming) indoor pool open and kids loved the slide, but life guards dont appear to be interested in their jobs or looking for incidents that could occur, also my mom was getting dressed after swimming and a man walked in by mistake!!! Bar area ok, entertainment not bad, didn't dine there, on site shop ok, kids park and touring toilets well maintained. No noise rule not enforced can be noisy on kicking out of bar time!!! All in all disappointed with how the standards of the site and vans are slipping and in general need to be refurbished and like I say won't return due to this!!!!! Will update more if have anymore incidents!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ablouklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lady's Mile Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review for Ladys Mile Holiday Park. We are sorry that after 3 previous visits to us that this one was not up to the same standard you have experienced with us before. The Ash and Rowan are indeed the same caravan in size and layout, however the soft furnishings do differ from the Rowan to the Ash. All of our holiday homes meet well above tourist board standards, however the Ruby as you mention is an older model to the Ash, and is therefore reflected in the price. Unfortunately maintenance issues do arise, and as you mentioned we do try to rectify any problems straight away, unfortunately on this occasion the problem was not able to be resloved on the day, but on the following instead, which we apologise for.
As it was the start of the season there were a lot of new staff who may have been unsure of what to do regarding the aracde, we can only aplogise for any inconvenience caused and we will make sure that staff know the correct procedures.
We are constantly making improvements on our park, including taking delivery of 25 new holiday homes at the beginning of the year (sycamore) and 15 new at the start of 2012 (maple), we do hope you will come and visit us again as you will be able to see all of the improvements and perhaps stay in one of these brand new models.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just had a trip to Lady's Mile and a lot of preparatory work seems to be going on for the main season. Te place is a give of activity and it looks like there are going to be quite a few upgrades to the facilities for 2013. I'm looking forward to returning later in the year to see how it all looks when everything is open but I think it is going to be good. I've read a lot of the reviews with some negative comments about the site but all looks fine here now and the staff couldn't be more helpful, and at a time when they are really busy.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank santiago14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lady's Mile Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review for Ladys Mile, yes we have had quite a few improvements taking place on the park, it is important to us to keep improvements on-going to the benefit of our customers that keep returning year after year! I will also pass on your positive feedback regarding our staff. Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we went for a week in the school holidays at the end of august camping...the campsite entrance was like entering an industrial site. we booked in at reception...no body showed us where we could or couldn't pitch up. the weather was bad anyway so we went up bank to higher part of the park as the bottom was so flooded.. we were in the ladies toilets and in walks 2 men to clean the toilet area without even shouting to see if anyone was in the first. this happened a few times.. i reported this as i was not happy.to be told sorry we only have male cleaners
The pools were not that clean either and were supposed to have have life guards on patrol but all the while we were there the life guards spend there time on there phones of which caused for an accident to happen on the outside slide. i have no intentions of going back to this park again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.6 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
711 reviews
3.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
8.5 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
2.5 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady's Mile Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady's Mile Holiday Park

Address: Exeter Road, Dawlish EX7 0LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: $23 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady's Mile Holiday Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lady's Mile Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady's Mile Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing