We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value carvery plus ...”
Review of The Smugglers Inn

The Smugglers Inn
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you would like to book a table with us you can do so in a number of ways: Telephone (please note that when busy we will not be able to answer the phone but please be patient and leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you) we pick up our answer phone messages twice daily Email- we respond to emails every morning Facebook- we also take messages via our Facebook page. Again these will be dealt with on a daily basis. NB Please don't assume that your booking is confirmed until we have actually called you back. Thanks so much
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value carvery plus ...”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having seen the good reviews on TripAdvisor we thought we'd give this one a try. Nice setting with a view out to sea. Carvery is available until 9pm and we arrived around 8pm. Plenty of choice and the vegetables were being regularly refreshed right up to the end. Plenty of other menu choices to choose from, and the ones we chose were all presented very nicely and tasted good. One of the better carveries we have visited.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CClacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    242
    65
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Not only an excellent carvery, but even lots of other choices out of the menu. Service very friendly. We ate by the Smugglers Inn every 4 days our stay in Dawlish ordering every evening something different, and not once we've been disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent carvery locally sourced”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

If you like carvery this one will take a lot of beating. Meat is locally sourced from devon farms. Represents good value for money and popular with families.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandalarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“saturday lunch”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

had a nice meal here on the 26th april. the carvery catered for large appetites and the smugglers chicken had a good cheese sauce but the plaice was over cooked and very crispy. the salad had a lot of rocket and peppers with little onion,tomato and cucumber,made it a rather expensive piece of fish. it was very hot in there with the carvery at one end. parking was easy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herinspalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food & Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

While on hols at Dawlish Warren we looked for somewhere that does good honest food.
We (Myself, fiancee & 2 children) found the reviews on The Smugglers Inn to be really gd so we went.
What a gem!!!!

We all had the carvery (apart from my 3yr who had the Fishfingers) and turned out to be one of the best ive ever had. Three meats, plenty of veg & pots options all beautifully cooked.
The pub itself was lovely, clean & tidy with sea views from the restaurant.

Now for the staff.....I WANT STAFF LIKE THIS WHERE I WORK!!!!!
They couldnt do enough for you. They were polite, happy and very welcoming.
On the menu it mentions the if the kids behave they can go ask where the "Treasure Chest is"
so my two did and ended up with a large bag of Mini Eggs each!!!!

Thank You Smugglers Inn your a credit to the industry and will visit again when we are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smugglers Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing