We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a super place to stay in Dawlish”
Review of The Marine Tavern

The Marine Tavern
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Tavern
Ranked #10 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My grandson and I have stayed here a few times and hopefully will do several more. It is so reasonably priced for the standards of accommodation and breakfast. The proprietor and his staff couldn't be more helpful. It is great to watch the trains from the bedroom window and the early morning fishermen and dog-walkers. We have no complaints whatsoever and look forward to returning. Thank you to all at The Marine Tavern.

Room Tip: Room 4 if you would like a bath.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Marine Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights with my husband recently and didn't expect much as it was very cheap compared to other B&B's. Unfortunately our bed was extremely uncomfortable (the mattress should have been chucked ages ago), the shower didn't work and it was very noisy until about midnight, with all the drinkers on the balcony just below our room (though it was Carnival week). Not being in the best of health, we also found the steep stairs hard-going with lots of luggage, but appreciate this is not anyone's fault, so just to warn other travellers.

On the plus side, the room was clean, the owners were very friendly and helpful and did arrange to have our shower put right after a couple of days and gave us a reduction in our bill. The shower works from the hot and cold taps though and it's very difficult to get a consistent termperature or a decent flow of water. The breakfasts were pretty good, as is the location.

Parking's a problem as it's all metered around the pub and it's not exactly convenient to keep popping back every couple of hours to put more money in but, if you travel up Teignmouth Road (behind the pub) for about a quarter of a mile and turn right into Westcliffe Road, you can park for free in this nice residential area. We were a little disappointed this wasn't pointed out to us on arrival when we asked about parking - a local told us about it when enquiring about parking at the local railway station (don't park here, it's expensive!). Westcliffe Road is literally only about a 5 minute walk away.

Bearing everything in mind, we will not be staying here again, but would probably recommend it to anyone wanting cheap basic accommodation for one night, though it may be preferable to avoid room 4!

It is what it is - a popular sea-front pub that also does basic accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just come back from a week in South Devon and stayed at the marine Tavern in Dawlish where we had stayed four times before. This is a lovely little place and the owners are very friendly and hepful - very nice English breakfast! Across the road is the main railway line to the rest of Devon and Cornwall so it is great for anyone who is a railway 'buff'. Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our last night in Dawlish, room was light and very spacious, clean and well presented. Breakfast was lovely, nice friendly staff and good beer too! Good value for money and a nice seafront beer garden and view.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ES91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great value stay. Needed accommodation in Dawlish, due to an early start next day and didn't fancy a long early drive. Chose the Marine Tavern from reviews and wasn't disappointed. It is what is said - good basic accommodation at a very reasonable price. Friendly, helpful staff, great breakfast, all cooked fresh, with a great selection, papers included. Room and bathroom basic, but what more do you need? Well stocked with biscuits , tea, coffee, etc. would definitely stay again, rather than more expensive, soulless hotels. Word of warning - no food on a Monday night, can't blame the owner, as Dawlish is a 'ghost town' on a wet Monday in May - whole town deserted! Landlord did offer opportunity to bring any 'take away' food in, but managed to find an open Chinese, (which was excellent) but was their only customer!

Room Tip: I had booked the cheaper room without sea view, but as only one staying, was 'upgraded' to b...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTripA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A return visit to the Marine Tavern in Dawlish and once again it was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome, the whole atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble for the staff and owners. Our son Nathaniel loves staying here and thinks it is his home from home and the owners were brilliant with him. We again stayed in the front family room and enjoyed the view of the sea and landscape from the bedroom window, our son loves the view of the trains going past too.
The breakfast was plentiful and superb.
We again had the pleasure of having an evening meal during our stay, and this was also very good and great value, looking forward to our next visit this summer. from very satisfied customers , Mr & Mrs Wolverson and Nathaniel.

Room Tip: Sea Views are excellent our son loves the bunk beds.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davew5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

If your in Dawlish Devon and fancy a drink or some quality pub grub The Marine Tavern would be a good choice. Think I've been through the menu many times and never had a bad meal yet. Can get busy in holiday times but worth the wait. Nice place to sit outside and good to watch trains if that's your interest.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.3 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
710 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#6 of 12 in Dawlish
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunluce House
Dunluce House
#4 of 12 in Dawlish
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Tavern

Address: 2 Marine Parade, Dawlish EX7 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Also Known As:
The Marine Tavern Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing