We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal”
Review of The Marine Tavern

The Marine Tavern
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Tavern
Ranked #10 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Went for the pizza and bottle of wine deal £15.99.
Missus had the wine and I went for the gorgeous Jail Ale from Princetown, Dartmoor, also had Doom Bar and Dartmoor Ale. Friendly staff and looking around child friendly. There is a good sized outdoor terrace and a smaller upper level great for watching the sea and trains going by.
Food came quickly and tasted pretty good.
Nice pub, would go again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RossMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Marine Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

After walking around trying to find somewhere OPEN to eat ( it IS half term after all) we were directed to The Marine Tavern.
1st impressions, small and cozy...
The barman was very friendly. Food cooked to order. Waiting time was minimal, and food plentiful and very tasty.
I imagine that in the summer this place is booming, especially having outside seating overlooking the sea!
A lovely meal, thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzie-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The beer is always well looked after. The food is some of the best pub food around. Try the Pizzas they are the nicest I have had in years. They are always cooked to exactly right. Good friendly staff and a nice place to spend some time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pauld154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Staff are wonderful, the drinks are tasty. Food is nice and quickly served and hot! If you take the stairs up to the balcony, you will see some spectacular views of the sea and get a wonderful tan if the weather permits.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank EmskiHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went here in the run up to Christmas. Despite being busy, the service was fast and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.

We ate here (I had steak, partner had burger), and food was great value for money. The steak was very reasonably priced but wasn't one of those horrible fatty cuts.

Will be recommending to visiting family and friends :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

They had Indian night. Good food at a good price and even better beer. The food is always good and the staff always friendly. One of a very few pubs my wife will go into by her self. I would recommend the Marine Tavern to any one visiting Dawlish who wants a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauld154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for the Bank Holiday weekend (Friday 23rd and Saturday 24th August). The accommodation is basic and could do with refurbishing, BUT for £50 a night for two people (including breakfasts) it's remarkably good value. There's a wide selection of bar meals and the food was good. Andy and Hilary are excellent hosts and Andy was kind enough to offer us seats on the balcony (with the best view in town for the Air Show on the Saturday afternoon). There were about 30 of us there, with Andy taking orders for our drinks and bringing them to our table from the Bar downstairs. What a star! It was a generous offer to two people who'd never stayed at the pub before. I'm sure - if he'd wanted to, he could have sold tickets for at least £10 per person.

Room Tip: Of the 4 x rooms available, Rooms 2, 3 and 4 have a sea view. All rooms are en suite, except Room 3...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.3 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
710 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#6 of 12 in Dawlish
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunluce House
Dunluce House
#4 of 12 in Dawlish
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Tavern

Address: 2 Marine Parade, Dawlish EX7 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Also Known As:
The Marine Tavern Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing